We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with a Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 30%
Ranked #43 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
cary,nc
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with a Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

From the moment you enter the hotel lobby you are greater with a friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are well appointed, comfortable and large. The best views of the harbor are from the rooms. Trams are right across the street from the hotel. The Central Station is close by and within walking distance. The food at continental breakfast was superb and every food item was available.

Room Tip: we were on the 14th floor, room 1406 with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Lois D,
We are happy to read you had such a wonderful stay in our hotel and enjoyed our helpful staff, comfortable large rooms and quiet location. Our extensive breakfast is a good start before exploring all the interesting sights of Amsterdam.

Please stay with us again next time your travelplans bring you to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,310
    953
    214
    70
    36
See reviews for
380
1,208
128
368
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I really liked this hotel, did wonder whether to give 5 stars, so you should feel confident when booking.
Friendly staff, good location, don't worry about the walk from the station, it's only about 10 mins, and you can easily get a tram, or the hotel offers a free shuttle service.
I would say excellent value for money, rooms were modern and spacious, great views from the higher floors.
Stay there, I'm sure you'll be equally content

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Merbau,
Thank you so much for your (more than!) positive comments with regards to your stay, and your 5 star rating our hotel. This is obviously much appreciated, as we strive to provide all our guests with quality and service. Your compliments have been shared within our teams for encouragement already.

We look forward having you to stay with us again next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I would definitely stay here again, this is a really nice hotel, spotless, fantastic shower, comfy bed and very friendly helpful staff :D
Room service at night is a bit limited, but I suppose you don't stay for that reason :)
very close to centre, so could walk there and back, walking distance to central station also and right on the waters edge.
will definitely stay again :) x

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear JodieC1981,
Thank you for your positive feedback with regards to your stay. We are pleased to learn you enjoyed our facilities and service and hope you had a nice couple of days in Amsterdam.

Please stay with us again next time you visit Amsterdam.
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed here in February whilst exploring what Amsterdam had to offer! Large clean rooms, nice helpful staff and in a safe area. It was about a 10 minute walk into the main city which is nothing really- one main road to walk along so you can't really complain as you are away from the hustle and bustle of the main centre! Would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Sophie C,
We are happy to read you had such a pleasant stay last February in our hotel, indeed located on the banks of the river "IJ" outside the busy city centre. We will be more than pleased to welcome you again next time you decide to explore the rest of Amsterdam!

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stayed here for a four night city break in Amsterdam from 1st to 5th April 2014 arriving from the UK. I arrived at the hotel in the late afternoon. It is about a 15min walk from Central station. The walk is easy going and the hotel is easily visible along the shore front. Upon arrival I was disappointed to be given the choice of either twin bedroom (which I hadnot ordered) or a king size bed beside the elevators. I had read that rooms beside the elevators were noisy. There was no other options. This was not a good start but the receptionist told me if I didnt like the room I could change the next day. I am glad to say our room on the 17th floor beside the elevators was not that noisy and I didnot change. Lower down it may have been worse. The view from the hotel is exceptional in a city were there are very few high rise buildings. The hotel is located right on the docking pier for cruise ships and river cruise boats so I found alot of residents stay in the hotel prior to cruise departures. We dined in the hotel twice during our stay and found the food excellent quality. The bar service was alittle slow, found myself looking for the waiter a few times to place my order but it was worth the wait. The hotel is alittle out of the old centre of Amsterdam, as I said about a 15 min walk but right outside the hotel is a tram stop which we used alot. Take tram 26 outside the hotel which leaves you at central station for 3.80 euro for an hour ticket. They are very frequent and can be found at central station for return journey. I actually liked the hotel away from the centre of the city. The room was excellent and I echo what I read on someone elses comments, please leave more tea bags and milk in the room to allow for more than one cup of tea each!!!. Another complaint about the room was that I found the air conditioning hopeless, the room was very warm and turning the air-con low made no difference to the temperature of the room. This would make me consider using this hotel during a hot summer. I didnot eat breakfast in the hotel which was 18 Euros a person which I thought was expensive. Two people can eat breakfast in the nearby Subway store for less than this. Overall I really liked this hotel and yes I would stay in it again and yes I would recommend it to others. I booked it through Lastminute.com

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear roundtower89,
Thank you for sharing your extensive review with regards to your stay in our hotel. We are happy to read you were satisfied in general and apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced with our Climate Control. Please be assured this has our attention and will be further investigated.
You may be interested to know, good offers including breakfast many times can be found on our own website, or via Travel Agencies. Thank you for your compliments regarding our nice views and delicious food.
We defenitely hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed there for 4 nights in April. Greeted by a very friendly receptionist who informed us of all the benefits of the executive room that we had booked - free wifi, free minibar and access to the executive lounge. We had a room on the top floor and the views were just stunning. From then on the service at reception, in the restaurant (where we ate one night), at breakfast and from the concierge was fantastic. The room was spotless, well maintained and spacious. The hotel is slightly out of the city centre but really it was no distance at all. I would return to this hotel in an instant.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear colinglas16,
We are truly pleased to read you had such an amazing stay with us, and took advantage of all benefits which come included when booking an Executive Room.
Your positive remarks regarding our overall service and quality are much appreciated!

Please feel free to stay with us again next time you visit Amsterdam.
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel once before in 2011, so decided to return here whilst taking a weekend break to Amsterdam and the Keukenhof Gardens. This time I decided to treat myself to an executive room which overall was, I think, worth having.

So - as other reviews have stated the hotel is not in the city centre. I'm not sure that this is a bad thing as there are plenty of options to get there. I have some mobility restrictions, so used the hotel shuttle (needs to be booked) or the tram which is just outside the hotel. You can also pick up the HOHO Canal Boat a very short walk from the hotel.

This is a busy hotel and there were several groups of cruise passengers as the cruise terminal is right next door. I was lucky, but I think if you arrived at the same time as one of these groups you might experience the queues in the lobby that others have described. The behaviour of some of these groups I observed to be quite demanding, and the staff handled matters in a courteous and professional manner.

My room was on the 20th floor. Fantastic views and very quiet. I was told that the top two floors, which is where the executive floors are, have recently been refurbished and I can say that all looked very clean and fresh. The bed was very comfortable and there was a comfortable easy chair with footstool in the room as well. Everything worked fine and the temperature of the room was good as well. Executive rooms have a limited mini-bar and also a coffee making machine - also some fruit was placed in my room on arrival and mineral water was additionally provided as part of the turn-down service. There is sufficient storage space for a short stay. One also gets free high-speed broadband access as part of the executive package via codes provided by reception.

I used the main restaurant for breakfast (more about that later!) and the bar for meals on both days. I found the food in the bar area to be excellent and the service friendly and efficient. Yes - it's quite pricey by some standards, but many city hotels are and I didn't think this was excessive. If you like ice-cream do try the Moevenpick ice-cream - you won't be disappointed and if you are a chocoholic try the signature cocktail!

My only disappointment was breakfast. If you are used to or need a relaxing executive lounge style of breakfast you won't find it here. The executive lounge is very small and on the second floor adjoining the main restaurant. So you take you breakfast from the general buffet and then sit in the lounge to eat it. That's the theory - I actually could not get a seat in the lounge on any of the three days that I ate breakfast in the hotel and the buffet was carnage! Trying to manage with a walking stick there were no offers of help to carry items to tables from the staff and I was regularly pushed, shoved and barged into by other guests intent on filling their plates as full as they could!! That aside I thought that the breakfast offering in terms of food was very good.

In the scheme of things this was a small point. Overall I had an excellent stay and I would definately stay at this hotel again - I'd just do breakfast differently!

Room Tip: If you can afford an executive room go for it - the views are fantastic and the added extras do add...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Zebedee17,
Thank you for your positive feedback with regards to your stay in our hotel. We are happy to learn you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your constructive remarks regarding our breakfast buffet, and apologize for your unpleasant experience. Your comments will help us to maintain and improve our quality service we aim to provide at all times.
We do hope to welcome you again next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.