We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam Movenpick” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 30%
Ranked #41 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amsterdam Movenpick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Our 4 night stay was a pleasure ,helped by the friendly and helpful staff at the Movenpick.
The restaurant was excellent ,especially the breakfasts, and the reception staff were extremely helpful, Happy Hour in the bar on Friday evening was good ,and would recommend that this be extended to other days.

Room Tip: our room was on the eleventh floor and was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear David E,
We are very happy to read your 4 night stay with us has been such an enjoyable one.
Your positive remarks regarding our friendly and helpful staff have been shared for encouragement already within our teams.
Please feel free to stay with us again next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    921
    209
    68
    35
See reviews for
369
1,173
126
366
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 2 years ago and had a fantastic time. Tried another hotel last year and whilst it was good, it wasn't a patch on the Movenpick. The welcome is wonderful, the staff are so helpful and the place is amazing. The rooms are everything they should be and the views across the town and down the river are panoramic. This time we ate in the bar/restaurant and the food and service were up the standard of the rest of the hotel. But for us the big difference between here and everywhere else is their breakfasts. I don't think you'll find a better breakfast anywhere, let alone in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear chefiain,
We are happy to read you decided to stay with us again for the second time and have been able to meet up to your expectations. Thank you for your trust in our hotel chain.
We put a lot of emphasis on our service and quality of our products, and we are happy this pays off.

Next time you decide to visit Amsterdam again, please enjoy our delicious breakfast by staying with us.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

A nice, large hotel to use as home while sightseeing in Amsterdam. The tram stop is steps away, and that takes you to Centraal Station, where you can transfer to most of the major Amsterdam sites. A great place to stay before or after your River Cruise. The hotel rooms are large, well appointed, the wi-fi signal one of the strongest I've ever had in a hotel (worth five stars just for that!) and the breakfast buffet, although busy, offers a great selection and hustling staff. Most rooms have a great view of different parts of Amsterdam or the harbor. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Higher floors for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear CruiseJay7,
We are truly pleased to hear we have given you the home feeling, being away from home!
Thank you for your kind comments, especially regarding our Wifi. We hope your boat trip has been enjoyable as well, and hope to welcome you back in our hotel in a near future.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed here for new year 2012. Its a very large modern hotel with nice bathrooms, although the glass door on the bathroom was a bit strange. There was 3 of us sharing the room which essentially was a twin room with a kind of sofa/bed by the window.

The location is about 5-10 mins walk from the station along the river/bay/canal (whatever it technically is). Its out of the red light district that I usually stay in but that was actually quite nice and there are trams right outside if you cant handle the walking.

Didn't have breakfast included (and it was pricey to buy separately) so can't comment. There's a subway next door though if you're on a budget or very hungover and in need of sustenance (as we were) but not much else around there.

Overall its a nice hotel and was good value overall.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear theonelikefranco,
Thank you for staying and for sharing your feedback with us. We hope your New year of 2012 in our hotel has been a memorable one. We are indeed located just outside the busy city centre, but well connected by all means of transport. Ensuring a good night rest, to afterwards explore the city of Amsterdam. Should you wish breakfast included in your rate, please visit our website for special deals.
Thank you again,

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

This hotel was really lovely. The staff were exceptionally polite and helpful and the rooms were spacious and clean, with everything you could possibly need. Our room had a view of the river and cruise ships which were docked there, as it is situated at the side of the passenger terminal. We didn't eat or drink in the hotel as it seemed a bit pricey and we preferred to walk into the city centre. It is a bit of a walk from the centre of Amsterdam and the attractions but it has easy access via tram no 26 if needed. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would like to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Michelle B,
Thank you for your (more than!) positive feedback with regards to your stay in our hotel. We are happy to read you had such a pleasant stay. As an alternative to the tram, we also offer a free shuttlebus to the Central Station (advance booking recommended).
Your comments regarding our friendly staff are much appreciated, thank you!

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed here (our first Movenpick stay) prior to a cruise, and enjoyed it. Recommend if you don't mind walking about 10 mins to Central station--from there you can go anywhere. There is a shuttle, but most people walk. Food was great, rooms clean and sleek, our room had a really nice view. We saw a mix of other cruisers, families, business travelers. Bar and restaurants were great.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor room overlooking water
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear nexttripleez,
We hope you had a pleasant boat cruise and thank you for staying in our hotel.
It is good to read you appreciated our overall facilities and hope to welcome you again soon in one of our Mövenpick Hotels.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Great quiet location away from the noisy centre, top quality food, very clean and luxurious rooms, would highly recommend this hotel, but make sure you pre-book the shuttle bus to Central station as it does get fully booked, the area around the hotel is very modern and clean.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Johnsony,
We are happy to read you had such a pleasant stay in our hotel, indeed located just outside the busy city centre, on the quiet banks of the river "IJ", but well connected by all means of transport such as our free shuttlebus.
Your recommendation is much appreciated!
We will be more than pleased to welcome you next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.