We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 30%
Ranked #40 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Amsterdam
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We had a very good stay in movenpick hotel, it is very good locaded in the center of the city,15 min walok or few min with free shutel service from hotel.ok view.breakfast is ok .the bathroom was Not so clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Dalibor S,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us, this is much appreciated. We are pleased to read your stay has been enjoyable, including our tasty breakfast buffet. Otherwise, our sincere apologies for the cleanliness of our bathrooms. Please be assured this has our highest priority and extra attention will be given to ensure the quality you expect from us.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,275
    917
    209
    68
    34
See reviews for
369
1,167
125
362
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We recently stayed here for a night on a trip to Amsterdam. It is a lovely hotel with great views over the river/canal or the centre of Amsterdam. The room was spotless and very comfortable. The WiFi was free and you could get BBC1 and BBC 2 on the television. The beds were to die for and the bathroom had excellent facilities.

It is approximately 15 minutes walk from Amsterdam central station or 2 minutes on a number 26 tram costing 2.80 euros. The hotel also run a free shuttle bus from the hotel to the station every half an hour which is bookable at reception.

The staff were lovely and very helpful. It was my Birthday on the day we left and as we checked out they gave me a large bar of chocolate with Happy Birthday written across it which was a nice touch.

We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food, we did have a drink in the bar which was expensive but for this class of hotel is probably average.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to take advantage of the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear pantos,
Thank you so much for sharing your inspiring review with us regarding your short stay. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay (and more) and appreciated our spotless clean rooms and comfortable beds. A late congratulations on your birthday!

Please stay with us again, to celebrate or just to spend some time in Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stratford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Fantastic hotel we were a group of four girls celebrating a 50th birthday. We were given superb rooms with connecting doors plus amazing views on the 17th floor. Staff extremely helpful , polite friendly and welcoming. thank you for making our stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: 17th floor city side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear macandfraz,
We hope you had a wonderful birthday in Amsterdam and are happy to reda we made your stay such a memorable one. A late congratulations to you and please let us know if your next celebration will be with us again. Your compliments are much appreciated and have been shared within our teams!

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Always enjoy staying at this hotel. Great sauna facilities and be sure to get a room on one of the top floors, great view! The breakfast is also excellent, only thing missing is salmon. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear orvalectiq,
We are pleased to read you have stayed with us before and appreciate our great Sauna facilities, our magnificent views from the top floors and the variety of our breakfast. Smoked salmon is one of our breakfast items, please contact our Restaurant staff or Manager next time you visit our hotel again.

We look forward assisting you on your next stay.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrköping
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We were 2 familys ho visited Amsterdam and had nice stay at the hotel, nice rooms good breakfast, and very helpfull personal. We had a VIP room so we got exttra fine Breakfast and champagne and snacks in the aftoon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear benganNorrk_Ping,
Thank you very much for sharing your strong and positive experiences with us. We are pleased to learn you took advantage of all benefits which come included when booking a Suite with us.
Next time you decide to visit Amsterdam, our helpful staff is more than happy to assist you again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

A very contemporary hotel in a great location. Nice to be by the water and have views of the city. Staff very friendly. Close to everything but far enough away to feel peaceful. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear PaulMcLondonUK,
We are pleased to read your stay with us has been so enjoyable, indeed located on the banks of the river "IJ" with beautiful views and peaceful (night) rest. Your compliments have been shared within our teams for encouragement already.

We will be more than pleased to welcome you again next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Travelled here recently on business, and upgraded to executive - and it was well worth it. Fabulous room (twin beds) with a fantastic view over the river. A desk and a table and comfy chair - including footstool - and a plush bathroom with bath/shower combined. The Nespresso machine as well as the kettle was a nice touch. They stripped the bed and changed the enture bedding for me as I am allergic to feathers (even the mattress topper was filled with feathers). The executive room served complimentry drinks and nibbles in the evening - very nice! The conference rooms were good and the food was also good, though sometimes service was a little lacksadaisical. The bar was busy but comfortable, with very knowledgeable, friendly staff. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation - but they are not in the centre of the city, but rather a good tram ride away, which is the only reason they did not score top marks. I would however, stay here again whether on holiday or business. Great stuff!

Room Tip: It's worth the upgrade to executive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Daer lodesgymraeg,
Thank you for your positive review regarding your stay with us. We are happy to read you enjoyed staying at our Executive floor. We are indeed located just outside the city centre, aiming to be a quiet place and ensuring peaceful nights. Please be informed we offer a free shuttle bus for your convenience to the Central Station (please book in advance).

We will be happy to welcome you again next time you travel to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.