We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous short break !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Tot 30% korting
Ranked #40 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
stratford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous short break !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Fantastic hotel we were a group of four girls celebrating a 50th birthday. We were given superb rooms with connecting doors plus amazing views on the 17th floor. Staff extremely helpful , polite friendly and welcoming. thank you for making our stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: 17th floor city side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear macandfraz,
We hope you had a wonderful birthday in Amsterdam and are happy to reda we made your stay such a memorable one. A late congratulations to you and please let us know if your next celebration will be with us again. Your compliments are much appreciated and have been shared within our teams!

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,154
    853
    182
    61
    31
See reviews for
344
1069
120
322
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Always enjoy staying at this hotel. Great sauna facilities and be sure to get a room on one of the top floors, great view! The breakfast is also excellent, only thing missing is salmon. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear orvalectiq,
We are pleased to read you have stayed with us before and appreciate our great Sauna facilities, our magnificent views from the top floors and the variety of our breakfast. Smoked salmon is one of our breakfast items, please contact our Restaurant staff or Manager next time you visit our hotel again.

We look forward assisting you on your next stay.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrköping
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We were 2 familys ho visited Amsterdam and had nice stay at the hotel, nice rooms good breakfast, and very helpfull personal. We had a VIP room so we got exttra fine Breakfast and champagne and snacks in the aftoon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear benganNorrk_Ping,
Thank you very much for sharing your strong and positive experiences with us. We are pleased to learn you took advantage of all benefits which come included when booking a Suite with us.
Next time you decide to visit Amsterdam, our helpful staff is more than happy to assist you again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

A very contemporary hotel in a great location. Nice to be by the water and have views of the city. Staff very friendly. Close to everything but far enough away to feel peaceful. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear PaulMcLondonUK,
We are pleased to read your stay with us has been so enjoyable, indeed located on the banks of the river "IJ" with beautiful views and peaceful (night) rest. Your compliments have been shared within our teams for encouragement already.

We will be more than pleased to welcome you again next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Travelled here recently on business, and upgraded to executive - and it was well worth it. Fabulous room (twin beds) with a fantastic view over the river. A desk and a table and comfy chair - including footstool - and a plush bathroom with bath/shower combined. The Nespresso machine as well as the kettle was a nice touch. They stripped the bed and changed the enture bedding for me as I am allergic to feathers (even the mattress topper was filled with feathers). The executive room served complimentry drinks and nibbles in the evening - very nice! The conference rooms were good and the food was also good, though sometimes service was a little lacksadaisical. The bar was busy but comfortable, with very knowledgeable, friendly staff. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation - but they are not in the centre of the city, but rather a good tram ride away, which is the only reason they did not score top marks. I would however, stay here again whether on holiday or business. Great stuff!

Room Tip: It's worth the upgrade to executive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Daer lodesgymraeg,
Thank you for your positive review regarding your stay with us. We are happy to read you enjoyed staying at our Executive floor. We are indeed located just outside the city centre, aiming to be a quiet place and ensuring peaceful nights. Please be informed we offer a free shuttle bus for your convenience to the Central Station (please book in advance).

We will be happy to welcome you again next time you travel to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rouen, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I was impressed by the Service of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
this Hotel Deserve to have 5 stars .
is not far from the center , Nice View clean rooms , VIP service . conference Rooms
I encourage you to book this Hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Didier F,
We appreciate your time and your great compliments! Short but strong, very motivating for our entire team to read.
Please stay with us again, next time you plan your stay to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Danmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed here for 1 night. The service is very good. Rooms are well equiped (incl iron and board, good quality hairdryer - Unfortunately no conditioner in the room, however they might have in reception). It is easy to rent a bike in the basement - i paid 15 EUR for 1 day rental. The view from the rooms is wonderful, overlooking the water. The pictures on the website give a good impression of the actual look of the room and hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Kirstine H,
Thank you so much for your kind feedback. It is good to hear you enjoyed your short stay with us, and liked the equipment of our rooms. We noted your comment regarding the conditioner in your room, we are happy to provide this on request.
Exploring Amsterdam by bike is a fantastic idea, we hope your feedback encourages our future guests too!

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, getaroom.com, EasyToBook and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.