We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On Holyday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 30%
Ranked #41 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Norrköping
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“On Holyday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We were 2 familys ho visited Amsterdam and had nice stay at the hotel, nice rooms good breakfast, and very helpfull personal. We had a VIP room so we got exttra fine Breakfast and champagne and snacks in the aftoon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear benganNorrk_Ping,
Thank you very much for sharing your strong and positive experiences with us. We are pleased to learn you took advantage of all benefits which come included when booking a Suite with us.
Next time you decide to visit Amsterdam, our helpful staff is more than happy to assist you again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    920
    209
    68
    35
See reviews for
369
1,172
126
366
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

A very contemporary hotel in a great location. Nice to be by the water and have views of the city. Staff very friendly. Close to everything but far enough away to feel peaceful. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear PaulMcLondonUK,
We are pleased to read your stay with us has been so enjoyable, indeed located on the banks of the river "IJ" with beautiful views and peaceful (night) rest. Your compliments have been shared within our teams for encouragement already.

We will be more than pleased to welcome you again next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Travelled here recently on business, and upgraded to executive - and it was well worth it. Fabulous room (twin beds) with a fantastic view over the river. A desk and a table and comfy chair - including footstool - and a plush bathroom with bath/shower combined. The Nespresso machine as well as the kettle was a nice touch. They stripped the bed and changed the enture bedding for me as I am allergic to feathers (even the mattress topper was filled with feathers). The executive room served complimentry drinks and nibbles in the evening - very nice! The conference rooms were good and the food was also good, though sometimes service was a little lacksadaisical. The bar was busy but comfortable, with very knowledgeable, friendly staff. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation - but they are not in the centre of the city, but rather a good tram ride away, which is the only reason they did not score top marks. I would however, stay here again whether on holiday or business. Great stuff!

Room Tip: It's worth the upgrade to executive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Daer lodesgymraeg,
Thank you for your positive review regarding your stay with us. We are happy to read you enjoyed staying at our Executive floor. We are indeed located just outside the city centre, aiming to be a quiet place and ensuring peaceful nights. Please be informed we offer a free shuttle bus for your convenience to the Central Station (please book in advance).

We will be happy to welcome you again next time you travel to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rouen, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I was impressed by the Service of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
this Hotel Deserve to have 5 stars .
is not far from the center , Nice View clean rooms , VIP service . conference Rooms
I encourage you to book this Hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Didier F,
We appreciate your time and your great compliments! Short but strong, very motivating for our entire team to read.
Please stay with us again, next time you plan your stay to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Danmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed here for 1 night. The service is very good. Rooms are well equiped (incl iron and board, good quality hairdryer - Unfortunately no conditioner in the room, however they might have in reception). It is easy to rent a bike in the basement - i paid 15 EUR for 1 day rental. The view from the rooms is wonderful, overlooking the water. The pictures on the website give a good impression of the actual look of the room and hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Kirstine H,
Thank you so much for your kind feedback. It is good to hear you enjoyed your short stay with us, and liked the equipment of our rooms. We noted your comment regarding the conditioner in your room, we are happy to provide this on request.
Exploring Amsterdam by bike is a fantastic idea, we hope your feedback encourages our future guests too!

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed three nights for my wife's birthday with our ten year old son in a junior suite and got a great deal through Expedia.
The room was on the 18th floor and was extremely modern, spacious with a separate sleeping area with a HUGE bed. The bathroom had a full sized bath and separate shower cubicle. There was also a fridge with mini-bar and safe at no extra charge. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice, I could not fault anything about this hotel and would definitely stay again. Because we were in a junior suite we were classed as executive guests and had free mini-bar (two beers and four soft drinks plus water each day) in the room and use of an executive lounge with canape's and computers with internet access, a lovely touch which made our stay seem really special.

Room Tip: If you can get a room which classes you as an executive guest you get mini-bar and exec suite access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear David C,
We are proud to read you choose our hotel for your wife's birthday and are happy to learn you and your family had such a pleasant stay with us.
Booking a Suite includes several benefits, please conatct our hotel for more information.
Good offers can many times be found on our website or through Travel Agencies.

Thank you again. Next time you visit Amsterdam, we hope you will stay with us.
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We booked this hotel via Avios. Rang the concierge fron the airport and they were there to collect us when we arrived at the train station. Excellent advice from the concierge staff. Check in easy. Room averagely contemporary, but absolutely fine. Views great. Breakfast a feast for all tastes. Brunch and miss lunch ! Its a 10 mi ute stroll from Central Station and we didnt feel at all disadvantaged by being on the perimeter of town. Probably daunting to walk at night if you were a lone traveller would be my only word of caution though Amsterdam seems to be a very safe city. You need ti walk through a dark tunnel to go under the railway line to reack the riverside walkway. We had a great weekend !

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear claire I,
Thank you for sharing your kind and positive feedback with us. We are happy to hear you received an excellent and warm welcome pick up from our Concierge.
We are indeed not far away from the City Centre, at a walking distance or by public transport.
Our free shuttle bus is available every 30 minutes, please book in advance.

We look forward welcoming you again, maybe a weekend in summer?

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.