We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 30%
Ranked #39 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Rouen, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Professional Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I was impressed by the Service of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
this Hotel Deserve to have 5 stars .
is not far from the center , Nice View clean rooms , VIP service . conference Rooms
I encourage you to book this Hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Didier F,
We appreciate your time and your great compliments! Short but strong, very motivating for our entire team to read.
Please stay with us again, next time you plan your stay to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,318 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,173
    868
    184
    61
    32
See reviews for
350
1087
121
325
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Danmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed here for 1 night. The service is very good. Rooms are well equiped (incl iron and board, good quality hairdryer - Unfortunately no conditioner in the room, however they might have in reception). It is easy to rent a bike in the basement - i paid 15 EUR for 1 day rental. The view from the rooms is wonderful, overlooking the water. The pictures on the website give a good impression of the actual look of the room and hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Kirstine H,
Thank you so much for your kind feedback. It is good to hear you enjoyed your short stay with us, and liked the equipment of our rooms. We noted your comment regarding the conditioner in your room, we are happy to provide this on request.
Exploring Amsterdam by bike is a fantastic idea, we hope your feedback encourages our future guests too!

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed three nights for my wife's birthday with our ten year old son in a junior suite and got a great deal through Expedia.
The room was on the 18th floor and was extremely modern, spacious with a separate sleeping area with a HUGE bed. The bathroom had a full sized bath and separate shower cubicle. There was also a fridge with mini-bar and safe at no extra charge. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice, I could not fault anything about this hotel and would definitely stay again. Because we were in a junior suite we were classed as executive guests and had free mini-bar (two beers and four soft drinks plus water each day) in the room and use of an executive lounge with canape's and computers with internet access, a lovely touch which made our stay seem really special.

Room Tip: If you can get a room which classes you as an executive guest you get mini-bar and exec suite access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear David C,
We are proud to read you choose our hotel for your wife's birthday and are happy to learn you and your family had such a pleasant stay with us.
Booking a Suite includes several benefits, please conatct our hotel for more information.
Good offers can many times be found on our website or through Travel Agencies.

Thank you again. Next time you visit Amsterdam, we hope you will stay with us.
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We booked this hotel via Avios. Rang the concierge fron the airport and they were there to collect us when we arrived at the train station. Excellent advice from the concierge staff. Check in easy. Room averagely contemporary, but absolutely fine. Views great. Breakfast a feast for all tastes. Brunch and miss lunch ! Its a 10 mi ute stroll from Central Station and we didnt feel at all disadvantaged by being on the perimeter of town. Probably daunting to walk at night if you were a lone traveller would be my only word of caution though Amsterdam seems to be a very safe city. You need ti walk through a dark tunnel to go under the railway line to reack the riverside walkway. We had a great weekend !

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear claire I,
Thank you for sharing your kind and positive feedback with us. We are happy to hear you received an excellent and warm welcome pick up from our Concierge.
We are indeed not far away from the City Centre, at a walking distance or by public transport.
Our free shuttle bus is available every 30 minutes, please book in advance.

We look forward welcoming you again, maybe a weekend in summer?

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the end of a Viking River cruise on the Rhine. The hotel was selected by Viking but we extended for a few additional days. It is a contemporary hotel, with excellent views, upscale rooms, friendly helpfull staff and is reasonably close to the center of Amsterdam. The center of Amsterdam is a short walk or an easy tram ride away. One thing to be aware of is that check in can be hectic on days that river cruises are arriving. We arrived mid morning and were told we could check in immediately if ok with a room next to an elevator, otherwise check in would be after 3pm. We opted for after 3. However, when we checked in we were given a room next to the elevator. When we complained we were quickly moved to an excellent rooms with several follow up calls to insure we were satisfied. If you are looking for an historic hotel in the center of the city, this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for a very convenient, upscale hotel this is a great choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear David D,
We hope you had an enjoyable Viking River cruise, and would like to thank you for your time and your positive review. Your friendly comments regarding our excellent views, upscale rooms and helpful staff are much appreciated!
We are indeed just outside the busy city centre on the banks of the river "IJ", aiming to be a quiet and peaceful place to stay.

Thank you again, we hope to see you back in a near future.
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband have returned today from a 2 night stay. It was our first trip to Amsterdam together and we couldn't decide which hotel to stay in... We are so so pleased we chose the movenpick it's a wonderful hotel, great service from all staff, rooms v clean and nice, great views, gym is excellent, and we fell in love with the bar such a relaxed atmosphere and very nice wine! We came for a break for our 5 year anniversary and would love to return. Highly recommend the hotel. Kelly and Dominic

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Kellydom,
It is a great pleasure for us to learn your first stay in Amsterdam has been (more than!) satisfactory and you decided to stay in our hotel.
Thank you for all your friendly and positive comments regarding our great service, clean rooms with nice views, and our lovely bar!
A late congratulations again on your 5th anniversary.

We look forward welcoming you next time you visit our country.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Superb hotel, excellent service. A little out of town but the courtesy bus took less than 10 minutes and it is right on the tram route.
Lovely views (stayed on 19th floor), breakfast was plentiful and very nice, set us up for the day.
Huge bed, lovely bathroom, what more can you want for a weekend away.
Reception desk was very helpful, Concierge desk was very helpful.
I would stay here again as you know that you are going to get very good service and you feel your custom is valued.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Mark190967,
We are happy to read your weekend stay with us has been such a pleasant and enjoyable one.
We are indeed located just outside the busy city centre, but well connected by all means of public transport, or by our own free shuttle bus (please book in advance).
Your overall compliments have been shared within teh related departments already, and are much appreciated!

Please stay with us again on your next visit.
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.