We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special stay, thanks Movenpick” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sawbridgeworth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A very special stay, thanks Movenpick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed three nights for my wife's birthday with our ten year old son in a junior suite and got a great deal through Expedia.
The room was on the 18th floor and was extremely modern, spacious with a separate sleeping area with a HUGE bed. The bathroom had a full sized bath and separate shower cubicle. There was also a fridge with mini-bar and safe at no extra charge. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice, I could not fault anything about this hotel and would definitely stay again. Because we were in a junior suite we were classed as executive guests and had free mini-bar (two beers and four soft drinks plus water each day) in the room and use of an executive lounge with canape's and computers with internet access, a lovely touch which made our stay seem really special.

Room Tip: If you can get a room which classes you as an executive guest you get mini-bar and exec suite access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear David C,
We are proud to read you choose our hotel for your wife's birthday and are happy to learn you and your family had such a pleasant stay with us.
Booking a Suite includes several benefits, please conatct our hotel for more information.
Good offers can many times be found on our website or through Travel Agencies.

Thank you again. Next time you visit Amsterdam, we hope you will stay with us.
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,371
    990
    220
    71
    38
See reviews for
389
1,253
128
390
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel via Avios. Rang the concierge fron the airport and they were there to collect us when we arrived at the train station. Excellent advice from the concierge staff. Check in easy. Room averagely contemporary, but absolutely fine. Views great. Breakfast a feast for all tastes. Brunch and miss lunch ! Its a 10 mi ute stroll from Central Station and we didnt feel at all disadvantaged by being on the perimeter of town. Probably daunting to walk at night if you were a lone traveller would be my only word of caution though Amsterdam seems to be a very safe city. You need ti walk through a dark tunnel to go under the railway line to reack the riverside walkway. We had a great weekend !

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear claire I,
Thank you for sharing your kind and positive feedback with us. We are happy to hear you received an excellent and warm welcome pick up from our Concierge.
We are indeed not far away from the City Centre, at a walking distance or by public transport.
Our free shuttle bus is available every 30 minutes, please book in advance.

We look forward welcoming you again, maybe a weekend in summer?

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the end of a Viking River cruise on the Rhine. The hotel was selected by Viking but we extended for a few additional days. It is a contemporary hotel, with excellent views, upscale rooms, friendly helpfull staff and is reasonably close to the center of Amsterdam. The center of Amsterdam is a short walk or an easy tram ride away. One thing to be aware of is that check in can be hectic on days that river cruises are arriving. We arrived mid morning and were told we could check in immediately if ok with a room next to an elevator, otherwise check in would be after 3pm. We opted for after 3. However, when we checked in we were given a room next to the elevator. When we complained we were quickly moved to an excellent rooms with several follow up calls to insure we were satisfied. If you are looking for an historic hotel in the center of the city, this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for a very convenient, upscale hotel this is a great choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear David D,
We hope you had an enjoyable Viking River cruise, and would like to thank you for your time and your positive review. Your friendly comments regarding our excellent views, upscale rooms and helpful staff are much appreciated!
We are indeed just outside the busy city centre on the banks of the river "IJ", aiming to be a quiet and peaceful place to stay.

Thank you again, we hope to see you back in a near future.
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Me and my husband have returned today from a 2 night stay. It was our first trip to Amsterdam together and we couldn't decide which hotel to stay in... We are so so pleased we chose the movenpick it's a wonderful hotel, great service from all staff, rooms v clean and nice, great views, gym is excellent, and we fell in love with the bar such a relaxed atmosphere and very nice wine! We came for a break for our 5 year anniversary and would love to return. Highly recommend the hotel. Kelly and Dominic

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Kellydom,
It is a great pleasure for us to learn your first stay in Amsterdam has been (more than!) satisfactory and you decided to stay in our hotel.
Thank you for all your friendly and positive comments regarding our great service, clean rooms with nice views, and our lovely bar!
A late congratulations again on your 5th anniversary.

We look forward welcoming you next time you visit our country.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Superb hotel, excellent service. A little out of town but the courtesy bus took less than 10 minutes and it is right on the tram route.
Lovely views (stayed on 19th floor), breakfast was plentiful and very nice, set us up for the day.
Huge bed, lovely bathroom, what more can you want for a weekend away.
Reception desk was very helpful, Concierge desk was very helpful.
I would stay here again as you know that you are going to get very good service and you feel your custom is valued.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Mark190967,
We are happy to read your weekend stay with us has been such a pleasant and enjoyable one.
We are indeed located just outside the busy city centre, but well connected by all means of public transport, or by our own free shuttle bus (please book in advance).
Your overall compliments have been shared within teh related departments already, and are much appreciated!

Please stay with us again on your next visit.
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here on a recent trip to amsterdam. Although it's not bag Central it's only 15-20mins to walk to central station. Best option is to get the 26 tran in to town. Or use the free shuttle the hotel provide. Upon arrival we we checking in around 11 and had no issues. We needed to print off a voucher before and a lady behind reception (not sure if she was the manager) came to show us the computer and printer. They helped out translating for us on the computer which was a great help as my Dutch isn't great...
Rooms were amazing, we were on 10th floor. So quiet you could hear a pin drop. Nothing in mini bar though although room service was super quick. Food and drink very expensive but suppose this is just modern day city prices in Europe. 7e a pint (about £5.50) so not that different to home. I had de konick which was lovely, the other half had cocktails in particular the violet hill.

Sauna room is a must visit so pack your trucks. We used this both mornings and also chilled there before leaving the hotel for our departure.

Never heard of movenpick before but will come back here again and to any others.

Thanks for a great welcome and time. well done team movenpick amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Steve M,
Thank you very much for your more than positive review regarding your stay with us.
This is obviously very motivating for our entire staff to read, but as well for our future guests.
As you well describe we offer a business center with printer options for our guests. We remember the occasion you described, if next time we have a chance to welcome you again we will restart the computer to have your information in English.

Your compliments have been shared within our entire team already, tahnk you again.
Please stay with us again on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modiin
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

I visited this hotel as part of a group in a business trip.
Room is nice, but no good room for your clothes. Only hangers.
Breakfast was very good, many items to choose. Bt breakfast room is very noisy.
Location- central but a bit to the side. Not ideal for tourism
Not sure regarding the price- we had a group deal of 140euro per night including breakfast-
Would come again

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear yaki a,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us regarding your business trip. We are sorry to hear we did not meet up to all your expectations, however we are happy to read your would reconsider staying with us again. During peak hours it can indeed get very busy sometimes, our apologies for this inconvenience.
Should you have your next travel plans ready, please do not hesitate to contact our hotel directly.

We are more than happy to assist you.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.