We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 30%
Ranked #41 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

excellent room, with fantastic facilities and right in font of the tram stop (two minutes away from the city centre). there was also a bar, restaurant and shops. absolutely loved my stay here and would definatley come back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear robyn b,
It is a true pleasure to learn your stay has been so enjoyable with us. Your feedback has therefor been shared within our teams to keep the spirits high!

Anytime you decide to visit Amsterdam, please do stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    920
    209
    68
    35
See reviews for
369
1,172
126
366
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stayed for two nights whilst attending a conference and found this to be an excellent hotel. Staff were friendly, professional and very helpful. The food was plentiful in choice and excellent in quality. Room service was very promptly delivered and hot. I regret not bringing my gym kit as the fitness suite looks great.

My room (1020) had fabulous views over the river and city, was fabulously modern and yet very comfortable. The bed was very comfortable without being too soft and the bathroom very well supplied with a decent hair drier and assorted shampoo/soap/body lotion/shower gel.

That business travel staple, a decent iron and ironing board, we're present and clean/free from burned on deposits!

The aircon worked and was quiet, the TV had many English language channels including all the BBC channels, the tea and coffee facilities were great and the room had a mini fridge, although unstocked. On the floor below (9th) there is a vending machine which you can stock your fridge from.

The main railway station is about a the minute walk away and I would definitely recommend using the train from Schiphol airport and save yourself an exorbitant €62 can ride!

All in all I would highly recommend this hotel, but check out competitive rates via comparison sites and direct with the hotel before booking.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Smc-67,
Thank you for sharing your feedback and for choosing our hotel for your business purposes.
We are happy to have beenn able to assist you and you valued our overall facilities such as our Room Service, fabulous views and variety of TV Channels.

Anytime you decide to explore Amsterdam on a leisure (or business) trip, we look forward assisting you again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

What a fabulous hotel! It is only a short walk from central station (10-15 mins) or catch the 26 tram from outside the station if you don`t like walking. The walk is very pleasant along the waterfront, with great views. Another great form of transport is the hop on hop off canal bus which you can use for a full 24 hours. It actually stops (red line) right outside the hotel and then continues to all the main sights around the City.
The hotel itself is superb and I cannot fault it. Our room was on the 17th floor with fabulous views across the City-we were mesmerised staring out of the window watching the boats on the water and the world go by. The room was just great. Large, very clean, stylishly furnished and with a huge shower and bathroom with under floor heating. We both slept like logs and were not disturbed by any noise.

The staff were also fantastic. We arrived very early and they checked us into our room without a problem. They stored our luggage on our last day and also allowed us to use the shuttle bus even though we had checked out. They made it very easy and relaxing for us. The concierge (Irish I think ) who drove the shuttle bus was great. friendly, efficient, and so informative about onward travel for every passenger on the shuttle bus.

I have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone and we will definitely be returning, hopefully later this year. Thank you for a perfect stay.

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear jenny b,
We are happy to read your stay with us met up to your expectations (and more!).
Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our general facilities and friendly staff.
Special attention has been given to our Concierge Paul for his outstanding service.

Your recommendation is much appreciated! Please stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex/Suffolk border
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights and initially were slightly disappointed that the hotel is by the harbour, a short walk away from the "old" town and the canals. We normally tend to go for "quaint" and this tall modern building was anything but. However, we were very impressed from the moment we arrived by the welcoming staff on reception.

Even better news was that the booking we had made involved an upgrade to an Executive Room. This was on the top (20th) floor and the view from the window when we walked in, of the city and the harbour at dusk, was simply stunning. We turned off the lights in the room and just stood there for several minutes looking out.

No doubt virtually the same view was available from many non-executive rooms on the floors below ours. However, what they wouldn't get was access to the Executive Lounge which is described in other reviews and was a real bonus. We don't really like watching TV in our bedroom and spent some time in the lounge watching the Winter Olympics on the set there. On returning from a day sight-seeing it was really nice to relax before dinner eating canapés and drinking wine, which was regularly topped up by the very attentive staff. Tea, coffee and soft drinks were always available as well. We also ate our breakfasts in there which was probably a bit more relaxed than the main dining area, although the food from the buffet was just the same for everyone.

We had dinner in the hotel every night and on day one went down to the Silk Bar, where the chef does a daily "special" with an inclusive drink, as well as the normal menu. On this occasion it was a stir fry and was really excellent. The second night was actually my wife's birthday and we decided to eat in the main Silk Road restaurant. We both ordered steaks and these were both delicious. The service there was excellent and very friendly. The restaurant manager came and chatted to us and, realising that my wife was celebrating her birthday, personally brought us a complimentary dessert to share (we had not mentioned the birthday beforehand so she missed out on the bar of chocolate referred to in other reviews, although this was not really needed as there was always a huge pile of Swiss chocolates in the lounge). The dessert was a very nice touch that certainly made the evening feel very special. Our only disappointment was on our last night when we returned to the Silk Bar on "burger night". Unfortunately we were a bit late arriving and the bar was really busy with delegates to a conference. It took quite a while to place our order and, having asked for them to be well done, our burgers arrived very pink indeed and had to be sent back. No quibbles and profuse apologies were forthcoming from the staff, but we were very late eating in the end.

The location of the hotel turned out not to be any problem at all as there is a free half-hourly hotel shuttle bus to and from the central station where all the other transport links are located. There is also a tram stop just across the road and one of the canal bus routes includes a stop for the Cruise Terminal which is next door to the hotel. Apparently the visiting cruise ships are an added sight for guests at the hotel during the summer.

Our first visit to Amsterdam was really enjoyable and this was largely due to the hotel and its excellent staff. We would strongly recommend it to anyone who likes the facilities of modern hotels but generally finds them a bit impersonal. Admittedly, it was not very "Dutch" but this was more than made up for by the Swiss chocolate and ice cream that Moevenpick do so well.

Room Tip: Rooms are no doubt all high quality but those on the upper floors will enjoy the best views of the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Swannery,
Thank you very much for your detailed and extensive positive feedback. This is much appreciated and important for our entire team, as well as for our future guests.
We are truly pleased to read you enjoyed all benefits which include a Suite, and hope you and your wife enjoyed celebrating her birthday. A late congratulations again!

We defenitely hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This the second time we have visited Amsterdam in the past two years. After comparing prices the first time, we found it much cheaper to stay in a B&B. After some research, we found this hotel to easily be on a par price wise with a good B&B.
We stayed at this hotel for three nights from Friday 14th Feb. The rooms were perfectly soundproofed. once inside we did not hear another person. meals were reasonably priced for a 4 star hotel and the service was very friendly. I had what they called a house steak and I could easily put it into one of the top ten steaks I've ever eaten. the bar area was also very inviting and again reasonably priced.
at only ten minutes walk to Amsterdam central, I would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Daer AlandChris1993,
We are pleased to read you have enjoyed your second stay with us again, thank you for your trust in our hotel.
Your compliments regarding the quality and of our food and the sevrice of our staff are much appreciated and have been shared with our staff already.

We hope to welcome you again in a near future!
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed here on the 1st February 2014 for my 40th Birthday. A surprise trip made possible by my wife.Knowing how fussy I was about flying she booked a P&O mini cruise which meant 2 nights in the cruise ship and a night at this Hotel.How it is not 5 star is a mystery.The place oozes class.We were put on the 17th floor (which was a request) and the view is nothing short of spectacular! The staff are more than welcoming and they even recognised my birthday in the way of a big bar of swiss chocolate! The rooms are very spacious and clean and has everything you need. We drank in the bar which was cheaper than some of the Amsterdam pubs and we had a 1st class meal in the restaurant.Granted, it was quite expensive but you get what you pay for and the steak was delicious.Overall the whole mini cruise and amsterdam was a fantastic experience and I cannot wait to do it all over again very soon.
TIPS:
Tram station 26 is right out the front of the hotel.Amsterdam centraal is 1 stop on it.Pay 2.70 euros for riding the tram for one hour or buy a 48hr pass for 7.50
The hotel is only a ten minute walk from Amsterdam centraal train station but beware a taxi will cost you 10 euro's to get there ( we found out)
The pubs and bars will charge you a 50 cent fee for using their toilet, including McDonalds!
The hotel requires a deposit on a credit card when you get there of 50 euro's ( I suppose this is in case of breakages )
We asked for an extension on the room on the day we were leaving ( normally depart by 12.00) but the hotel gave us the room until 2.00pm at no extra charge.

Room Tip: rooms on the upper floors give a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear djstan2013,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experiences with us, this is much appreciated! A late congratulations again on your 40th birthday. We hope your minicruise has been pleasant. We are pleased to read you were pleasantly surprised and you enjoyed your stay with us.

Anytime you decide to re-discover Amsterdam again, please stay with us.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a weekend in February to celebrate my 23rd birthday. It was amazing. We booked an executive room (which is definitely worth the money!) - this meant we had a room on the 20th floor with amazing views, complimentary buffet breakfast, complimentary mini bar and access to the executive bar which did free drinks and nibbles on an evening. The little touches in the hotel made the stay what it was. On the Saturday, we arrived back to the room to a bar of chocolate and a Happy Birthday card from the guest relations team! - how thoughtful. I couldn't have asked for more. The room was impeccable also!
The staff were so willing to help and always had a smile on their faces. Such a perfect stay - we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear krystinaf,
We are more than pleased to read you received a warm welcome with a smile upon your arrival and stay, and a late congratulations again on your 23rd birthday!
Your friendly comments regarding our fine service and extra attention are very motivating for our entire staff and therefor have been shared already.

Please conatct us directly for your next stay, we are happy to assist.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.