We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 30%
Ranked #40 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed here on the 1st February 2014 for my 40th Birthday. A surprise trip made possible by my wife.Knowing how fussy I was about flying she booked a P&O mini cruise which meant 2 nights in the cruise ship and a night at this Hotel.How it is not 5 star is a mystery.The place oozes class.We were put on the 17th floor (which was a request) and the view is nothing short of spectacular! The staff are more than welcoming and they even recognised my birthday in the way of a big bar of swiss chocolate! The rooms are very spacious and clean and has everything you need. We drank in the bar which was cheaper than some of the Amsterdam pubs and we had a 1st class meal in the restaurant.Granted, it was quite expensive but you get what you pay for and the steak was delicious.Overall the whole mini cruise and amsterdam was a fantastic experience and I cannot wait to do it all over again very soon.
TIPS:
Tram station 26 is right out the front of the hotel.Amsterdam centraal is 1 stop on it.Pay 2.70 euros for riding the tram for one hour or buy a 48hr pass for 7.50
The hotel is only a ten minute walk from Amsterdam centraal train station but beware a taxi will cost you 10 euro's to get there ( we found out)
The pubs and bars will charge you a 50 cent fee for using their toilet, including McDonalds!
The hotel requires a deposit on a credit card when you get there of 50 euro's ( I suppose this is in case of breakages )
We asked for an extension on the room on the day we were leaving ( normally depart by 12.00) but the hotel gave us the room until 2.00pm at no extra charge.

Room Tip: rooms on the upper floors give a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear djstan2013,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experiences with us, this is much appreciated! A late congratulations again on your 40th birthday. We hope your minicruise has been pleasant. We are pleased to read you were pleasantly surprised and you enjoyed your stay with us.

Anytime you decide to re-discover Amsterdam again, please stay with us.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,196
    878
    191
    62
    33
See reviews for
356
1108
121
329
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a weekend in February to celebrate my 23rd birthday. It was amazing. We booked an executive room (which is definitely worth the money!) - this meant we had a room on the 20th floor with amazing views, complimentary buffet breakfast, complimentary mini bar and access to the executive bar which did free drinks and nibbles on an evening. The little touches in the hotel made the stay what it was. On the Saturday, we arrived back to the room to a bar of chocolate and a Happy Birthday card from the guest relations team! - how thoughtful. I couldn't have asked for more. The room was impeccable also!
The staff were so willing to help and always had a smile on their faces. Such a perfect stay - we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear krystinaf,
We are more than pleased to read you received a warm welcome with a smile upon your arrival and stay, and a late congratulations again on your 23rd birthday!
Your friendly comments regarding our fine service and extra attention are very motivating for our entire staff and therefor have been shared already.

Please conatct us directly for your next stay, we are happy to assist.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Initially I couldn't believe how far away the hotel was from the centre of Amsterdam so I started out my 4 day trip a little disappointed, the hotel did not do much to improve on this. On arrival the staff were helpful but tried to get me to pay all sorts of extras that I did not want or need, our room was on the 7th floor so we had some pretty good views over the river and more industrial side of the city. The room was clean and modern and we comfortable. Although there was a shuttle service from the hotel to central station you had to book onto the service which did not allow any flexibility in our day planning. We had to plan a good 20 minute walk to and from the city centre and dragging around a young child turned into a nightmare.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Samantha M,
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear our location just outside the citycenter disappointed you. Upon arrival we ask our guests to leave a guarantee (either by cash or credit card) for additional extras, however this is not a payment. We apologize if this has been unclear for you.
Thank you for your positive remarks regarding our clean and comfortable room.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

On the 16th Floor we had a magnificent view, we became reluctant to leave the room because we enjoyed it so much. The hotel is nice, the room was comfortable with very good beds. The hotel itself is not located in a neighbourhood, iti s naar the water, but close to the city center.

Room Tip: Higher floors, locaties on the west we think you have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Ellen H,
We are happy to learn your stay with us has been so pleasant, and you loved the stunning views from your room on the 16th floor!
You are more than welcome to stay with us again, please do contact us directly.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

On arrival they said they had no rooms left. But ours had already been booked and paid for. They said we could upgrade for a price. I refused this as they had given our room away there mistake. After a bit of upset and feeling extremely annoyed they gave us the upgrade for free. Barr from the bad experience on arrival. The hotel in itself is very nice and the views. Very close to central station and Amsterdam Central. The breakfast wAs very good. With a wide variety and was hot and fresh the staff were very helpful and very polite. I would stay here again and have already recommended it to family and friends. I will be staying here again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Chiefmesser,
Thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your experiences with us. We are sorry to hear your check in procedure has left you with an unpleasant taste. Please be assured this has our highest attention. Besides this, we are pleased our hotel and staff met up to your expectations.
We put a lot of emphasis on our quality and service, and it is encouraging to see this pays off.

Should you decide to stay with us again, please contact us personally.

KInd regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Just come back from a 3 night stay at this hotel.
It is ideally located, only a 10 minute walk or 1 minute tram ride from central station.
The hotel is right on the water front with spectacular views from the room (we were on the 5th floor).
The rooms are pretty standard, clean enough and well equipped. They have all you need for a stay in a city were staying in your hotel would be a waste of a trip.
The bar food was nice, although the service for drinks was slow. They could perhaps do with an additional barman to make cocktails during happy hour.
The staff themselves, were accomodating and friendly and more than happy to help with any additonal requirements we had.
The breakfasts were nice, if not a little oily.
Be prepared to pay a deposit of 150euros on check in. The reason for this wasn't explained to us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Sophie J,
Thank you for your kind and extensive review regarding your stay with us. Your compliments regarding our accommodating staff have been shared within our teams already.
We are sorry to hear the deposit procedure has not been clear for you. Upon check in we ask a deposit of € 50,- per night as a guarantee for additional non included facilities, by cash or credit card reservation.
Please feel free to contact us for more infotmation.

Thank you again, we hope to welcome you soon.
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Spent a long weekend at the hotel. Train direct from airport terminal to central station took 20 mins. Phoned hotel concierge for free shuttle transport to hotel - available twice per hour. Exec room on top floor had fabulous view, super comfy bed and was very quiet. Use of exec lounge for free coffee, beer etc was a nice touch. Also ate breakfast there. Buffet breakfast had excellent choices of hot and cold foods. Very hectic Sat and Sunday but much more pleasant on Monday. Staff very helpful. Nice ambiance. Very modern. Only complaint, as with many hotels - hairdryer was in bathroom so husband could not use until I had finished. Hairdryer, make up mirror and good lighting should be in room not bathroom - mirror also steamed up. Shower over bath was good but bath deep and slippery so difficult to climb out of safely. Lots to see in Amsterdam. Did the city bus tour and canal boat trip. Walked through red light district, went to a photo exhibition at Foam Gallery which was amazing. All restaurants had exc standard of food, reasonably priced. Interesting city and pleasant stay. Would use Movenpick again in future.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are on top 2 floors - 19 and 20 - so excellent views and very quiet. Also get use o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Sonic27,
We are happy to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and took advantage of all the benefits which are included in an Executive Suite. During weekend it can indeed get very busy! Otherwise, our apologies for the indicated inconveniences with our bathroom facilities. Please be assured this has our attention.
We are more than happy to assist you for your future booking.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.