We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 30%
Ranked #40 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“amazing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Můovenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre has amazing location near to Centraal Station which is 20 minutes by train to international airport Schiphol.
Hotel itself is in newly built building on the river bank.
Front desk staff, restaurant staff - simply excellent. I wanted to see some other rooms and spa and one of the receptionist just took his master key and went with me to show me all the hotel facilites I wanted.
Breakfast offer was so huge, also the restaurant is nice and big, including summer terace.
Really recommend.

Room Tip: 1628 nice river and centre view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Lucie D,
Thank you very much for your (more than!) positive review regarding your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the tour of the house which gave you a good impression of our hotel facilities.
Your compliments regarding our friendly staff and extensive breakfast are much appreciated and have been shared within our teams for encouragement already.

We hope to welcome you soon, please contact us directly.
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,217
    893
    200
    63
    34
See reviews for
361
1,128
123
339
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Moevenpick is an excellent hotel for the car turists. P&R (EUR8 per day) is only few tram stations from the hotel. The hotel is located 5 minutes walk from the central station. The rooms have the beautiful view over the river and the town. Delicious breakfast. We booked in advance reasonably cheap for 4 start city hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear SergeyKuznetsovMos,
We are pleased to read you took an advantage early booking and decided to stay with us.
Your kind words regarding our beautiful rooms (with views!) and delicious breakfast are much appreciated.
Should you decide to visit Amsterdam again, please stay with us.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We could reach the Amsterdam Central by 10-minutes walk which from where you can go anywhere around Amsterdam ... nice room, nice food (especially the breakfast where the coffee shop arrangement is very nice) ....cozy place to stay and on top of that the staff hospitality is great! ....lots of help and assistance from Remko ... The concierge ....thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Rusdiawan,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are truly pleased to read your stay has been so enjoyable and you appreciated the service and kindness of our Concierge Remko. Compliments have been passed on to him already.

We look forward welcoming you soon in our hotel.
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

A well positioned hotel just a tram stop away from the Central Station, so excellent for all tourist sites, sports grounds, etc. In a quiet riverside location so away from the noise of the city. The staff are excellent and very welcoming. Great restaurant, breakfast room and bar - with reasonable prices for the quality food and drinks. Room was spotless and comfortable. One complaint would be that the lifts are (presumably for security) operated by the client room card, but these seem to over ride the call buttons on the floors, causing frustrating delays in waiting for a lift. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear RWB2012,
We are happy to read you had such a pleasant stay in our hotel, indeed located just outside the busy city centre on the banks of the river "IJ". We have passed your compliments to our staff for encouragement already. Our apologies for the inconvenience of the elevators. The keycards are indeed used for security reasons. Our four elevators are operated by a computer system. We will have this further investigated.
We will be more than pleased to welcome you again next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed for one night; the room was very comfortable, clean and quit. Very friendly reception. The breakfast was outstanding!! We did sleep at the 17th floor and had a wonderfull view over Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Yvan 188671,
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us. We are pleased to read your stay has been enjoyable and you valued our comfortable and clean room, friendly staff and good breakfast.

Please visit us again on your next stay to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Nice hotel with large and comfortable room and ours had a good view of the water. We arrived very early a.m., but could not check in early due to the hotel being fully booked the night before (this is a hotel that serves many precruise clients).

Easy walking distance to city or if you don't want to walk, there is a train station across the road that is one stop to city center. Nice breakfast as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Mary S,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us regarding your stay.
We took note of your early arrival. You may be interested to know, we will always do our utmost to give our early arriving guests a room when available. This depends on our room availability, and occupancy. The only way to guarantee an early arrival is to prebook te night before.
Besides this we are pleased to read you valued our large and comfortable rooms, as well as our good views over the river "IJ".

We look forward welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My wife treated me to 4 days in Amsterdam as a suprise christmas present, including 3 nights at the Movenpick hotel. As apparently normally the breakfast is 25 Euro's each, we paid 70 Euro's per night to get it included, plus we were on the 20th floor, which meant wonderful views of Amsterdam, various bits and bobs in the room (minibar and coffee machine) and Prosecco and nibbles in the evening. We went and had these every night, as they were very tasty, and almost negated the need for an evening meal!

I also used the Sauna in the health suite, which was very nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear James B,
We are pleased to read your Christmas surprise present brought you to our hotel.
Thank you for chosing us and for sharing your experience with us and our future travellers.
It is good to hear you took advantage of all the benefits which are included when booking an Executive Suite.

Should you decide to visit Amsterdam again, we are happy to assist you.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.