We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tot 30% korting
Ranked #39 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great hotel, well located a short walk or tram ride from the main train station terminal.

Ideal base for exploring Amsterdam, clean room, friendly staff and reasonably priced room service

Would definitely book again.

Thanks

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear stevo8626,
Thank you so much for sharing your positive review with us. Your kind words regarding our great hotel, easy to reach location and friendly staff are very encouraging to read.
Your opinion is very helpful for our future guests as well!

We hope you will stay with us again in a near future.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,131
    836
    172
    58
    31
See reviews for
331
1041
119
321
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

If you are looking for a hotel with at good view, quiet location, large rooms and good breakfast i Amsterdam. This is it!
I think It is located a bit to far from the city centre.
Nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Perhof,
We are pleased to read your stay has been enjoyable with us, and you valued our quiet location, good views, spacious rooms, helpful staff and extensive breakfast.
You may be interested to know, we offer a free shuttle service to the Central Station (please make advance booking).

Next time you visit Amsterdam, please stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

this could be a great hotel, nice bar serving snack food, upmarket restaurant, decent gym, good rooms and a great view over the river.
the hotel is next to the cruise ship departure point and unfortunately at times it has the same feel- the picture attached shows the queues you can expect when the coaches arrive - not what you would expect for a hotel charging 5 star prices
In our room the phone had a flashing red light, which normally indicates a message - this could not be turned off in the four days we were there disturbing our sleep - it was only as we were checked out that we were told that every room had the same problem - why was this not fixed?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear neilalexander,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your stay. We are truly sorry to hear our hotel did not meet up to your expectations. Your comments will be further investigated within our teams to ensure the quality and service you expect and deserve from us.
We have contacted our service provider with regards to the flashing light on your telephone, but unfortunately they were not able to resolve the issue during your stay.

We defenitely hope to ahve a chance to welcome you again in our hotel. Please contact us directly, we are happy to assist you.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at the Movenpick Hotel during the new year celebrations in Amsterdam. And both the city and the hotel, greeted us with open arms. A very well managed facility (something we have always associated with the Swiss); everything is spic and span, and you get a sense of calm throughout the facility. Even in the noisiest of times, we cold enjoy a wonderful sleep without any essence of the noise outside. The rooms have an amazing view, so the higher the better. There is a direct tram, no 26 from the central station, (the 1stop is the one you need to get off at).

It's a bit far from the city centre, so tram is necessary and the only quibble in an otherwise wonderful experience is their policy of holding a 100 Euro deposit from each guest. This seems very unprofessional coming from such a chain and would have spoiled our complete experience. I would suggest to the management to have a look at this policy. (only reason to give it a 4 ****).

Room Tip: The higher floors facing the Canal would provide an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Enjoyed our stay at this modern hotel. We were upgraded to an executive suite which was roomy and clean. Had a large bathroom as well. Nice towels. We had a room on an upper floor so we had a nice view of the city with no buildings blocking our views. There was also free Wi-Fi that worked well. Due to our upgrade we had free breakfast in a special lounge as well as afternoon snacks and cocktails. The breakfast was good and there was plenty of good choices. We only came back to the hotel for the afternoon cocktail hour once, but it was tasty as well. Staff was very nice and helpful throughout the hotel. You are about a 20 min walk from the central station but you can catch a tram a 5 min walk across the street from the hotel and get to the station that way. I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Upper floor to get a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear acaida,
We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the additional benefits which include the upgrade to an Executive Suite.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our nice and friendly staff, this is very motivating.
Compliments have been shared for encouragement already.

We hope to be able to welcome you soon in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights in December. The hotel is definitely targeting the business traveler, and if you're looking for an impersonal approach, you might be satisfied. The rooms have a beautiful view over the IJ and Amsterdam City center.
An annoying feature of my room was a dirty and stained couch, otherwise the room, bed and bathroom were ok.
Breakfast was ok, but not excellent either.
Dinner was ok as well, except for the waiter who became really annoyed when our verdict on the wine was that it tasted like cork. While the second bottle left no room for discussion, the waiter remained cool to outright unfriendly.
The fitness room was too small for the size of the hotel.
I found the quality/price ratio average, and poor if you take the parking cost (€50/day) into account.

Room Tip: Beware of the parking cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Peter_ 775,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your stay. Thank you for your positive remarks regarding our hotel views. Otherwise we are truly sorry to hear about the unfriendly service you received in our restaurant. Please be assured this is not the service you may expect from us, this has our highest priority. We agree the parking fees in the public garage are high. Unfortunately the garage is not owned by us. Please contact our staff for more economic alternatives. Your service points will be further investigated within our related teams.

Please do not hesitate to contact our staff should you decide to stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My first trip to amsterdam & was recommended this hotel. Glad I chose it. Located very close to the city centre & short distance from the Central station. My room had a great view of the river & key landmarks. The staff were very courteous.

Overall, good expereince & will stay there again during my next trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Sajeesh_Nambiar,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
We are pleased to read your first stay in Amsterdam and in our hotel has been satisfactory and you valued our overall facilities and location.
Should you decide to visit Amsterdam again, we will be happy to assist you.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;