We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, Amsterdam BR 1019, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Tot 30% korting
Ranked #38 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
ny
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Enjoyed our stay at this modern hotel. We were upgraded to an executive suite which was roomy and clean. Had a large bathroom as well. Nice towels. We had a room on an upper floor so we had a nice view of the city with no buildings blocking our views. There was also free Wi-Fi that worked well. Due to our upgrade we had free breakfast in a special lounge as well as afternoon snacks and cocktails. The breakfast was good and there was plenty of good choices. We only came back to the hotel for the afternoon cocktail hour once, but it was tasty as well. Staff was very nice and helpful throughout the hotel. You are about a 20 min walk from the central station but you can catch a tram a 5 min walk across the street from the hotel and get to the station that way. I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Upper floor to get a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear acaida,
We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the additional benefits which include the upgrade to an Executive Suite.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our nice and friendly staff, this is very motivating.
Compliments have been shared for encouragement already.

We hope to be able to welcome you soon in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,210
    875
    181
    63
    38
See reviews for
323
1016
119
320
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights in December. The hotel is definitely targeting the business traveler, and if you're looking for an impersonal approach, you might be satisfied. The rooms have a beautiful view over the IJ and Amsterdam City center.
An annoying feature of my room was a dirty and stained couch, otherwise the room, bed and bathroom were ok.
Breakfast was ok, but not excellent either.
Dinner was ok as well, except for the waiter who became really annoyed when our verdict on the wine was that it tasted like cork. While the second bottle left no room for discussion, the waiter remained cool to outright unfriendly.
The fitness room was too small for the size of the hotel.
I found the quality/price ratio average, and poor if you take the parking cost (€50/day) into account.

Room Tip: Beware of the parking cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Peter_ 775,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your stay. Thank you for your positive remarks regarding our hotel views. Otherwise we are truly sorry to hear about the unfriendly service you received in our restaurant. Please be assured this is not the service you may expect from us, this has our highest priority. We agree the parking fees in the public garage are high. Unfortunately the garage is not owned by us. Please contact our staff for more economic alternatives. Your service points will be further investigated within our related teams.

Please do not hesitate to contact our staff should you decide to stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My first trip to amsterdam & was recommended this hotel. Glad I chose it. Located very close to the city centre & short distance from the Central station. My room had a great view of the river & key landmarks. The staff were very courteous.

Overall, good expereince & will stay there again during my next trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Sajeesh_Nambiar,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
We are pleased to read your first stay in Amsterdam and in our hotel has been satisfactory and you valued our overall facilities and location.
Should you decide to visit Amsterdam again, we will be happy to assist you.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

What this hotel lacks in location and convenience, it compensates with attentive and responsive service, clean rooms, and complimentary WiFi! Always a deal in my eyes.

The hotel is about 20 minute walk from Dam Square and a 15 minute ride via public transportation. The tram station is about a 5 minute walk across. Since I haven't been to Amsterdam before, I wasn't too familiar with commuting in the area so it took me a couple of days to really figure out the tricks of commuting. Next time, I'll need to borrow the concierge's service more.

Our room was a standard European size. Not too large, but just enough room to place a few items around and not feel congested. It was very clean and the decor was modern. Our room faced the water so the view was very pleasant.

Checking in and out of the hotel was efficient. The front desk was always very attentive, efficient, and responsive to any needs or questions I had. They were really friendly and professional during my entire stay.

It was definitely a pleasant stay and I got it at a good value at the time. Would definitely consider it again, but I may also look into some more centralized locations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear chgroulus,
Thank you for sharing your positive review with us. It is very motivating to hear your stay has been (more than!) enjoyable and you appreciated our quiet location with great views. Congratulations again on your birthday. Your kind compliments regarding our friendly, helpful and kind staff has been shared within our teams already.

Please stay with us next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I booked a three night stay here as a Christmas present for my husband. We stayed here from the 27th to the 30th december. Our stay was great, we upgraded to an executive room on the top floor which had great views and included free breakfast and snacks and drinks in the lobby between 5-7 each evening. The room itself was comfortable and very clean with housekeeping doing a fantastic job. Staff in general couldn't be more polite and helpful. Our room originally had two single duvets on, we asked if it was possible to have a larger one and when returning to our room an hour later it had been changed.
For us location was perfect as we were one tram stop from central station which we were then able to get on a connecting tram to wherever we wanted to visit that day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear munt4885,
We are happy to read your stay over Christmas has been enjoyable. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and our (future) travellers. A late congratulations again on your husband's birthday! It is good to learn you valued our overall facilities.
Anytime you decide to visit Amsterdam again, we hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Spent a pre-Christmas weekend in Amsterdam and stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights.

About a 20 minute walk from the central train station - you leave from the waterside/rear of the station and head east - the hotel is easily visible.

The staff were excellent and helpful, the hotel modern and clean.

Worth using the shuttle bus to the train station.

Recommended - lots of facilities we didn't use.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Andy W,
We are pleased to read your pre-Christmas stay with us has been a pleasant one.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our excellent and helpful staff and our modern and clean hotel.

We defenitely hope to welcome you again in a near future. Wishing you a prosperous 2014!

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel while vacationing in Amsterdam. Overall the hotel was nice. The rooms were modern, beds were comfortable and the service was decent. The location wasn't completely ideal as it required a 10 minute walk or public transportation to get to Central Station and surrounding areas. The hotel did offer a free shuttle but it was somewhat difficult to obtain a ride especially during peak times. There was also not a way to return to the hotel via shuttle.

I was pleased with the hotel and would stay here again. However, I would generally prefer a location more convenient to central Amsterdam and one that blends with local architecture and culture.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Jbjenkins78,
Thank you very much for sharing your positive and kind feedback with us. It is encouraging to hear you valued our modern rooms and comfortable beds. We are indeed located just outside the (busy) city center. Our shuttle bus can take a maximum of 8 people, to avoid any disappointment we advice to prebook your seat. Upon request and advanced reservation we can pick you up from the Central Station.

Anytime you decide to explore Amsterdam again, please stay with us.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, Amsterdam BR 1019, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Occupancy Marketing, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.