We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern hotel, attentive service, free Wifi, away from city center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 30%
Ranked #40 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
san diego
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Clean, modern hotel, attentive service, free Wifi, away from city center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

What this hotel lacks in location and convenience, it compensates with attentive and responsive service, clean rooms, and complimentary WiFi! Always a deal in my eyes.

The hotel is about 20 minute walk from Dam Square and a 15 minute ride via public transportation. The tram station is about a 5 minute walk across. Since I haven't been to Amsterdam before, I wasn't too familiar with commuting in the area so it took me a couple of days to really figure out the tricks of commuting. Next time, I'll need to borrow the concierge's service more.

Our room was a standard European size. Not too large, but just enough room to place a few items around and not feel congested. It was very clean and the decor was modern. Our room faced the water so the view was very pleasant.

Checking in and out of the hotel was efficient. The front desk was always very attentive, efficient, and responsive to any needs or questions I had. They were really friendly and professional during my entire stay.

It was definitely a pleasant stay and I got it at a good value at the time. Would definitely consider it again, but I may also look into some more centralized locations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear chgroulus,
Thank you for sharing your positive review with us. It is very motivating to hear your stay has been (more than!) enjoyable and you appreciated our quiet location with great views. Congratulations again on your birthday. Your kind compliments regarding our friendly, helpful and kind staff has been shared within our teams already.

Please stay with us next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    917
    209
    68
    35
See reviews for
369
1,169
126
366
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I booked a three night stay here as a Christmas present for my husband. We stayed here from the 27th to the 30th december. Our stay was great, we upgraded to an executive room on the top floor which had great views and included free breakfast and snacks and drinks in the lobby between 5-7 each evening. The room itself was comfortable and very clean with housekeeping doing a fantastic job. Staff in general couldn't be more polite and helpful. Our room originally had two single duvets on, we asked if it was possible to have a larger one and when returning to our room an hour later it had been changed.
For us location was perfect as we were one tram stop from central station which we were then able to get on a connecting tram to wherever we wanted to visit that day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear munt4885,
We are happy to read your stay over Christmas has been enjoyable. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and our (future) travellers. A late congratulations again on your husband's birthday! It is good to learn you valued our overall facilities.
Anytime you decide to visit Amsterdam again, we hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Spent a pre-Christmas weekend in Amsterdam and stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights.

About a 20 minute walk from the central train station - you leave from the waterside/rear of the station and head east - the hotel is easily visible.

The staff were excellent and helpful, the hotel modern and clean.

Worth using the shuttle bus to the train station.

Recommended - lots of facilities we didn't use.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Andy W,
We are pleased to read your pre-Christmas stay with us has been a pleasant one.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our excellent and helpful staff and our modern and clean hotel.

We defenitely hope to welcome you again in a near future. Wishing you a prosperous 2014!

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel while vacationing in Amsterdam. Overall the hotel was nice. The rooms were modern, beds were comfortable and the service was decent. The location wasn't completely ideal as it required a 10 minute walk or public transportation to get to Central Station and surrounding areas. The hotel did offer a free shuttle but it was somewhat difficult to obtain a ride especially during peak times. There was also not a way to return to the hotel via shuttle.

I was pleased with the hotel and would stay here again. However, I would generally prefer a location more convenient to central Amsterdam and one that blends with local architecture and culture.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Jbjenkins78,
Thank you very much for sharing your positive and kind feedback with us. It is encouraging to hear you valued our modern rooms and comfortable beds. We are indeed located just outside the (busy) city center. Our shuttle bus can take a maximum of 8 people, to avoid any disappointment we advice to prebook your seat. Upon request and advanced reservation we can pick you up from the Central Station.

Anytime you decide to explore Amsterdam again, please stay with us.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My wife and I have just left the hotel having stayed 6 nights over Christmas. It was a superb stay from start to finish.

The hotel itself is clean, modern and comfortable. It is very accessible due to the free shuttle that runs to Central Station. The highlight for me was the hotel staff. No matter who we spoke to they were friendly, helpful and polite.

When we return to Amsterdam we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Feelzo,
We are very pleased to read your 6 day stay over Christmas has been pleasant with us.
Thank you for your positive remarks regarding the hotel being clean and modern.
We are truly happy to read you received service with a smile from our staff, this is very motivating for us!
Please contact us directly for your next stay. Wishing you a wonderful 2014!

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed in the Moevenpick City Center hotel prior to our leaving for a cruise in late October. We found the hotel to do exceptionally good job of catering to the traveler. Our modern room was clean and sleek in design. The bed was WONDERFUL!

Though this hotel is not in the most scenic of spots, our room did have a nice view of cruise ship port and we enjoyed watching some mega ships come in for the night. Other amenities in the room included free wi-fi; the staff was more than happy to help us get connected when we initially had a problem. The shower was easy to use and very pleasant. One thing I would add: more shelving in the bathroom.


Their morning buffet offered every type of food to suit one's dietary restrictions and palate. We had a late lunch on one day and had dinner there one night and were very happy with the entrees we ordered.


I read a review a while ago that complained that this hotel is not really in the "city center." Well, that's true. But it does not pose a problem. If you are a walker and very active, the Centraal Station is only about a 10 minute brisk walk. If you would rather take a tram, the tram station is located "across the street." I put that into quotes because it is a short walk down the street and a walk across a street and some tracks, up a ramp and a small walk to the tram station. Takes about 3 minutes. No big deal. From there, tram #26 takes to directly to Centraal Station. Just one stop.

One thing they could do to improve the hotel for us would be to have a simple coffee/sandwich shop that is open from, say, noon to 7 pm. What they have is a bar with other food available and their larger restaurant.

In sum, the Moevenpick Amsterdam City Center suited our needs very well and we would consider staying there again if we came back to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room to get the best view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear AKSherb207,
We are happy to read your stay with us prior to your cruise has been (more than!) enjoyable and thank you for taking the time to share this with us.
Thank you for your positive remarks regarding our extensive breakfast. Should there be any special wishes, please inform us in advance. Our staff is more than happy to assist you.
We are indeed well communicated by all emans of public transport, besides this we also offer a free shuttle bus to the Central Station (please make a booking).

We look forward welcoming you again and wish you a prosperous 2014.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

this is our 2nd time to the Movenpick Hotel in Amsterdam.

We spent 4 nights in this hotel over xmas, 22-26th Dec this hotel is amazing great views and the service was brillaint!

We had an excuitive room with bed & breakfast which I highly reccomend
the breakfast is a buffett but there is lots to choose from and when you are excutive you can enjoy free drinks in the lounge and also hot snacks with wine & beer between 5-7pm. You also get a complimentry mini bar with coke, Hineken, OJ ect. The room service is a little overpriced but the food is great and worth it with great service too.

Shower is great very powerful and bathroom is very clean and nice.
The views are amazing I would reccomend the higher the better :-) (we was on floor 20 this time and floor 15 the last time we was there)

The only downfall we had was the xmas dinner on xmas day, this was not tridtional and wasnt very nice :-/ so please dont expect the food to be like ours from England lol

other than that we had a fab time and would deffo return to this hotel. We are very happy with the staff and service they were brilliant the whole time we was there :-)
would reccomend to anyone any day :-)

Room Tip: Excutive room :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear vicky k,
Thank you for chosing to stay with us again! We are pleased to read you enjoyed your Christmas in our hotel and appreciated the service and warm welcome of our staff. Besides this, we are sorry to read our Christmas menu did not meet up to your expectations.
Thank you for recommending us.

We hope to welcome you again (3th time..) in a near future. Wishing you a prosperous 2014!

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.