We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 30%
Ranked #39 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Modern Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel while vacationing in Amsterdam. Overall the hotel was nice. The rooms were modern, beds were comfortable and the service was decent. The location wasn't completely ideal as it required a 10 minute walk or public transportation to get to Central Station and surrounding areas. The hotel did offer a free shuttle but it was somewhat difficult to obtain a ride especially during peak times. There was also not a way to return to the hotel via shuttle.

I was pleased with the hotel and would stay here again. However, I would generally prefer a location more convenient to central Amsterdam and one that blends with local architecture and culture.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Jbjenkins78,
Thank you very much for sharing your positive and kind feedback with us. It is encouraging to hear you valued our modern rooms and comfortable beds. We are indeed located just outside the (busy) city center. Our shuttle bus can take a maximum of 8 people, to avoid any disappointment we advice to prebook your seat. Upon request and advanced reservation we can pick you up from the Central Station.

Anytime you decide to explore Amsterdam again, please stay with us.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,250
    910
    206
    66
    34
See reviews for
367
1,150
125
353
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My wife and I have just left the hotel having stayed 6 nights over Christmas. It was a superb stay from start to finish.

The hotel itself is clean, modern and comfortable. It is very accessible due to the free shuttle that runs to Central Station. The highlight for me was the hotel staff. No matter who we spoke to they were friendly, helpful and polite.

When we return to Amsterdam we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Feelzo,
We are very pleased to read your 6 day stay over Christmas has been pleasant with us.
Thank you for your positive remarks regarding the hotel being clean and modern.
We are truly happy to read you received service with a smile from our staff, this is very motivating for us!
Please contact us directly for your next stay. Wishing you a wonderful 2014!

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed in the Moevenpick City Center hotel prior to our leaving for a cruise in late October. We found the hotel to do exceptionally good job of catering to the traveler. Our modern room was clean and sleek in design. The bed was WONDERFUL!

Though this hotel is not in the most scenic of spots, our room did have a nice view of cruise ship port and we enjoyed watching some mega ships come in for the night. Other amenities in the room included free wi-fi; the staff was more than happy to help us get connected when we initially had a problem. The shower was easy to use and very pleasant. One thing I would add: more shelving in the bathroom.


Their morning buffet offered every type of food to suit one's dietary restrictions and palate. We had a late lunch on one day and had dinner there one night and were very happy with the entrees we ordered.


I read a review a while ago that complained that this hotel is not really in the "city center." Well, that's true. But it does not pose a problem. If you are a walker and very active, the Centraal Station is only about a 10 minute brisk walk. If you would rather take a tram, the tram station is located "across the street." I put that into quotes because it is a short walk down the street and a walk across a street and some tracks, up a ramp and a small walk to the tram station. Takes about 3 minutes. No big deal. From there, tram #26 takes to directly to Centraal Station. Just one stop.

One thing they could do to improve the hotel for us would be to have a simple coffee/sandwich shop that is open from, say, noon to 7 pm. What they have is a bar with other food available and their larger restaurant.

In sum, the Moevenpick Amsterdam City Center suited our needs very well and we would consider staying there again if we came back to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room to get the best view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear AKSherb207,
We are happy to read your stay with us prior to your cruise has been (more than!) enjoyable and thank you for taking the time to share this with us.
Thank you for your positive remarks regarding our extensive breakfast. Should there be any special wishes, please inform us in advance. Our staff is more than happy to assist you.
We are indeed well communicated by all emans of public transport, besides this we also offer a free shuttle bus to the Central Station (please make a booking).

We look forward welcoming you again and wish you a prosperous 2014.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

this is our 2nd time to the Movenpick Hotel in Amsterdam.

We spent 4 nights in this hotel over xmas, 22-26th Dec this hotel is amazing great views and the service was brillaint!

We had an excuitive room with bed & breakfast which I highly reccomend
the breakfast is a buffett but there is lots to choose from and when you are excutive you can enjoy free drinks in the lounge and also hot snacks with wine & beer between 5-7pm. You also get a complimentry mini bar with coke, Hineken, OJ ect. The room service is a little overpriced but the food is great and worth it with great service too.

Shower is great very powerful and bathroom is very clean and nice.
The views are amazing I would reccomend the higher the better :-) (we was on floor 20 this time and floor 15 the last time we was there)

The only downfall we had was the xmas dinner on xmas day, this was not tridtional and wasnt very nice :-/ so please dont expect the food to be like ours from England lol

other than that we had a fab time and would deffo return to this hotel. We are very happy with the staff and service they were brilliant the whole time we was there :-)
would reccomend to anyone any day :-)

Room Tip: Excutive room :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear vicky k,
Thank you for chosing to stay with us again! We are pleased to read you enjoyed your Christmas in our hotel and appreciated the service and warm welcome of our staff. Besides this, we are sorry to read our Christmas menu did not meet up to your expectations.
Thank you for recommending us.

We hope to welcome you again (3th time..) in a near future. Wishing you a prosperous 2014!

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

A fantastic hotel! Excellent service from all staff from the start, and made to feel very welcome.

We were given a 14th floor room with a view of the city, which was superb. The room was spacious, and we were given an excellent baby cot for our little one - we were also allowed to keep the room for an extra hour past check out, so we could feed our baby.

Breakfast had a great choice of food, with loads to eat and drink and brilliant service from friendly staff. We were given a high quality high-chair for our baby to sit in.

Hotel bar has a good choice of beers and other drinks, as well as some nice snacks.

The free shuttle bus to Centraal Station was a godsend too! Made life a lot easier. However, when we couldn't use it, the 26 tram stops right outside the hotel, going to Centraal Station, and besides, the station is only ten minutes' walk away!

We received excellent service throughout, and our baby was fussed over by all the staff.

A fantastic stay!

Room Tip: Even numbers have a view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear junkymotown,
Thank you very much for your positive and extensive review, this is much appreciated.
It is good to read you valued our spacious rooms, great choice of breakfast and the extra care for your baby. We put a lot of emphasis on our quality and service, and we are happy this pays off. We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Amsterdam.
Wishing you a prosperous 2014!

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel following our Rhine River Cruise with viking. The hotel is modern and appears new, and has most everything we could need. The view up the canal was very impressive, especially at night, and the heated floors in the bathroom was a very welcome and surprising touch. Most of the reviews I have read deduct from the hotel due to its location. Directly outside and across the road is the Tram stop where for 7.5E, you can ride and see the city for 24 hours. Your other option is to take the hotel shuttle to Central Station or walk the 8 blocks to it. We chose to walk.

The bar there is quite nice, but it is very pricey. Try the coquettes! We never made it to the restaurant. However, our transfer picked us up at 5:30am, and the hotel had made a sack breakfast for us that was quite good.

I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear bharrison,
Thank you for sharing your review with us regarding your 3 day stay with us. We hope your River cruise has been enjoyable and are happy to read you valued our overall facilities and decided to explore Amsterdam walking. Thank you for recommending us to others, this is much appreciated!

Please stay with us again next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Spent two nights here at the end of a Viking Rhine River cruise. Our room was ready at 9:30 am, a very pleasant surprise. Very attractive, well maintained room with a great view of the city. The # 26 tram is right outside. The hotel also has a complimentary shuttle to the Central Station. Just remember to make a reservation. After busy days of sightseeing we enjoyed dinner in the Silk bar at the end of our first day and a very relaxing dinner following evening in the Silk Restaurant. In both cases the food and service were excellent. Checkout was easy and they even recognized my wife's birthday by giving her a large chocolate bar. We look forward to staying here again before too long.

Room Tip: High floors have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Henry H,
We hope you had a pleasant boat trip with Viking and thank you for sharing your feedback with us. A late congratulations again on your wife's birthday, we are happy to learn you appreciated the small attention. Thank you for your overall positive comments regarding our hotel, our service and the quality of our food.
We look forward welcoming you again in a near future and wish you a prosperous 2014!

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Otel, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.