We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 30%
Ranked #40 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I have just returned from a weekend stay at Movenpick Amsterdam, what can I say, what a fantastic hotel, staff are very nice, very helpful, and friendly. The hotel itself is in a fantastic location, one tram stop away from Central Station, however you can see the hotel from the station, we walked a few times , took around 10-15 mins at a leisurely pace. We had a very comfortable stay, with a king size bed and fantastic view of Amsterdam , we were on 10th floor. The décor of hotel is very modern and tasteful design. I would not hesitate to stay here again if I visit Amsterdam and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear mduncan192,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your weekend stay with us.
It is good to hear we met up to your expectations (and more!). Your kind words regarding our location, helpful and friendly staff, as well as our modern and tasteful design are obviously much appreciated.

We defenitely hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,280
    917
    209
    68
    35
See reviews for
369
1,167
126
366
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Used Amsterdam as our jumping off point for a River Cruise. Stayed two nights here and thought it a great and easy transition into travel and Europe. Located just outside the old area where we spent most of our time. Short walk or easy to catch the train for a less than 5 minute ride into the area. Great views of the harbor and old town from the hotel. Service was fine. Room was very comfortable; good beds.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as high as possible overlooking the old city. Beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Allen727286,
We are pleased to learn your 2 day stay with us has been a pleasant one and hope you had a pleasant boat trip. Thank you for your positieve remarks regarding our comfortable rooms and good beds, great views and walkable location.

Please stay with us again next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

i really liked the H from all the points. convenient location for city trips , i guess. close to central railway station that has transportation connection to the centre, wonderful view and worthy breakfast

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear an4oysik88,
Thank you very much for your positive review regarding your stay with us. We are happy to learn we met up to your expectations.
Next time you are in Amsterdam, we hope you will stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

-The front desk girl was ridiculously rude to me. Then the day before our flight I called down to set up their free shuttle to the station. They said it was set up for us at 8 am. As we arrived in the morning at 7:59, the driver pretty much sped away with one passenger and left us standing there. I asked the front desk about it and the man responded, "you better get walking". WOW.

-The water would not get warm.

-Lack of a sheet on the bed. Who throws a tiny little comforter on a bed and thinks thats warm enough in the winter? There was also a stain on my bed sheet before I even got in the bed. Wasn't worth saying anything after how rudely I had been treated by the front desk so I just avoided that area of the bed.

The hotel location is not very walkable. Granted to walk to the station is not bad, but once you get there you wish the walk was over. It was very exhausting at the end of the first day to have to include another 15 minutes into our walk. There is nothing over by the hotel aside from subway and a not very good cafe as well. Unless you want to eat or drink at the hotel, which was overpriced in our opinion.

Lastly, the internet would not work in our room.

HOWEVER, Our room was large and the view was gorgeous. Room 1504. Definitely book your room on the even side as far up as you can if you want the best view of Amsterdam. I would say staying here for a cruise would be a good idea- if you do not intend to use the shuttle and if you don't mind the rude employees. I wouldn't stay again just because of that.

Room Tip: Book room on even side of the hotel and anything higher than floor 9 for a good view of the water an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear britanma,
Thank you very much for taking the time and share your review with us.
We truly regret to hear about your negative experiences you had with one of our staff members at the Front Desk. Please accept our sincere apologies, we take this serious and will have this further investigated within our teams. This is obviously not the service you should expect from us. Should you encounter any issues at your next stay with us or at another hotel, please do not hesitate to contact the staff immediately for any assistance.
We are pleased to learn you enjoyed our large rooms and views.

Thank you again. We do hope to have a chance to recover your negative experience and make your next stay a memorable one.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed here for two nights prior to embarking on a Rhine River Christmas Market Cruise. It is located quite near the river cruise boat dock and is within walking distance of the Central Station. the hotel provides free van service to the Central Station with reservations a must. Its proximity to the #26 Tram is handy for those, like us, who purchased transportation cards. The views form the rooms overlooking the harbor are breathtakingly beautiful. We opted for the per-paid breakfast since we prefer the convenience, but there is a nice breakfast/lunch place close by.

This is primarily a business hotel, but river cruise lines use it for their clients as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if you like views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear swanssi,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We hope you had an enjoyable Rhine Cruise and are happy to read your stay with us has been a pleasant one.
The hotel is indeed located at a short distance from the Central Station, but well connected by all means of transport. Should you decide to stay with us again for business or leisure reasons,we look forward welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast, northern ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Location great. Easily found as it's the tallest building in the area. Reception was lovely and the hotel was very busy. Our room was lovely. However- a double bed with 2 single duvets covers and 1 soft pillow each. No spares in room. Our bathroom had the previous guests wet dirty towels hanging on the rack.
Unable to complain straight away as reception was mayhem. Complained later but don't think staff appreciated the complaint. When we checking out reception provided complimentary chocolate and jam to make up for having dirty towels left.
Pay attention to the transfers- we accidentally got on the one for the airport when we in a rush to catch a train. The driver quickly turned around and sped back to the station for us.
Overall enjoyable stay.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear scoobyscout,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay, our Front Desk area and your comfortable room. Besides this, please accept our sincere apologies for your mentioned service points. This is defenitely not the level you should expect from us, please be assured this has been discussed within the related teams already.
We always appreciate any feedback, positive or less positive. You may be happy to know, we offer different type of pillows on request. With regards to having taken the incorrect transfer to the airport; we only supply a free shuttle bus to the Central Station. The only possibility to catch direct transfer to the airport is to prebook the Connexxion Schiphol Service at reserved scheduled times. We are sorry for your inconveniences.

Should you decide to stay with us again, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. We are more than happy to assist you.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Enjoyed staying at that hotel, with a good breakfast and even better lunch buffet. Nice small gym, loved the rowing machine with the water in it. The hotel is close to the central station and offers free shuttle. I stayed on the 7th floor and had a water kettle in my room, my colleagues on higher floors mentioned also nespresso machines in their rooms. Overall very pleasant and enjoyable stay, probably would not stay for such a price per night privately.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Anna_1507,
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us regarding your business stay with us.
It is good to hear your stay has bene enjoyable and you valued our breakfast buffet, and even more our lunch. You may be interested to know, Nespresso machines are offered in our Suites. We do hope to welcome you again in our hotel, please visit our website for interesting deals or have a look at the special packages many Travel Agencies offer.

Thank you again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.