We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with excellent breakfast.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 30%
Ranked #39 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Tynemouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with excellent breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

The view from our room was amazing. It was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom, and it was quiet. Although the hotel is out of the city centre, the tram stop is only a short walk across the road and only 1 stop from the station. It was never a problem to get around. Hotel staff were pleasant and helpful. The only thing we found to be lacking was the bar - it's not a very stylish environment.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Debnde,
We are happy to learn your stay with us has been a pleasant one, and you appreciated the views from our rooms, clean bathroom and quiet location just outside the city center ensuring a good night rest.
We are sorry to hear you found our bar not very stylish.

Anytime you visit Amsterdam, please stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,179
    870
    184
    61
    32
See reviews for
352
1091
121
325
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

A modern hotel adjacent to the PTA passenger terminal with excellent views of the IJhaven channel and within a 10 minute walk to the rear entrance of the Central Station with easy access to the town center. The hotel provides a regular shuttle service to the Central Station that has to be previously arranged with the concierge.
The check-in procedure was attended by a very pleasant, effective and informative assistant.
The Lobby is sleek but relatively small. Was assigned a room on the 17th floor with a beautiful view of the city as well as the well concurred sea channel with myriads of all kind of sea vessels crisscrossing the area.
The room was average in size, modern, with good quality furniture and excellent lighting. The side by side double bed had fairly good mattresses with adequate linen. A good sized desk complemented the room.
The bathroom was well lighted but again with the annoying shower/bathtub half door which is prone to spill water all over the bathroom floor (why do they keep doing this?). Amenities were minimal with an also annoying single dispenser of body and hair shampoo and the now perennial European minuscule bar soap that disappears in a jiffy (cannot understand the apparent hotel savings when they charge heavy room fees!)
The room was provided with an empty minibar with no bottled water.
Internet was free for 4 hours at a time, renewable.
The breakfast was ok, appeared plentiful but not great. Had dinner at the hotel restaurant one night; the menu was sort of limited to few choices; the veal émincé ordered was bland but with a good Swiss rösti. The service was impeccable and saved the night.

Room Tip: Choose high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Kh445,
Thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback with us regarding your stay in November, this is much appreciated. We are happy to read you received a warm welcome upon check in and enjoyed the room facilities on the 17th floor, including the magnificent views.
With regards to our Green Globe room amenities, we are sorry to hear this did not meet up to your expectations. Our staff is more than happy to provide you with more items upon request.
Our minibars are left empty on purpose, we are happy to refill them for you.
Thank you for your compliments regarding the Restaurant, comments have been shared within our teams for encouragement already.
It was a pleasure having you, we hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had two nights at the Movenpick Hotel on the tail end of a Rhine Cruise. Our 17th floor room was modern and clean, with a wonderful harbor view. Downtown Amsterdam is a bit of walk, but they provide a shuttle every half-hour to the central station, and you can tram anywhere in the city from there. Perhaps the October weather was unusually warm, but my one complaint is that our room became uncomfortably warm as well. Despite TWO assurances from the desk that someone would be up to solve that problem, nobody ever arrived to do so. Even with the small window open, sleep was difficult in view of the stuffy air. Movenpick might have rated 4 or 5 stars, were it not for our atmospheric woes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Gyrfalcn,
We hope you enjoyed your River cruise and thank you for leaving your feedback with us.
We are happy to learn you appreciated the views from our rooms, as well as our modern and clean hotel. Otherwise, we are sorry to hear about the temperature in your room being too high in our unusual warm October month, and not having received the service you should expect from us .Thank you for bringing this under our attention, we will have this investigated within our teams.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was the only disappointing hotel during a fabulous two week vacation thru Europe. The rooms were dirty, not just ours, but many others in our group reported the same. The sofa in the room was filthy. The hallway carpets were unkept and dirty. Very disappointing. Would not stay there again. Breakfast chaotic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Daer talyken,
Thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry to hear your stay has been a disappointment and we could not meet up to your expecations. Your feedback regarding the cleanliness of the rooms has been shared within the related departments and have our sincere attention. Should you decide to stay with us again, please do not hesitate to inform our staff directly. This enables us to find a solution during your stay and make it a comfortable one.

Thank you again,

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Allthough the location is a little bit from the city it is worth it due to the river view. The hotel is next to the music house and right beside the river. And the tram stops almost outside the hotel. I stayed there for 3 nights in late october and was quite happy about the stay.
Arriving friday evening and was welcomed by the friendly staff. There was a slight confusion as they had assumed that I was female due to my first name which is a boys name in my country. I got a room on the 5th floor and again there was an apology that they could not get me a room at a higher floor but the hotel was fully booked.
The room was so nice, tastefully decorated and spacious. As my room was on the fifth floor most of my view was on the music house next door however I did manage to see some of the river. A 32" LED TV with loads of channels, coffee maker, refrigerator and most important of all - a super comfy bed. The wifi worked extremely well even if you only selected the free wifi with some limitations e.g. the max download speed of 512K. After four hours of use you have to create a new account however that was a minor detail as this takes app 2 minutes and then you are back online.
The bathroom was very nice and sparkling clean just as the rest of the room. Some amenities and a blowdryer. I travelled with two lady friends who stayed on the third floor and they complained a little bit about the blow dryer being fixed to the wall meaning that one could not be in the bathroom while the other dried their hair outside of the bathroom.
The hotel is about 20 floors and had four elevators for the guests. I did not a any time feel I had to wait for the elevator.
The room price did not include breakfast however we did decide to try it. It costs €23 which is kind on the expensive side however the breakfast is so good that it is worth it. Especially the bread is excellent.
We also tried the restaurant one night and again it was very good. Especially the staff was very service minded and friendly.
Checkin out was absolutely effortless and there was no problem in leaving our luggage for a couple of hours.
I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely like to go back in the summertime where I guess the location is even more fantastic.

Room Tip: Try to get a floor higher than fifth floor overlooking central station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear kengedahl,
We are happy to read you had such a nice stay in our hotel and thank you for yout more than positive and extensive review. Thank you for your nice words regarding our breakfast (bread!), fantastic views of our rooms and friendly service, which is obviously much appreciated!

We will be more than pleased to welcome you on your next visit to Amsterdam

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel in October 2013 for 2 nights including full breakfast. It is situated in a nice location 2 minutes on tram 26 from central station. The Hotel is very clean and spacious. The staff are friendly and helpful. The bedroom was very clean on arrival and was kept clean during our stay. The bed was very comfortable and the view from our room was excellent. The buffet breakfast was exceptional in its variety and choice and I can say its probably the best breakfast of all the hotels I have stayed in. I would say the hotel is faultless and I would recommend staying there. I hope to stay there again. Well done to the management and staff for making our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear David B,
We are happy to learn your stay with us met up to your expectations and more.
We put a lot of emphasis on our service and the quality of our products, and we are happy this pays off. Your feedback is very motivating for all our departments and management.

We hope to welcome you again soon in our Hotel.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is a new hotel, so really nicely decorated and the rooms are super clean. You have a great view over the water. The service was exceptionally good. The staff were relatively young, so I thought they might have some interns there but they all were really good. Unfortunately, I forgot the name of the guy who checked me in, I really wanted to thank him on tripadvisor because he was not only efficient but also kind and knew how much he should ask about what I like etc without wasting time. I finished the check-in within a few minutes and he got the right room for me even though it was my first stay with Movenpick (so they had no information about me/my preferences etc)

The cons are two: As some other guests indicated, the internet is a problem. I don't understand why they set up their internet in a way that you have to go through the process every 4 hours. We stay there for like 12 hours a day, so why not make it 12 hours? it is just too much trouble to go through that process...

The second is location. Although the hotel has a nice view, it is not in the city center, it is on the other side of the railroad. So you have to take a bus, cab or walk 15min, but the neighborhood didn't look nice...

Room Tip: check the location AGAIN before booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear classJ,
Thank you very much for leaving your extensive and positive feedback with us.
We are happy to learn you valued our modern hotel, clean and beautiful and clean rooms, located just outside the busy city centre on the banks of the river "IJ" (nice views!).
Thank you for your encouraging words regarding the service you received upon check in. Your feedback has been shared within our teams for encouragement.
We are sorry for the mentioned internet inconveniences, we are working on a more user friendly procedure for our guests.

Please stay with us again next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;