We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet and modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 30%
Ranked #40 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet and modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Allthough the location is a little bit from the city it is worth it due to the river view. The hotel is next to the music house and right beside the river. And the tram stops almost outside the hotel. I stayed there for 3 nights in late october and was quite happy about the stay.
Arriving friday evening and was welcomed by the friendly staff. There was a slight confusion as they had assumed that I was female due to my first name which is a boys name in my country. I got a room on the 5th floor and again there was an apology that they could not get me a room at a higher floor but the hotel was fully booked.
The room was so nice, tastefully decorated and spacious. As my room was on the fifth floor most of my view was on the music house next door however I did manage to see some of the river. A 32" LED TV with loads of channels, coffee maker, refrigerator and most important of all - a super comfy bed. The wifi worked extremely well even if you only selected the free wifi with some limitations e.g. the max download speed of 512K. After four hours of use you have to create a new account however that was a minor detail as this takes app 2 minutes and then you are back online.
The bathroom was very nice and sparkling clean just as the rest of the room. Some amenities and a blowdryer. I travelled with two lady friends who stayed on the third floor and they complained a little bit about the blow dryer being fixed to the wall meaning that one could not be in the bathroom while the other dried their hair outside of the bathroom.
The hotel is about 20 floors and had four elevators for the guests. I did not a any time feel I had to wait for the elevator.
The room price did not include breakfast however we did decide to try it. It costs €23 which is kind on the expensive side however the breakfast is so good that it is worth it. Especially the bread is excellent.
We also tried the restaurant one night and again it was very good. Especially the staff was very service minded and friendly.
Checkin out was absolutely effortless and there was no problem in leaving our luggage for a couple of hours.
I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely like to go back in the summertime where I guess the location is even more fantastic.

Room Tip: Try to get a floor higher than fifth floor overlooking central station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear kengedahl,
We are happy to read you had such a nice stay in our hotel and thank you for yout more than positive and extensive review. Thank you for your nice words regarding our breakfast (bread!), fantastic views of our rooms and friendly service, which is obviously much appreciated!

We will be more than pleased to welcome you on your next visit to Amsterdam

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,166
    860
    184
    61
    31
See reviews for
348
1079
121
324
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel in October 2013 for 2 nights including full breakfast. It is situated in a nice location 2 minutes on tram 26 from central station. The Hotel is very clean and spacious. The staff are friendly and helpful. The bedroom was very clean on arrival and was kept clean during our stay. The bed was very comfortable and the view from our room was excellent. The buffet breakfast was exceptional in its variety and choice and I can say its probably the best breakfast of all the hotels I have stayed in. I would say the hotel is faultless and I would recommend staying there. I hope to stay there again. Well done to the management and staff for making our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear David B,
We are happy to learn your stay with us met up to your expectations and more.
We put a lot of emphasis on our service and the quality of our products, and we are happy this pays off. Your feedback is very motivating for all our departments and management.

We hope to welcome you again soon in our Hotel.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is a new hotel, so really nicely decorated and the rooms are super clean. You have a great view over the water. The service was exceptionally good. The staff were relatively young, so I thought they might have some interns there but they all were really good. Unfortunately, I forgot the name of the guy who checked me in, I really wanted to thank him on tripadvisor because he was not only efficient but also kind and knew how much he should ask about what I like etc without wasting time. I finished the check-in within a few minutes and he got the right room for me even though it was my first stay with Movenpick (so they had no information about me/my preferences etc)

The cons are two: As some other guests indicated, the internet is a problem. I don't understand why they set up their internet in a way that you have to go through the process every 4 hours. We stay there for like 12 hours a day, so why not make it 12 hours? it is just too much trouble to go through that process...

The second is location. Although the hotel has a nice view, it is not in the city center, it is on the other side of the railroad. So you have to take a bus, cab or walk 15min, but the neighborhood didn't look nice...

Room Tip: check the location AGAIN before booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear classJ,
Thank you very much for leaving your extensive and positive feedback with us.
We are happy to learn you valued our modern hotel, clean and beautiful and clean rooms, located just outside the busy city centre on the banks of the river "IJ" (nice views!).
Thank you for your encouraging words regarding the service you received upon check in. Your feedback has been shared within our teams for encouragement.
We are sorry for the mentioned internet inconveniences, we are working on a more user friendly procedure for our guests.

Please stay with us again next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Great hotel with super comfy beds and great location. Although it is not in the city centre, it is only a tram stop away from amsterdam central and very easily reachable. Breakfast was expensive and beds are two single beds. Wonder why they do not provide a queen or king sized bedding. The only thing that i do not like about this hotel is the limited wifi access for guest. They should have provided free unlimited wifi access to the guests instead of limiting it to four hours per day.

Overall, good experience with this hotel and I will stay again if next time i'm coming to amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear sarahtan85,
We thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay with us.
Your friendly words regarding our hotel and our quiet location, just outside the city center, are much appreciated. Concerning the breakfast; good offers including breakfast many times can be found on our own website, or via the Travel Agencies online. In our hotel we also have king or twin beds available upon request. Next time you stay with us, we are happy to give you the bed of your liking.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed for a long weekend (concert at Ziggo Dome) with my lovely wife.

Arrived at around 09.00 having been travelling since 4.00am, hoping for an early check-in but unfortunately not available. Told that guaranteed check-in would be 3.00pm. No problem. Went for a walk and got back for just after 1.00pm, needing a snooze..... Still no room.

Waited in the lounge and at 2.58 we got our room! This was the only disappointment.

Difficult to believe that the room only became available at this time in such a big hotel.

Breakfasts really, really expensive. They looked good but much, much better value in town (Broodje Bert, Singel). Anyway, gripes over.

Room was good, very clean with great views. Quiet aircon, smart bathroom, comfy bed.

Hotel operates a shuttle every 30 minutes to Centraal station. Have to book as it gets popular. There's a tram stop over the road - worth considering a GVB OV Kart - 7E for 24h travel on trams / Metro and buses.

Staff - particularly the two concierge chaps (Christopher and ?) - are so friendly and helpful - a real credit to the business. Great english speakers too.

Final gripe - nearly forgot:

Checking in - one check-in desk with one person and quite a queue of guests. A barriered section was allocated to departing guests with 3 staff...... with nobody waiting to check out!

Asked if we could check-in there but not allowed. Why? No-one waiting to check-out. This was quite infuriating.

Summary - very good but could so easily be an awful lot better.

Room Tip: Go high for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear tickingaway,
Thank you very much for sharing your extensive feedback with us, we hope your concert at the Ziggo Dome has been enjoyable. We are pleased to read you appreciated most of our facilities and in particular the service of our Concierge staff. Compliments have been passed on to them already. I read your comment with regards to having an early check in. We do our utmost to give our guests an early check in, when availability allows. During the weekends we are often fully booked and therefor it is not always possible to have an early check in. The alternative for having a secured early check in is to reserve the night prior to the early arrival.
Please be assured your mentioned points regarding the waiting queue have aour attention and will have a follow up within our teams.

Anytime you visit Amsterdam, we hope you will stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have been going to Amsterdam for many years now and had become fed up with twee, quaint, unusual hotels with stairs that resembled ladders and rooms where we had to dodge around furniture and spend ages looking for a switch to turn on/off a particular lamp. We decided, this time, to go for a modern hotel with decent space and comfort and where we weren't woken up by the sound of church bells.

We got a good deal with the Mövenpick. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The views from the upper floors on the "city-side" were excellent. We were given a comfortable and quiet room with great beds. We enjoyed the food in the restaurant for dinner on the first evening, but didn't feel like paying over €20pp for breakfast during our stay, so we cannot comment on it. It was great to have tea & coffee-making facilities in the room and the Wi-Fi worked perfectly everywhere in the hotel.

The hotel is just a little bit far from the city-centre to walk every day. However it is only 5mins and one tram stop away. Also, one can avail of the free shuttle to the train station. Just check with the concierge for times and book a seat. The cleaning service was not 100% up to standard. The bed was thrown together on the first morning and teas & coffees were not replaced. When we asked reception to replace them, they had obliged when we got back from our day's visit. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Upper floors on the city side have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Rory O,
Thank you very much for leaving your extensive feedback with us regarding your stay.
We are pleased to read you choose our hotel for your stay in Amsterdam, as you indicate not located in the busy city centre but just outside, located on the banks of the river "IJ" (beautiful views!). Thank you for your overall positive comments regarding our comfortable and quiet rooms, and the food in our Restaurant. On the other side, our sincere apologies for the cleanliness of your room. Please be assured this has our attention and will be further investigated.

We look forward welcoming you again in our hotel.
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

A great view overlooking the harbour, seeing everything from huge cruise ships to water taxis come in and out.
It was a good location near the train and tram terminal too, which meant it was quiet at night, great for sleeping! A ten minute walk to central station, 15 minutes to the centre of Amsterdam or a free shuttle from the hotel to the station.
The hotel is modern, well appointed and comfortable. Staff were friendly and approachable and multi-lingual so enormously helpful.
Enjoyed our stay and the excellent train service in and around Amsterdam which allowed us to set our own itinerary for sightseeing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear RuthTOOTH,
Thank you for sharing your (more than!) positive feedback with us, this is much appreciated.
We are happy to read your stay met up to your expectations and you valued the great views, quiet location providing for a good night sleep and our overall facilities.
Your remarks regarding our friendly and multi lingual staff are very encouraging, compliments have been shared within our teams already.

Anytime you decide to visit Amsterdam, please stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.