We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location but close to the action” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 30%
Ranked #40 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Millarville, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quiet location but close to the action”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Moevenpick is a lovely, modern hotel in an excellent location. It's about a 10 minute walk to the action in downtown Amsterdam. The lobby is very nice and we were warmly welcomed upon arrival. Check-in was smooth. Our room was very nice and spacious. The bathroom was gorgeous and very modern. The TV had a good selection of channels. We spent 4 nights there. The beds were very comfy with a nice duvet but the pillows were really bad. I used the gym daily and it was pretty well equipped for a hotel gym. We didn't use any of the restaurant or bar facilities so I can't comment on that. I would highly recommend the Moevenpick. I was fortunate to get a good deal on the room at approx $150 Cdn/night, it was very good value for a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Our room looked to the east, we had a great water view and saw the sunrise on occasion. It was nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear HonoluluHank,
We are happy to read you had such a pleasant stay in our hotel, indeed located just outside the busy city center on the banks of the river "IJ". Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, we appreciate learning you felt welcome in our hotel. We are sorry to hear about the pillows not being of your liking. Should you decide to stay with us again, please inform our staff immediately. We have different types of pillows in our hotel.

Please stay with us again next time you travel to Amsterdam.
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,198
    879
    191
    62
    33
See reviews for
356
1,109
121
331
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Booking this hotel could be the best decision you make for your stay in Amsterdam.

Service is incredible, great bar, great staff, great breakfast.

Tram service right outside the door is excellent.

The hotel offers a shuttle bus service every 30 minutes to and from the train station

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing the city, nothing like getting up in the morning opening the curtains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Antooc2013,
We are happy to read your fantastic review, this is very encouraging for us!
In our hotel we put a lot of emphasis on the quality of our products and services, and I am very happy that this pays off.

Should you decide to visit Amsterdam again, we hope you will stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Is it clean and tasteful in presentation? yes, thoroughly modern and reservedly tasteful. businesses like presence in the room and lobby. Does it have a good view? wonderful from the 9th floor, looking out at the harbor scenery. Is the staff friendly and restaurant food good? staff is friendly, helpful, and restaurant food is I'd say, better than average for the breakfast buffet.
What could trip you up then? its a bit out of the way from the Amsterdam city center and the Centraal train station, as it is right next to the cruise ship terminal. Getting to the doorway other than taxi is not as easy in inclement weather because you have to walk a long ways to get to the front door, the way the street is structured.
Oh, by the way, watch out for waves (pardon the pun) of people arriving/departing cruise ships. Forget getting to the front of any line for service quickly. It can be be irritating, just the sheer amount of people you have to contend with from the cruise ships, and time consuming if you need any help from front desk or concierge.
FInally, the price point is a good fit for this hotel, I think.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear jeffersonlee,
We thank you for your time and your extensive, informative review. We are pleased to read you appreciated our overall facilities, this is very encouraging for us. The hotel is indeed located next to the Cruise Terminal, we are sorry for the indicated inconveniences such as the waiting time which a large group may bring along.
Besides this, we do hope you will stay with us again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel has a lot going for it but also some drawbacks that may or may not affect your decision to stay here. The hotel is new, modern, and convenient to the train station if you are able to walk and the weather is not too bad. The rooms are extremely quiet and there is absolutely no noise from the hallway or floors above. They graciously accommodated us when we asked fro a room on a higher floor to get the great view. Everyone at reception was pleasant and easy to work with. Now the cons: if you want to be within easy walking distance (as defined by someone with a bad back/ poor knees) from town center you aren't. My husband and I are frequent walkers and very familiar with trains so it isn't as if this system overwhelmed us. Our friends had a much harder time getting around. The weather was awful our full day here and it was impossible to get on the hotel shuttle (very limited) to get to the central station. There are few restaurant choices close to the hotel and the hotel itself seemed overwhelmed when so many people stayed in. We had one concierge that was good and friendly, the other was rude, surly, and poorly informed. We missed out on dinner as he said we didn't need a reservation, which was essential. Also, because of it's proximity to the cruise ships it is very busy on sailing days. Next time we will stay closer to the city center so we can get out and enjoy Amsterdam, even on bad weather days. A good hotel choice if you can walk and manage trains, a poorer choice if you want to be in the heart of the city.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor if you can; view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Katie S,
Thank you for sharing your extensive feedback with us, this is much appreciated.
We are pleased to learn you valued the quietness and view of our hotel rooms, due to our location just outside the city centre.
We are sorry to hear you did not receive the same level of service during your stay. Please be assured we will have this investigated within our teams.

We hope we have a chance in the future to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

To get this out of the way, as most of the other reviews and manager comments state, the name is misleading. The hotel is not in the city center, it is a mile or so outside. Depending on what you're looking for though, it can to be a little quieter and more relaxing than being in the middle of it all.

Pros: Rooms are nice and well maintained at a very affordable price. The higher rooms also have great views of the city/water. Shuttle is a nice service if you have luggage or the weather is bad, but only when the reservation process works. Concierge staff are extremely friendly and helpful and will go the extra mile to try and rectify their colleagues' mistakes (more details below).

Cons: The bartender was generally slow and went out of his way to avoid anyone with a food menu in their hand in the 15 minutes leading up to the published kitchen closing time. As soon as the clock struck 11 he finally got around to the people who had waited and apologized that the kitchen was now closed. Also the reception staff trying to take shuttle reservations does not work. Of the two times we tried to secure spots through them, one time we were completely left off the list, and the other time they did the math wrong and gave us seats that didn't exist in the shuttle. To their credit though, each time the concierge went out of their way making extra trips to try and make up for the front desk's mistakes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear LndnExpat,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear our service has not been as you may expect from us, and we did not measure up to your expectations. Your feedback has been shared with the related department and corrective measures will be taken to prevent this from happening again.
Thank you for your otherwise positive remarks regarding our overall facilities and the friendliness of our staff.

We hope to be able to welcome you in our hotel again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Nice view of the city, away from all the noise and close to the station. Ideal if you are arriving or leaving in a boat or a river cruise.
Also is close to the concert hall. Walking distance to tram station and across the street from the Amsterdam blue line river rides.

Room Tip: Can walk to town, but it will take you a few minutes, ideal if you board a cruise, is right next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear felixbb,
We are happy to read your stay with us has been a pleasant one and you appreciated the loaction, quietness and beautiful views.

Thank you again. Should you make new travelplans for visiting Amsterdam, we hope you will stay with us.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Large, modern, business hotel. Just a short walk from central station. Nice, clean (and for Amsterdam large) rooms and mine with a perfect view of the 'IJ' and parts of Amsterdam (very high hotel as well). Breakfast is not cheap but offers extensive choice and freshly prepared eggs and other choices.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear TravelPim,
Thank you very much for sharing your positive review with us. We are indeed located just a short walk from the Central Station. If your feet are tired we offer a free shuttlebus to the Central Station (advance reservation needed). We are happy you enjoyed our overall facilities, such as the beautiful views from our rooms. Good offers, including breakfast, can many times be booked through our website.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.