We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much money for nothing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Too much money for nothing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

No breakfast included in the price. The so-called "free wi-fi" had a whole procedure of installing it and when you finally did, you realised that it was not actually working. It is unacceptable for a 4-star hotel to ask you to log in every 4 hours with your credentials to access their wifi. especially if you take into account that you need 2-3 hours to connect. Rooms were big and cosy but not what you expct to see in a 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Panagiotis-Anastasia,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear our hotel and general facilities did not measure up to your expectations. With regards to having breakfast included, many times good offers including breakfast, can be found on our website.
Should you decide to stay with us again, please inform us about your WIFI being disfunctional.
This enables us to solve the problem, or provide you with another solution.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,538
    1,100
    245
    82
    40
See reviews for
449
1,392
133
443
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I'm surprised how this hotel is not 5 Stars .
very Professional services .

Reception and all the technical staff are very professional clever . they know exactly about what you are thinking , they make your stay very easy ,

very delicious food ,restaurant , very friendly . all what I can say that i deserve 5 stars category .

My next visit to I will book in this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Alex76300,
We are very happy to read your (more than!) positive feedback regarding your stay.
This is much appreciated and very motivating. Compliments have been shared within our entire team already.

Anytime you decide to stay in Amsterdam again, please book at our hotel.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is close to the train station and cruise lines. It is away from the city center but a 15 minute walk gets to the hub of city activities. A hop on hop off canal boat (blue line) stops close to the hotel and the hotel has a shuttle to the train station.
The view is amazing, the room large compared to other hotels we have stayed and very modern. A bit expensive compared to other accommodations with the same amount of time to get to the hub of activities. The bed was like a rock and it was a good thing we didn't book for more than 3 nights, folks with bad backs ask for a softer mattress. The staff overall were friendly, the service at the bar leaves alot to be desired. We had to ask for service, once to get a menu and then again to get wait on. The breakfast selection was amazing and staff very attentive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Sunshine4493,
Thank you for sharing your positive and extensive feedback with us, this is much appreciated.
We are sorry to hear about your negative experience you had in our bar, as well as the bed being too hard for you. Please be assured this has our attention and is under investigation.
We are indeed just outside the busy city center, offering beautiful views over the river "IJ".
Should you plan your next holiday, please visit our website. Many times good offers can be found here.

We hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Lovely hotel on the waterfront and near to the main train station. Got a great price through Priceline -- otherwise, quite expensive (as are all hotels in Amsterdam). Modern amenities and friendly staff. Good sized rooms and lovely views. However, it is a bit of a hike from "downtown" (15 to 20 minutes) so be prepared for some strolling. They do provide a free shuttle to the train station (where you catch trains -- obviously -- but also buses and connector to airport) so that is a plus. Not much to eat near the hotel and on site restaurant is a bit pricey. Downtown is lovely though, with all the canals and laneways -- keep yourself alert for gadzillions of cyclists !

Room Tip: All the rooms are modern and offer a panoramic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear PetBev,
We are pleased to receive your positive feedback regarding your stay. The hotel is indeed located at the river "IJ", just outside the busy city centre offering a relaxing place to stay.
Thank you for your kind words concerning our friendly staff, this is much appreciated.
Many times good offers can be found on our website.

If you decide to explore Amsterdam again (by bike?), we hope you will stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

On June 14th, I made a confirmed booking at the Movenpick for one night on September 13th. Despite the hotel confirmation, they sent me an email one week before my scheduled arrival to tell me they had overbooked and they had to cancel my confirmed reservation. They did book me into a hotel, but it was several miles away from Amsterdam and did not meet my requirements.

Clearly, this hotel does not understand the meaning of a confirmed booking. Beware if booking here and make sure you have a back up plan.

Room Tip: This hotel is isolated from the city despite the name "City Center". It is near the train...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Europe_Traveler42,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We sincerely apologize for your negative experience with regards to our hotel being overbooked. We try to minimize the inconveniences this situation brings along by contacting our guests prior to their stay, as you mention.

Hopefully we have an opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senggigi, Indonesia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you look for something modern in old city Amsterdam, then, this hotel is the answer. I stayed in Junior Suite, and although comparing with other suite rooms in Asia you can not say it's spacious, but, comparing with other European standard, then, it's quite spacious.
By staying in this room you will get free access to the Executive lounge and breakfast, and I was surprised with a very huge selection of buffet breakfast in this hotel!
You can have free shuttle to the Central Station, however, make sure to pre-book for this, as they are almost always fully booked. If not, then, you will need to walk or take the tram right in front of the hotel.
In the afternoon, if you sit in the lobby, you can have free chocolate which is hand-made by the chef, and I must say, it's a very special Swiss chocolate!

Room Tip: Take Junior Suite for additional advantage
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear cclombok,
We are happy to read your stay has been satisfactory and you appreciated the extra benefits booking a Suite includes. Our famous Mövenpick chocolate can indeed be tasted in our lobby between 5 p.m. and 6.p.m., thank you for your kind words.

Anytime you visit Amsterdam again, we look forward welcoming you in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Lovely hotel and walk to the centre was about 10 minutes. Me and my other half went in Feb and stayed 2 nights. The staff were very helpful and even put a bar of chocolate and a birthday card in our room for my birthday. The hotel was clean and we'll presented. The atmosphere in the bar area didn't seem very inviting, luckily we aren't big drinkers. Over all very nice for the price we paid.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Jade K,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay in February. We are pleased to read your stay has been enjoyable and you appreciated the small attention for your birthday.
Should you decide to stay with us again, many times good offers can be found on our website.

Thank you again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.