We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tot 30% korting
Ranked #39 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Kidderminster, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed for a week in September in an Executive room on the 20th (top) floor which had a fantastic view over the IJ towards the station. The room had very comfortable beds, plus a complimentary minibar (soft drinks and beer) and an espresso machine. The Exec package gave us access to the Executive Lounge with complimentary drinks and canapes between 5 and 7pm - great to be greeted with a glass of prosecco after a full day's walking round museums and streets. We didn't mind the walk to the station (although the hotel shuttle was very welcome with luggage) and also found some different ways back via the footbridges near Nemo. Being just away from the centre meant it was quiet. Breakfast was good, plenty of variety, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms facing the IJ give a terrific view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Carole W,
We are pleased to read your one week stay measured up (and more!) to your expectations, and you appreciated the benefits an Executive room includes (free WIFI, complimentary minibar, complimentary drinks between 5-7 pm in the Executive lounge etc..).
Besides the wonderful views, your kind words regarding our friendly and helpful staff are very motivating for us!

We hope to welcome you soon in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,136
    837
    172
    58
    31
See reviews for
331
1045
120
321
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel is right next door to the Cruise Terminal where you can board for your cruise. It is a very quiet hotel andI am not sure that I would like to walk from the tram stop to the hotel after dark alone, even though it is opposite the hotel. There is a small eatery nearby as well as the best gourmet coffee ( real stuff ) in Amsterdam.
Only the Irish/Dutch concierge was at all helpful and the others seemed reluctant to give more than a bare bones comment. That man made up for it. I noticed the other travellers seemed to ask him for help too..
The room was one of the largest and very well appointed. The decor was a little drab, but mostly I had my eyes closed.
The wireless internet was what I would call dialup speed- very, very slow
Breakfast was adequate and good.
You are only a single stop from the Central Station on this tram line and make sure that you know where to catch it on the return journey. It actually does a loop and goes back and it took me ages to find this out. I would have expected that the hotel would have had a guest booklet with helpful hints like this, but I never found one.
Incidentally, Amsterdam is very crowded and you need to watch out as there are roving gangs of East Europeans who come to snatch bags here, because the Dutch simply do not punish them. They apparently just let them go. Not a safe city like Beijing

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear johnstod,
Thank you very much for sharing your extensive travel and hotel experience with us.
I am happy to hear you find our rooms spacious and well appointed, also your kind words regarding our Irish Concierge are much appreciated. I am sorry for your inconvenience of not knowing how to get back. Our staff is more than happy to assist you.

If you decide to come back to Amsterdam, we will be happy to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iceland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed there alone for one night in . Everything about this hotel is exellent.
Beutifully furnished and good view. clean - nice people and breakfast great.
The staff was also very nice. Unfortunally I did not have time to use the Spa and Swimmingpool .
But its good to know about it next time. 0

Room Tip: I was on 17th flor and enjoyed the view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear globetrottericeland,
We are pleased to read your short stay with us has been excellent! This is very motivating for us. Thank you for your kind words regarding our furnishment, views, good breakfast and nice staff. We hope to welcome you back soon, so you can enjoy our Wellness Area (unfortunately we have no swimmingpool :)

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at the Moevenpick Hotel for 7 nights.

The hotel is very modern and has everything you would expect from a 4 star hotel. It takes about 15 minutes of a slow paced walk to get there from the central station (a straight road from the back entrance of the station. No turns, no way you'll get lost :) ). Don’t worry about the location! We didn't use the tram once! It was so much fun walking these 10-15 minutes alongside the river bank, it wasn't even an issue. If you really hate walking, the tram station is right across the street and there is a free shuttle service to the central station.

The rooms are clean and spacious. Our room was on the 8th floor and we had a beautiful view of the river. We were three friends traveling together, so one of us slept on the sofa. It was very comfortable and it was very difficult to leave the bed in the mornings ;).

There is a TV, hair-dryer, iron &ironing board, safe, fridge, kettle…
The hotel offers a very good breakfast. It was the same assortment during our stay, but the variety of the food made up for it.

Seriously, stay there! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear jenzel,
Thank you for your (more than) positive and extensive feedback with regards to your stay.
This is much appreciated and very encouraging for us. We are indeed close to the city centre, either by foot, public transport or own free shuttlebus (booking needed).
We are pleased to read you valued our overall facilities which made your stay more comfortable.

Anytime you are in Amsterdam, we hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

This was a priceline.com name your own price bid winner. The only knock against the place was it being just a bit too far of a walk from the center of town. Their gift shop sold the transit passes, so all you have to do is walk out to the stop and take the tram one stop west for Centraal train station. From here you can catch all the trans branching out to the rest of the city. The last trams to the hotel end around midnight, so if you're out on the town past then, you can take a late night bus to centraal and walk to the hotel. The walk just feels long since there are only museums and water (all desolate areas at night) in the vicinity.
The staff was very courteous and spoke a few languages. The room service was quick (ran 24 hours), offered dutch specialties, and was decently priced. Our room was on a high floor with a great view of the entire city. The bed was huge and the bathroom was both modern and gigantic.
One tip for an interesting experience...when you go to the tram stop near the hotel, walk to the west end of this area (where the city trains stop) and walk down the stairs. To your left should be a road with two tunnels under an overpass that leads to a patio restaurant and a channel where you can see the maritime museum across the water. There seemed to be aquatic and/or electronic sound patterns playing through various parts of a metal tube in the concrete of the tunnel. One of the stranger things I've experienced...and I still have no idea what it was. Definitely an eye opener at 3am.
Bottom line...great hotel if you don't mind walking a bit. Worth $100 for the quality of the rooms/experience. A 24 hour bar is not a bad thing either :).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear DukeretxaB,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your extensive and positive feedback with us.
We are pleased to learn you appreciated your stay, and our overall facilities, such as our Roomservice. To answer your question regarding the "music pattern" you hear when walking through the tunnel, this is created to prevent people from sleeping and hanging around at night.. the noise can be annoying!

If you decide to further explore Amsterdam on your next visit, we hope you will stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a very nice 4 star hotel with spacious, modern rooms, and excellent service; but, it is NOT in Amsterdam Centrum. This hotel is located on the river about a 15 minute walk to the central train station where Centum begins. If you want to go deep into Centrum, it may take you 30 or 45 minutes to get to where you want to go. Taxis are readily available at the hotel but are expensive to get anywhere because Centrum has many pedestrian only streets. This would be a great business hotel or for someone that has already seen Centrum and wants to go on one of the many riverboat cruises that port adjacent to this property. One last thing, do NOT order room service after hours as you will receive expensive sandwiches from an automat.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor facing the train station so you can tell how far you have to walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear ahretirement,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It is correct we are just outside the busy city centre, aiming to be a quiet place to stay. Besides the taxi and the well organised public transport, we also offer a free shuttle bus to the Central Station (advance booking needed).
We apologize if the room service did not measure up to your expectations.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in this great hotel. It is ultra modern with fantastic views over the harbour and Amsterdam. We asked for rooms near the top and facing the station. They gave us 2 rooms on the 18th floor overlooking where the canal cruise ships dock and beside the terminal for the huge ships. The rooms were spacious, very comfortable with huge china baths, large towels and toiletries. There is no mini bar but a wonderful big fridge for water wine, food etc. Breakfasts were unbelievable so much choice and excellent staff. The concierge service is excellent and museums could be booked and paid for through this service as well as tram tickets and cruises. A shuttle bus , free, operates twice an hour to the station, the hub of everything.
Using the tram is only one stop to the centre. A great hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms near the top and facing the station
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear blondie 13,
We are happy to read your stay has been a pleasant one, and you valued our spacious rooms with a beautiful view over the river "IJ", as well as our overall facilities. Thank you for your compliments regarding our Concierge staff, this is much appreciated!

Anytime you are in Amsterdam again, we look forward welcoming you in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.