We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Movenpick Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 30%
Ranked #40 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Movenpick Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just returned from a short break staying in this hotel for 3 nights. As mentioned in previous reviews the hotel is not right in the centre but we did not find a problem with this as it is just 1 tram stop to central station where you can either walk or pick up another tram to take you to other areas in Amsterdam ( the tram stop is right opposite the entrance , tram 26 ).
The room had a excellent view with the cruise ships pulling in directly next to the hotel ( 12th floor ).The beds were the comfiest beds we have had in a hotel , the room was lovely with a nice bathroom ,comfy sofa ,good hairdryer ,TV ,ironing board/iron and a kettle tea & coffee facilities.
We didn't have the breakfast option but if you get the tram to central station and go into the tourist information office there is a café downstairs that did a lovely breakfast of fried egg,,
cheese ,ham , bread butter ,jam and a raison roll for 6.50 Euros. We did have a drink in the silk bar 1 afternoon and received excellent friendly service from the barman.
If we came to Amsterdam again I would not hesitate to stay at the Movenpick again and would recommend to friends .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Ajrawly,
Thank you very much for your (more than) positive and extensive review regarding your stay with us. We are pleased to learn your stay measured up to your expectations, and you appreciated our overall facilities. This is very motivating for us.

Should you decide to visit Amsterdam again, we hope to welcome you back in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,217
    892
    199
    63
    34
See reviews for
361
1,127
123
339
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel is next door to the cruise ship docks in Amsterdam so if you are flying in the day before, it is a great place to stay. Not too much in the immediate vicinity but the tram takes you to the nearby downtown area. Location is on the water and if you are lucky you get a room overlooking the docks. We got to watch our boat come in and start the loading process. Club room upgrade was worth it for us. We were able to check in early (may have been luck) and get some drinks in the late morning. Later afternoon snacks and wine/beer were very nice. Rooms are nicely laid out. All in all, a place we will return to if we are cruising out of Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear tusenkatts,
We hope you had a pleasant cruise trip and like to thank you for your positive feedback.
We are happy to learn you enjoyed the benifits an upgrade to a Suite includes, as well as the beautiful views from our rooms.

If you visit Amsterdam again, we hope you will stay with us.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of a tour party.
The hotel is new, modern, clean and very well located on the harbour at the top of Amsterdam City.
The room was comfortable, well appointed and they even had a personal welcome on the TV screen when we arrived.
An easy walk into the main town

Room Tip: We had a room with a view back down the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear djbt,
We are happy to read your stay has been pleasant and you appreciated the personal welcome upon arrival. The hotel is indeed located at a walkable distance from the busy city centre.
In case your feet are tired, let our free shuttle bus take you to teh Central Station (please book in advance).

We look forward welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Used this hotel as a base for a five day break in Amsterdam. It is a very pleasant, very modern hotel on the waterfront just less than a kilometre from Amsterdam Centraal station. Rooms are a decent size with all the amenities you would expect. Admittedly the free wifi is a bit of a faff in we found we needed to get a new ID and password everytime we need to log on and it was also fairly slow.

Although we ate in the bar the first night and enjoyed it, we chose to eat breakfast out as the hotel price of 23 euros per person seemed a bit steep to us. We found a couple of excellent independent breakfast places frequented by locals where you could get a really tasty and very filling full English breakfast or large filled omelettes for under 12 euros. We did have breakfast in the hotel restaurant on the last day as we did not have the time to go out before catching our plane. The breakfast buffet was certainly very extensive but the food was nowhere near as tasty as the cheaper alternatives we had found.

Overall though, we had a very pleasant stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor waterfront room if you want to avoid your view being blocked by cruise ships a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Saint100,
Thank you for sharing your positive and extensive feedback regarding your 5 day stay, this is much appreciated. Your feedback is very motivating for us. I have read your comment with regards to our breakfast prices, good offers can often be found on our website.
Should you decide to visit Amsterdam in a near future, we hope you will choose us again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

With its location right at the waterfront a few stonethrows away from busy Amsterdam Centraal station, this hotel mixes in as one of the new-built blocks and modern-style houses, offering trendy cafes and some treats of architecture. The view over the city is good too, and the noise from the railway is ignorable. It takes 10-15 minutes to reach the city centre by foot, and we discovered a nice path almost free from car traffic: Cross under Peit Heinkade, then walk over a little pedestrian bridge (don't miss the folksy pub/cafe next to the brigde!) and then follow Oesterdokseiland westwards to the Oesterdokskade bridge, and across to the city. The hotel is modern and stylish in every sense of the word, with friendly staff and impeccable service, plus a very convenient location for those travelling by train. We are likely to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Herolden,
We are pleased to learn your stay has been enjoyable and you explored the surroundings of our location. We are indeed at a walkable distance form the busy city centre, and besides the public transport our free shuttle bus can take you to the Central Station (advance booking needed). Your kind words regarding the friendliness and service of our staff are encouraging for us.

Anytime you plan to visit us again, please conatct us directly.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here on a 3 day break with friends. Staff very friendly and helpful. It is a small walk into city centre which is ok if not raining. Shuttle bus goes to central station through out day but must be booked in advance unfortunately it stops at 7.30. Place very clean. We did use sauna facilities which was lovely they have a relax room where you can cool down after sauna.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear LittlemsmeBelfast,
We are pleased to learn your 3 day stay with your friends has been a pleasant one.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our helpful and friendly staff, our overall facilities and our Welness area. You might be interested to know our shuttlebus drives till 9.00 pm on Friday and Saturday now.

Thank you again,

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a pretty new hotel in a re-developed area of Amsterdam. If you are looking for something bang in the centre, this is not it. I spend a lot of time in Amsterdam, mainly for work, so know it pretty well. As nice accommodation in Amsterdam though, this is fine. You just need to weigh the distance from everything against price, time, etc.

As a newish hotel I thought the rooms, lobby, and gym were all of a good quality. My room was spacious and even had a sofa under the window. I was disappointed with the wi-fi. Either charge and give good quality or make it free and give good quality. Crappy free wi-fi is not the way to go.

Despite some of the reviews, this is not a central hotel. It is a solid 10-15 walk to the central station (and I walk like a New Yorker), but it does have the #26 tram right in front, which is one stop to the the central station. To get to the Museumplein, Leidseplein, RLD, or places like that, you are at least 30 minutes away by public transport. There is also a taxi stand right in front.

Another alternative nearby this hotel is a brand new Doubletree that also has a Starbucks, if you are into that kind of thing, on the ground floor instead of ever more Douwe Eberts. To be more central in a similarly priced chain hotel, I'd look toward the Radisson Blu in the centre or one of the other chain hotels around the Leidseplein.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Andrew F,
Thank you very much for sharing your extensive feedback with us. We are, as you say, located just outside the busy city centre. Besides the public transport we also offer a free shuttlebus to the Central Station (advance booking needed). We are happy to hear your stay was a pleasant one, and apologize for the WIFI being disfunctional, please be assured this has our attention.

We hope to welcome you again in the future, either for business or leisure purposes.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.