We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel, at a nice spot, almost central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 30%
Ranked #40 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oeiras, Portugal
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
286 helpful votes 286 helpful votes
“New hotel, at a nice spot, almost central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam is located at the harbor, walking distance from central station and city center. Good areas, nice service, good restaurants. overall, this is a Very good option in Amsterdam

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Miguel2770,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to learn your stay has been satisfactory and you appreciated our overall facilities.

Next time you visit Amsterdam, please stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,281
    917
    209
    68
    35
See reviews for
369
1,168
126
366
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

A lovely 4* Hotel. Rooms basic but clean. Bathroom lovely and spacious but a little hiccup - frosted glass door with no lock!!!!! 10 minute walk from City Centre & Central Station, which is nice to be away from the hustle and bustle. Staff friendly and helpful. Bar a little expensive but nice to relax in after a long day of walking around the City. Great views of the canal from our room. Bike hire near by. Would certainly recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear KayJay5565,
We are pleased to learn your stay has been enjoyable with us, and you appreciated the quiet location of our hotel (good views!) and the overall facilities.
Anytime you decide to visit Amsterdam again, we look forward welcoming you.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakisland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

You only need walk two minutes to enter the cruise terminal. And, across the street you can board the tram transport system. The central station is the first stop on the tram. You can easily walk to the city highlights from central station. But, be prepared to pay over $300 per night. Some deals might be available, but do your research. The hotel is professionally run and the staff is generally helpful. The rooms are standard hotel rooms. The hotel is right on the waterway atop the cruise dock. Most rooms have great views. English is widely spoken around the city. Best deal is to buy an unlimited day pass for the tram. The fare 7.5 euros for the day pass. If you use the tram more than three boardings, you will save money. The hotel offers an excellent but pricey morning buffet.
The only close alternative is the subway about a block distant. The hotel accommodated our early checking request at 1pm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear jimOakisland,
Thank you for sharing your hotel experience with us, this is much appreciated.
We are pleased to read your stay was pleasant with us and you valued our location just outside the busy city centre. Besides the good public connections we also offer a free shuttle bus to the Central Station (please make advanced booking).
Good room offers, including breakfast, can often be found on our website.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Many reviews are negative due to the hotels location. WHY? 10 minutes walk to central station or
2 mins to the nearest tram stop. Location is perfect with views of the city or IJ river. Stayed in an executive room on higher floors, well worth the upgrade for views alone. Bonus of the executive lounge 'happy 2 hours' with complimentary snacks, soft drinks, beer and wine. I could not fault this hotel, from the front desk to the waiting staff, nothing is too much trouble.
Rooms are large and comfortable and CLEAN. Have recommended this hotel to many friends, all come back with a positive review.

Room Tip: High floor executive rooms for views and xtras
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear wales2g0,
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us, this is much appreciated.
We are indeed located just outside the busy city centre, but well connected by all means of transportation (like our free shuttle bus to the Central Station, advance booking required).
Your kind and friendly words regarding our staff and facilities are very motivating for us.

Anytime you decide to visit Amsterdam again, we hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Good hotel, close to the station but towards the north, which means a bit more quiet. It's right over the grand canal, so very nice views. Comfortable room, clean and pleasant, although not too cosy (seems more suited to a business trip than tourism).
Not sure what standard price is, we found a very good deal so took the chance. Recommend you rent a bike downtown and use it to get to the hotel, it takes a few minutes and you avoid the tram or a rather long walk from the city center.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the top floors so the view is better. Check where the view is when you make the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Frozegol,
Thank you for informing us regarding your stay in our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the location of our hotel, as well as our quiet and clean rooms. Should you decide to stay with us again, please have a look on our website.

We look forward welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel lobby and rooms had simple designs yet were very modern, comfortable and clean. The room was extremely spacious, fully equipped with toiletries and an electric pot with complimentary instant tea or coffee. I consider the room one of the best I've stayed in for European standards. The breakfast buffet was also one of the best I've had in Europe. A variety of scruptious pastries, hot and cold dishes and wonderful fresh fruits. The hotel staff provided excellent service and were super friendly. I had free wifi in my room which could rarely be connected to. I ended up going to the lobby or hotel's restaurant to hook up to wifi. The hotel's location is in a rather quiet area close to the ship cruise area. There were no convenient stores nearby but central station was visible within a 10-15 minute walk and a short card ride to dam square.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear JuneBeen,
We are happy to read your extensive and (more than) positive feedback regarding your stay, service and overall facilities.
This is much appreciated, and very encouraging to us.

Should you plan your next visit to Amsterdam, we look forward welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Excellent hotel located close to the city centre with fantastic panoramic views across the city skyline.
Huge choice of breakfast and very relaxed atmosphere with a cruise ship along the side of the hotel for a view.
An early check in option would be nice as arriving at 11am would have loved to be able to get into our room, shower and change and enjoy the whole day in Amsterdam.
Room was very comfortable and everything we expected.
Car parking very expensive in comparison to other major city centre hotels we've stayed in but we were only staying 24hrs and really needed the convenience to optimise our stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
DearRuthiec007,
We are happy to read your positive feedback with regards to your short stay with us.
Indeed we are located close to the city centre offering a relaxing place to stay, while enjoying the spectacular views over the river "IJ". After having a good breakfast you are ready to explore the city of Amsterdam.

Anytime your travelplans bring you back, please stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.