We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“24hrs In Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 30%
Ranked #41 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
North East England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“24hrs In Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Excellent hotel located close to the city centre with fantastic panoramic views across the city skyline.
Huge choice of breakfast and very relaxed atmosphere with a cruise ship along the side of the hotel for a view.
An early check in option would be nice as arriving at 11am would have loved to be able to get into our room, shower and change and enjoy the whole day in Amsterdam.
Room was very comfortable and everything we expected.
Car parking very expensive in comparison to other major city centre hotels we've stayed in but we were only staying 24hrs and really needed the convenience to optimise our stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
DearRuthiec007,
We are happy to read your positive feedback with regards to your short stay with us.
Indeed we are located close to the city centre offering a relaxing place to stay, while enjoying the spectacular views over the river "IJ". After having a good breakfast you are ready to explore the city of Amsterdam.

Anytime your travelplans bring you back, please stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    921
    209
    68
    35
See reviews for
369
1,173
126
366
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Three days in Amsterdam in a quiet place near Central station and ship cruise hub. Services and facilities was adequate to the four stars hotel. Breakfast was great. Every morning menu changed also with local products.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Renato C,
We are happy to read you enjoyed your 3 day stay with us and apprecaited our quiet location and extensive breakfast buffet.

Next time you are in Amsterdam, we look forward welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the Moevenpick the day before we got on a river cruise. We arrived at 8 a.m. and when our room wasn't ready, the reception staff gave us a key for the fitness center so we could take showers. Once the room was ready, the bell staff brought our luggage to the room immediately. The room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. We were able to get some quality sleep to recover from jet lag.

The hotel is just a bit outside of the walking area downtown, but it is easy to catch Tram 26 to the Central Station, to walk, or to get the hotel shuttle. A nice benefit is the convenience to the dock area for the river cruises. We were able to see the ship and could easily get on board from the hotel, without any additional vehicles. The hotel has a good relationship with Viking River Cruises (the cruise we were meeting) and is geared for the before or after cruise travelers.

Our only suggestions - provide the shuttle to Central Station more often than every half hour. Also, provide better information about the shuttle. When we wanted to catch it, all of the spots were taken. If offered more often, maybe reservations wouldn't be as precious. The tram is convenient though - very easy.

All in all, though, we enjoyed our brief stay at the Moevenpick. One other nice convenience - very close to a nice restaurant - Fifteen Amsterdam - well worth the visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear kayaksnorkel,
We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations (and more!). The hotel is indeed an excellent starting point when travelling by cruise, or simply to enjoy the quietness and beautiful views our hotel has to offer.
If you decide to rediscover Amsterdam in the future, we look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I spent a week in this hotel. It was lovely, with modern rooms and comfy beds. We also lucked out with a nice view of the channel. The restaurant was not cheap, but the service and food were excellent. The downstairs pub also had some good food with nightly specials. The staff and concierge were very helpful, friendly and ran a shuttle to the central train station nearby. It was also very easy to catch the local train to and from central station, actually only one stop away from the hotel. we took our daily side trips to Harlem and elsewhere quite easily. Most of your day trips are quite easily done by train, so this was a perfect place for us without being in any downtown noise.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear valentravels,
We are happy to read your stay was (more than) enjoyable with us, and you appreciated our facilities and the friendliness of our staff. Our location is, as you say, just outside the busy city centre, but well connected by different means of transport.

Next time you are in Amsterdam, we look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the Moevenpick in April this year, managed to get executive rooms at a bargain price which meant use of the executive lounge (free drinks and nibbles in the evenings) which were greatly appreciated and very tasty! Quite possibly the best breakfast I have ever had, great variety hot and cold food buffet, worth staying just for the breakfast.
The hotel is a bit of a walk out of the centre but as a family we love walking so this wasn't a problem for us.
The rooms were a good size, very modern and great views and the bathrooms were very nicely appointed with exceptionally nice toiletries.

I would stay at the Moevenpick hotels in the future but only if I got another good deal as it is a bit pricey otherwise.

Room Tip: Go for executive if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Dresm,
We are pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciated the extras an Executive room includes, such as the spectaculair room views, extensive breakfast and drinks/snacks in the Executive Lounge.
Should you plan to visit Amsterdam again, please look on our website for special deals.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A nice hotel, but quite a good walk from town with nothing near it. Although a shuttle bus is provided you must make a reservation to board it. Sometimes you just don't know exactly what time you will be leaving in the morning.
Staff were all very nice, nothing exceptional. I was a bit perturbed at checkout when I was charged $25 for a charger for my phone. If it were a new charger I would understand, but it was pulled out of a drawer where dozens of other chargers, obviously left by other guests, were held. I was not told I was going to be charged. Had I known, I would not have packed it away. We were leaving on a river cruise and our luggage had already been picked up. I wouldnot recommend or stay at this hotel again simply because of it's location

Room Tip: Find a hotel more centrally located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear queen2king,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, this is much appreciated. We are sorry to hear our location did not measure up to your expectations. Our hotel offers, as you indicate, a free shuttle bus to the Central Station and runs every 30 minutes. (advance booking needed).
The chargers are a service to our guests, as where the €25,- is a deposit. Once returned it will be deducted from your bill.

We hope you enjoyed the rivercruise and look forward seeying you again.

KInd regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The check in and out process was very fast with the friendly counter staff. English is spoken by all of the staff that we spoke with. I had called the hotel months before arriving to request that our 2 rooms be side by side, but they ended up being across the hall from each other. We used the complimentary shuttle service from Centraal Station to the hotel. Borrowed a power converter to charge our electronics, but you have to return it to the front counter upon check out. The concierge was very helpful.

The room had a mini fridge and iron and board. The bathroom had a swing door to it which did not lock, but it was very spacious.

The hotel is about a 10 min walk from Centraal Station and we made that roundtrip 3 times over 2 days. Watch out for bikes and scooters.

They do provide a baggage transfer for cruise passengers, but I didnt not find out about it until after we had checked out. We saw a lot of cruise passengers pull their luggage from the terminal towards the train station.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.