We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, Amsterdam BR 1019, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Tot 30% korting
Ranked #38 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Brighton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed at the Moevenpick hotel in Amsterdam for three nights with my partner at the end of August and we were both very impressed with the levels of customer service. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Centraal Station in the quiet Eastern Docklands area, but the number 26 tram stops outside if you don't fancy the walk, the area doesn't have much in the way of bars or restaurants but is much quieter than the centre which was a positive for us. The higher floors of the hotel have beautiful views and are very spacious for Amsterdam, with a sofa, modern bathroom, HD TV etc. Throughout our stay the staff at the hotel were helpful, courteous and friendly, sorting out any issues immediately (supplying an anti allergy pillow at 11 pm in a matter of minutes). The room was well cleaned daily, by non obtrusive housekeeping staff (no banging on the door at 8 am!), the beds were extremely comfortable and there was no issue with noise at all. There is a fridge in the room, along with a kettle, so you can choose how you manage breakfast (the hotel breakfast is expensive, but I understand that it is very good from other hotel guests). Overall a very enjoyable stay and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: The higher floors have beautiful views, try to book a hotel rate which includes breakfast to avoid p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear KarenManghan,
Thank you very much for your (more than) positive and extensive feedback regarding your stay with us. It motivates us to hear you appreciated the service of our staff, including our overall facilities.
If you decide to visit Amsterdam again in the future, we look forward welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,210
    873
    181
    62
    38
See reviews for
321
1016
119
320
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fallbrook, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in many hotels around the world but the Moevenpick Hotel is one that deserves our feedback. We stayed for eight days and had a room on the 19th floor with outstanding views of the harbor and the city. The room was very well appointed, clean and quiet. The one thing that stood out that made our stay so enjoyable was the staff of the Moevenpick. They were extremely helpful, attentive, courteous and friendly. They made you feel like you were part of their family. The hotel is located by the cruise ship terminal and concert hall, and each day we used the hotel shuttle or tram #26 across the street to get to the train station or into the central district of Amsterdam. Each morning we had breakfast at the hotel which had a outstanding selection of food items. Our hotel package included a complimentary hospitality room which offered food and drinks each night and was a wonderful way to wind down from a busy day. If you go, make sure to try the Moevenpick chocolates that are offered in the afternoons in the lobby! When we come back to Amsterdam, we will definitely be staying at the Moevenpick Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Fred d,
Thank you very much for your kind and friendly feedback with regards to your stay with us.
We are happy to read you have enjoyed your stay, and valued the service and friendliness of our staff. This is encouraging for us.
Should you decide to stay with us again, please let us know.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLANDUDNO
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights last week. Totally impressed from the minute we walked in to when we checked out 3 days later. As covered in the vast majority of previous reviews, we found the staff very professional and efficient. Room (1114) had views towards Centraal Station and City Centre, really pleasant and probably one of the best views we've ever had. We took breakfast, which offered a wide a choice of fare (smoked fish, olives, various fresh pastries, 'english' style hot food, etc etc etc), again very enjoyable, tip - €15 if prebooked before arrival, rather than €23 upon arrival. Really good value at the lower price. Room was modern and has all that one would expect, but was no more than standard 4*. Very impressed with security, not just consierge next to the main entrance, but lifts can only be operated by using your room card in order to select the floor level. It is about 10 mins walk fron Centraal Station, pretty on the flat all the way. Once at CS then you're in the thick of it. Amsterdam is very busy and loud, our view in hindsight, is that the Moevenpick is actually well placed, no outside noise and disturbance, which surely must be an issue for some city centre hotel guests.
Overall, we loved this hotel and definately recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear MGSF-PB,
We are happy to read your stay was (more than) enjoyable with us, and you appreciated our facilities such as our extensive and varied breakfast buffet.
Our location is, as you say, just outside the busy and noisy city centre, but well connected by different means of transport.

We look forward welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise,AZ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here for two nights prior to a river boat cruise. This is a great hotel with excellent service and amenities. Had a very nice room on the 15th floor with an outstanding wide-open view of the canal waters! Very clean. I thought it was a good location, very close to the cruise ship docks. We used the hotel shuttle to get to the central station or used taxis into the central district. Bathroom was a bit small, but neat and tidy. The shower has no door, which I normally do not mind, but this one allowed the water to somewhat spray out onto the bath mat. But that's nothing serious. Breakfast included was very good with a wide variety of choices. Highly recommend the Movenpick and would certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: Higher floors 15-20 have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear AZSWtraveler,
We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us prior to your river cruise.
The hotel is a good start or ending point for your boat cruise, located on the quiet banks of the river "IJ", with beautiful views.

Next time you visit Amsterdam, please stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a little way from Central Station and not ideal if not fully mobile. Having said that we made use of the free half hourly shuttle bus to central station which you simply need to book with the concierge. There is also a tram no 26 which stops right outside the hotel and is one stop to central station. You can also hire bikes directly outside the hotel. Room was executive 20th floor and has the best view in amsterdam looking right up the ij. We used the silk restaurant twice and had brilliant service and the food was excellent however they did blot their copybook the third night as we were seated but left some time without even being offered a drink even though people coming in after us were served. Granted they were busy but it upset my wife so much we left and ate elsewhere. Overall a great stay and the staff were very attentive and determined to help.



Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Andy W,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our overall facilities. Otherwise we apologzie for the unpleasant experience in our Restaurant, this has our highest attention and will be investigated within the related teams.

Should you decide to stay with us again, please contact us directly.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Dont be fooled by its close proximity on the map to centraal station, because it is a very long and painful walk. While the hotel offers everything else at a high standard the location is simply its Achilles heels. There is no public transportation system linked to the hotel, and its too close to the city center that even taxis would refuse to take you there, and that becomes a big burden after the first night. I have stayed there for 4 nights and when I asked the front desk if there was a shuttle or a bus or a tram connected to the centraal station they simply shrugged it off and told me there is a shuttle services but only when checking out and leaving.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Mansour G,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear the location of our hotel and your stay did not measure up to your expectations. The hotel is indeed located just outside of the city centre, but well connected by all means of transport (tram 26), our free shuttle service (booking needed), the tuk tuks etc.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, Amsterdam BR 1019, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Occupancy Marketing, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.