We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Savings up to 30%
Ranked #45 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Top class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was the best hotel I have ever stayed in! The hotel was lovely and the rooms were immaculate. The service from the staff was brilliant and I could not ask for anything more! They were so friendly and helpful and one of the staff helped us to find a Hard Rock Cafe on the internet. If I visit Amsterdam again I will be staying here for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Ladybirdx86,
We are happy to read your stay has been satisfactory and you appreciated the friendliness of our staff, and our overall facilities.

We look forward welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,619
    1,151
    255
    86
    41
See reviews for
483
1,458
137
462
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed three nights B&B. From the friendly greeting at the front desk to the great views over the river from our seventh floor room to the buffet breakfasts every bit of our stay was a pleasure. We ate out at restaurants in the city but decided to eat at the Movenpick silk restaurant for our last night as we had guests meeting us. Plenty to choose from but We all went with the set menu at 37 euros each and i can honestly say it was one of the best restaurant fare we have had and not a lot dearer than the run of the mill city restaurants. We will stay here again when visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Raymond S,
Thank you for sharing your (more than) positive feedback with us regarding your stay. I am pleased to read the food at our Silk Restaurant measured up to your expectations and above.

Next time you visit Amsterdam, we hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Suisse
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed at the Mövenpick Amsterdam for 4 nights early August and enjoyed every minute of it.

From the warm welcome at Front Office to the excellent service both at breakfast and while enjoying dinner, everything was excellent ! Moreover, the superb room on the 19th floor permits exceptional views over the city.

The staff friendliness, the feeling of being looked after and the city atmosphere made our stay an exceptional one. The closeness of the train station as well as the city center only minutes away was also very convenient.

I can only recommand this hotel when you are staying in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Executive Floors are a MUST
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear J-MB1966,
Thank you for your (more than) positive and extensive comments regarding your stay.
We are happy to read your stay has been pleasant with us, and you appreciated the service of our staff, as well as our facilities. Your feedback is encouraging for us.

Should you decide to visit Amsterdam again, we look forward welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed one night prior to a cruise. Took the train from schipol to central station. It is walk able even with a suitcase (wheeled). I did it and saw many others do it as well. It is also walk able to the city center. The staff were very friendly and helpful with directions. The room was small by US standards ( junior suite ) but well equipped and very quiet. Breakfast and wifi were included with the rate. Gym is small and not well equipped. The cruise terminal is directly next to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear KLHUsa,
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us, this is much appreciated.
We are pleased you enjoyed the benefits which include an upgrade to a Junior Suite.
The hotel is indeed in a walkable distance from the Central Station. We also offer a free shuttle service to the Central Station (advance reservation needed).

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed there twice in the last few weeks, before and after our holiday cruise. We had the good fortune of having an upgrade applied to an executive suite. Both rooms were excellent. Very well appointed, spotless, quiet and roomy. The hotel is located right at the cruise wharf, and it is very close to the #26 tram line, which goes directly to the central train station in Amsterdam. The hotel restaurant and breakfast are excellent in food quality and selection. The service and concierge staff were unfailingly polite, helpful and efficient. The only thing that we found odd was the bed sheets in the second suite, which were split in half. The king bed appeared to have two custom sets of half sheets. Fine, just unusual. This would be my absolute first recommendation for anyone wanting an excellent hotel in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear gmdalberta,
We hope you had a pleasant boat trip and are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are indeed located just outside the city area, but well connected by different means of transport. A perfect start after your cruise, or just to enjoy the activities the city of Amsterdam has to offer.

We look forward welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The room was ok but the sofa bed was uncomfortable.the bathroom door is iced glass and cannot be locked. The staff was helpful and friendly. Our room had a canal view which we liked a lot. There is a kettle,a big iron table and an iron in the room:)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Ela G,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your stay. We are pleased to read you appreciated the facilities and the service of our staff. We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us.

Should you decide to choose our hotel for your next stay, please let us know.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel is located in the main port which makes it very good choice if you are about to board on a ship.besides it's very clean the views are fantastic and the staff very hospitable.the restaurant though it needs to improve the menu and the staff needs a bit of training.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Anna G,
We are happy to read your stay was satisfactory with us, and you appreciated the views, location and friendliness of our staff. The hotel is a good start before or after taking a cruise, or simply to explore the city of Amsterdam.

Please visit us again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#36 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,299 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#22 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.