We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Be my Valentine
Ranked #45 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Crevoladossola, Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed in this hotel during fall 2012 and I was impressed. In Amsterdam it's easy to find bad andEverything was perfect. The room was clean and everything was extremely comfortable.
The view from my room was breathtaking. I really suggest it to everyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Rospina88,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your stay last fall 2012.
We are pleased to read your stay met up to your expectations and you were impressed by the cleanliness and views of our rooms.
Please visit us again, maybe in summer? We look forward welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

A clean modern contemporary hotel away from the bussel of the City, but within very easy reach. We did a 3 night stay with our 2 teenage children. We got upgraded to the 19th floor, though room was next to the lift, we didn't find the noise obtrusive. The staff are very friendly and the overall service was very good. The breakfast is pricey, but there is a lot to choose from, so you can start the day full. Had dinner on our last day in the Silk bar, which was also very good. However, when we left I did spot a little Cafe offering breakfasts to the right of the hotel. Tram 26 stops just over the road if you don't want to stroll to the centre. There is also a bike hire shop in the underground car park.
Would happily recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank ChrisAndOthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear ChrisAndOthers,
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us concerning your familytrip with us.
We are happy to read you and your family had a pleasant stay with us, and you appreciated our rooms, facilities and quietness.
Please inform us when you make new travel plans. We will be happy to see you again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is an absolutely superb hotel. The rooms are excellent, the service is world class, the breakfast is above and beyond. We stayed for four days and had no negative issues whatsoever with the hotel. Every request was quickly accommodated.

Upon arrival, we did choose to upgrade to the Executive level at an additional cost: this level included breakfast and internet, and was worth the reasonable extra price. The package was still one of the better values around for a hotel of this class.

This hotel is very convenient if you are boarding a cruise for the next stage of your trip. However if you are planning on enjoying some days in town, it is a ten minute walk to the central station area, where trams are plentiful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side tend to get a little hot in the middle of summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Eran G,
Thank you for your (more than) positive and extensive remarks regarding your stay with us.
We are happy to know you appreciated the benefits belonging to your upgrade, the rooms and our service.

If your travel plans bring you back to Amsterdam, please contact us for your next stay.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holtsville, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Hotel was in a great place for ending our river cruise. Hotel was a 5/10 minute walk from dock. Room was spacious and very quite. We were on 14th floor and had great view of River. Close walk to train center and connections to trams.Room was very spacious and clean.It was the perfect place for us . The staff was very friendly and could not do enough to provide great service.

Room Tip: Asked for room with a view of the River. Had a perfect room on the 14th floor with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank kenmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear kenmit,
We are pleased to hear you spent some relaxed days at our hotel after ending your river cruise.
Indeed, we are located just outside the citycenter, but well connected by different means of transport, and not to forget our own shuttlebus (advance booking recommended).

We look forward welcoming you again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Deutschland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Got to stay at Mövenpick Amsterdam by making use of some frequent flyer miles so we didn't pay the full price. The stay was great, the hotel has a really nice atmosphere, the staff is very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was a little bit crowded sometimes but very good. Be sure to try out the nice Spa Area!

Room Tip: Rooms in the upper floor provide a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kayman2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Kayman2506,
We are pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciated the nice atmosphere. Your comments regarding the friendliness of our staff are encouraging!

Should you decide to stay with us again, please contact us directly.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We returned to the hotel for the second time with our 3 children. We booked one night before cruise with Hotels.com. We made the reservation months in advance and asked to have two rooms with a connecting door. When arrived the hotel at about 10pm we were told that we don't have rooms with connecting door because we didn't ask for that and they will try to put us in the same floor. I showed the lady at the reception the reservation with a clear request for a connecting door. All she and her supervisor had to say is the very annoying sentence: "we are sorry for the inconvenience". They suggested that next time we should make the reservation directly with the hotel and not through Hotels.com. They didn't show any empathy or tried to do anything to assist. Well, I have no intention to return to this hotel ever.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Avi911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Avi911,
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We sincerely apologise for the negative experience you had with us during your stay. Please be assured we take this serious and will be further investigated to prevent this from happening again.

Should you reconsider visiting us again, please contact us immediately.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Conveniently located and with high quality all through. Less than 10 min walk to city centre. Nice sorroundings in a developed harbour area. Easy public transportation available. Nice restaurant in hotel.

Room Tip: any room at the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank JPBergkvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear JP Bergkvist,

Thank you for sharing your travel experience with us regarding your stay at The Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our quiet location and appreciated our facilities.

We look forward to see you again next time.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#34 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,790 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 415 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#49 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com, EasyToBook and DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing