We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very modern and only a 15-25 minute walk to the center of Amsterdam (give or take depending on your walking speed). It is located on the harbor and has some nice views. The hotel is very modern and the rooms extremely clean and well appointed. You can rent bikes right at the hotel. Services are excellent and breakfast (buffet) is excellent. This is a high-rise hotel unlike the more quaint hotels located in the city center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Don49680,
Thank you for your compliments about our hotel. We are happy you had a pleasant stay with us.
Indeed, we are located just outside the busy city centre in a new and upcoming area at the banks of the river IJ.

We do provide several alternatives to reach the city centre easily: free shuttle service (advance booking required); public transport (one tramstop to the Central Station) and even by Tuk Tuk.

Please visit us again next time you travel to Amsterdam.

Kind Regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,428
    1,035
    223
    77
    39
See reviews for
415
1,302
129
405
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Moevenpick hotel is very clean and comfortable, proper beds, enough pillows and the more expensive rooms have a great view.
Very convenient location; either a 12 minute walk from Centraal Station, a few minutes on tram 26 (you can buy tickets on the tram) or there's a hotel shuttle (you have to book in advance).
Very impressive breakfast, several options on everything and the waiting staff are wonderful, a real asset to this establishment.
Free WiFi in the rooms, very much appreciated.
We did not use the restaurant, but I understand it has a great view across the water.
Very close to the Chinese floating restaurant.
We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room right next to the lifts as you can hear them all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear JulieMSurrey,
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay. We are pleased that you appreciated the room and enjoyed the breakfast.. We will make sure to pass your compliments to our staff for encouragement.
My apologies for the noise of the elevators next to your room.
Of course, you are welcome to stay with us again next time you travel to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stay in this hotel, you will NOT be dissapointed, I promise you. The rooms are excellent, so clean, with NOTHING too much trouble . The staff are the BEST EVER. Theyre so polite and helpfull. Weve stayed in 5 star hotels the world over, and theyve come NO WHERE near the facilities and especially the staff of this hotel. Thank you so much Movenpick staff for looking after us, we really appreciated it, and will see you all soon. From kathryn and paul smith, room 1825.

Room Tip: the higher the room floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear kathryn83,
We appreciate your (more than) positive comments regarding your recent stay with us.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our rooms and facilities, and the politeness and service of our staff. Your feedback is encouraging to us.
We will be happy to welcome you back next time you travel to Holland.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights before heading on a cruise with Celebrity. It worked out very well. The hotel was very modern and had good facilities. The restaurant was very good if a bit pricy. We liked the fact that you were on the waterfront where there were nice bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. It was also easy to go into the centre from the nearby tram stop. One our last day before boarding the ship, we took a canal tour which we were able to start for just beside the hotel. And as it was a hop on hop off boat, we could visit all of the major tourist attractions.

Room Tip: We had a high room with lovely views. The check in staff asked if we were happy to be close to the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Carolinagmax,
We hope you had a pleasant boat tour with Celebrity cruises and we are happy you stayed in our hotel. Thank you for your positive feedback with regards to our hotel, facilities and location.
This kind of feedback is much appreciated.
If your next travelplans bring you here again, we look forward welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

First, lets get the bad part of the review out of the way. Despite the name, the hotel is about a 15 to 20 minute walk (or 5 minute cab ride) from the heart of Amsterdam. In fact, it is located in a no-mans-land area where there is literally nothing to see or do without a 15 minute walk or cab ride. Although the hotel has a shuttle, it has to be booked a day in advance. I kind of felt trapped when I was there.

The good: The hotel itself is beautiful. Very modern, decent staff, bright, clean, friendly. All the things you would expect in a well run, well managed upper end hotel. Too bad they can't do anything about their location :-(

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear zoicca,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay. We are indeed located just outside of the city centre, but easly accessable by local transport or our own free shuttlebus.
I am sorry if the location did not meet up to your expectations. Otherwise I am happy you enjoyed our service and staff.
Anytime you decide to come back, please let us know.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were met by friendly staff who whisked us into our 19th floor room. We had a great view, comfortable beds, clean shower area. sadly there was no bathtub if you are looking for a bath. Our breakfast buffet was included and it was the same each day. We arrived early on our first day and had a bit of a challenge with staff who werent sure we should be allowed in for breakfast. this took about 20 minutes at which time the manager said ok , but the buffett was by this time being taken down.

i stayed here before and came back because it had parking for our car underground. Parking charges appear to have gone up as it is now €47 a day. we were advised to drive 10 minutes and park for €8/ day and take the tram back to the hotel or central station.

the hotel is right next to the cruise ship terminal so would be convenient if you are embarking on your trip there. Also close to the train station.

Room Tip: we had room 1902 which had a great view if you dont mind a longer elevator ride
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear barrygibbon,
Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay in our hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced while waiting for having breakfast upon your early arrival. We have passed your comments to the related department to avoid misunderstandings in the future.
Otherwise I am happy to read you had a pleasant stay with us. If you decide to stay with us again in future, please inform us regarding your request for a room with a bath. We will do our utmost to assist you in this.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Very nice hotel, located within walkingdistance of the citycenter.
We stayed at the topfloor (17th) with a breathtaking vieuw over Amsterdam where we could see the (cruise)boats passing by.

Good breakfast and nice hotelstaff.

Room Tip: Great cityvieuw; try to get a room as high as possible if you like this
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear jw125,
Thank you for your (more than) positive feedback with regard to your stay in our hotel.
We are happy you appreciated our location (and the spectacular views!) , just outside the busy city centre but well connected by different means of transport.
Please visit us again next time you travel to Holland.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.