We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next to Cruise Terminal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 30%
Ranked #39 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Next to Cruise Terminal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at this Movenpick Hotel in Amsterdam and both times I have had great experiences. The rooms are large, clean, modern and have wonderful views in all directions. On our first visit a few years ago, we stayed five days in this wonderful city and loved the location of this hotel. The light-rail / tram cars stop one block from the front door and offer regular, fast and convenient service to all downtown locations and connections at the central train station. We would often walk to downtown Amsterdam, which is an easy walk and takes about 10 minutes to reach the main train station. Walking home at night in the dark was never an issue and we felt safe at all times.

On this visit, we were catching a Holland America cruise ship at the cruise terminal which is right next door to the hotel. If you are taking a large cruise ship or a river boat tour from Amsterdam and want a wonderful hotel that is so close (next door) to your boarding locations, this is the place to stay. You can look out your windows and see the ships arrive and leave each morning and afternoon. On this visit we took a side trip to Bruges, Belgium for two nights. We asked the hotel in advance if we could leave our larger suitcases (suitcases for the 14 day cruise) at a secure location in the hotel. This was not a problem, which allowed us to travel to Bruges with light and smaller travel bags. The hotel has free internet and computers in their business center. The restaurant at the hotel was expensive and the bar service was very slow, but the hotel is outstanding. No ice machines, so you have to call room service for ice.

Room Tip: Ask for a view overlooking the city (looking West, I think).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,244
    909
    206
    64
    34
See reviews for
366
1,144
125
351
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel is about 10-15 mins walk from the central station, right by the cruise ship terminal. There is a tram stop opposite. The hotel also runs a free mini-bus service to the the station. The rooms, breakfast and staff were all very good. We had a high floor room which gave us an amazing view of the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed here in Feb 2013 on business. It's actually next to the harbour near the cruise port but is not too far from the city. The hotel is clean and modern and fairly well equipped. There is a free shuttle to the train station. The concierge service is very good. There is a pleasant bar on the ground floor. My room on the 14 th floor had excellent views. Check in was a bit amateurish as I was given an adjoining room even though I specifically requested a non adjoining room and then was checked in for 1 night instead of 2 nights. The dining options are very limited. There is only one restaurant which mainly serves local and European dishes only. Overall it's a nice hotel but has limitations.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors with even numbers such as 1224 offer harbour views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear SAJR88,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay in our hotel.

And although you experienced some misunderstanding while checking in, for which we apologize, we are happy that you appreciated your room (with a view!) and the service of our concierge. We will pass your remarks to the relevant management in order to improve or maintime the quality service we aim to provied to our valued guests.

We will be happy to welcome you again next time you travel to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Very clean, modern & comfortable hotel on with great views of the waterfront. It was a bit far to walk to the centre, but during the day they have a free shuttle-bus, and trams pas right by the hotel. Very good music venue next door - so we have seen a very good jazz concert while there.

Room Tip: Very nice bathrooms in standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for three nights in February having previously stayed at the hotel before. Very good service, staff are very friendly and the hotel is very quiet as it's a 10 minute walk from the busy central area. We arrived early and was fortunate to be allowed to check into our room around 6 hours earlier than the usual check in time.

The information point is very useful with the staff (Casper being our guru) providing maps, discounts to various tourist attractions and general advice that helped us with our stay, the hotel also provides a shuttle bus to collect/pick you up from the station as and when needed (may have to book in advance).

Breakfast is fantastic offering various breads, cerials, fruitshakes & hot food plus just about anything else that you will enjoy as well as healthy options.

The hotel has its own Gym + Saunas although doesn't provide a swimming pool although in all honesty you probably wouldn't expect to swim much on a city break anyway!

Overall a very good hotel that is worth the price and is only a 10 minute walk to/from the station, also opt for a high floor room to have a lovely view of the city!

Room Tip: High Floor for good view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have stayed there only one night, but enjoyed it very much. The staff is very kind, friendly and helpful, the executive room had a beautiful view and the bed is extremely comfortable. The breakfast was rich and had big selection of warm and cold dishes. We will definitely come back once again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights and really enjoyed it!

Location:
The location (ca. 10 minutes walk from the train station Amsterdam Centraal) is very convenient to hit town. The hotel also provides a free of charge shuttle service to and from the station leaving the hotel every 30 minutes (on the hour and on the half hour, arriving at the back entrance of the station ca. 5-10 minutes later depending on traffic; last one leaving the hotel at 7:30 pm).

I think usually the stroll to town is very nice bad, but in February with reeeeeally cold winds blowing about we were quite happy to use the shuttle :-)

We walked everywhere and it took us between 15 - 40 minutes to any of the city's sights, shopping districts, etc. If you are not so much of a hiker there is also a tram station directly across the street from the hotel (stop = Muziekgebouw; 7,50 EUR for an all day tram/bus pass; 2,80 EUR for a 60-minutes ticket for one person; available in the tram).

Room:
For our 80 EUR per night we got a decent-sized double room on 7F with really nice views over the IJ, the harbour and the city. Loved the bathroom and the shower. Modern furniture, really comfy couch and bed, perfect for an evening after a long day in town.
I cannot say anything about breakfast. With the price of 23 EUR pP we decided to eat in town.

Service:
Extremely friendly and efficient service at the counter, the concierge's desk and in the shuttle bus.

All in all: we would definitely choose this place again when coming back to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.