We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic for the price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tot 30% korting
Ranked #39 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic for the price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Having read some of the negative reviews I think some people should stop being so petty and snobbish. This hotel is immaculately clean and the rooms are spacious with lovely comfortable beds and decent showers. Big tv with lots of channels and only 10 mins walk to central station and only 3 mins on the no. 26 tram. It's brilliant for the price and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words with regard to your stay in our hotel. We are glad you appreciated the facilities and service we want to expand to our valued guests.

And if you visit Amsterdam again, we will be happy to welcome you back!

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,135
    837
    172
    58
    31
See reviews for
331
1045
119
321
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

we stayed here for just one night, and was pleasantly surprised at the beautiful decor, cleanliness and friendly staff. we went to drop our bags off as it was too early to check in and reception staff let us check into our room !! the room was very spacious and tastefully decorated,it was immaculate and beautifully furnished.i didn't want to go sightseeing as the room was so lovely.it had everything you need and more, they offer shuttle bus to and from town even though its only a 10 minute walk.the concierge has a mindful of knowledge and very pleasant and helpful.as is all the staff. I can't imagine anyone not enjoying this wonderful very high standard hotel

Room Tip: you can upgrade to delux if you want but I thought our standard room was delux
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I don't think I can ever find a better place to stay in Amsterdam than this hotel, it is located in the city center, yet away from the noise and the mess of the city. it is a very easy going hotel, with a very friendly staff. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayd the hotel for two nights during a meeting. When checking in the reception required 100 € cash (!) and didn't accept Visa-card. This was the first time for me that cash was asked and I have overnigh in hundreds of hotel all over the world. Additionally the minibar was totally empty! But the hotel was clean, views from the 7th level were nice and especially the breakfast was excellent. The lobby bar was cosy but too loud music.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Business Traveler,

Thank you for your feedback with regard to your stay in our hotel. With regard to the cash deposit, we will investigate why we could not accept your VISA-card. We are sure this was an incident as it is certainly not common practice.

Please feel welcome to stay with us again next time you travel to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband, son and I spent 2 nights at this hotel and found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The room and bathroom were comfortable, clean and larger than most European rooms. Housekeeping converted the couch, into a bed by adding an extra mattress/duvet bed for my 18 yrs old. It was very comfy and had the same quality bedding as ours. Nice touch! The walk from the train station is direct along the waterfront and the hotel is located along that waterfront.. We each had to pull a big suitcase and managed it quite nicely.The concierge (Irish fellow) helped us plan our 2 days by circling neighbourhoods and markets on the map and suggesting a great restaurant for lunch. We booked the hop on/hop off water bus with him and the blue line picks you up across the little water inlet in front of the hotel. The pre-determined stops can make the trip a little slow, but helps relieve sore feet. The boats also offer recorded history/visitor information. Both evenings, we walked to the closer downtown neighbourhoods for dinner and returned to our hotel around midnight, not a problem whatsoever, and never felt threatened. We encountered many people walking and riding bicycles. I would say, however, that it is a bit of a walk from the hotel to the sight-seeing areas, so be prepared with comfy shoes and weather appropriate clothing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This large hotel in the centre of Amsterdam is a most pleasant experience. It is ideally situated for both tourism and business. It has well appointed clean accomodation and good food. The overwhelming marker of excellence though is the courtious staff. That excellence is to be found at all levels of the organisation. It is the total combination that make the Moevenpick an all round pleasant experience. I have no hesitation in recommending it o others

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel is recommended. Clean, spacious rooms, friendly efficient staff, great views of the city, quiet, very comfortable. Great value for money (I booked through Priceline)

The distance from Centraal Station is not really an issue, the 26 tram is close by and a frequent service, though miss the last one back about 12.30 am and the walk can be cold.

Room Tip: Higher the floor better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.