We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, great service, nice rooms, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tot 30% korting
Ranked #40 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent, great service, nice rooms, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here recently whilst attending a conference (which was next door); despite the appearance of a 'conference hotel' you actually receive a 'boutique' service. Staff were all extremely polite and helpful especially the night time bar staff. Rooms were well specced and spacious. Location is a 10 minute walk from the centre but in my view that's a positive. Would be delighted to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Business Traveler,

We hope you have had a good conference and are happy to read that you enjoyed staying in our nearby hotel. We thank you for your compliments; our aim is to provide all of our guests the Swiss hospitality in an international setting and we are happy you felt at home.

We will be pleased to welcome you again next time you travel to Amsterdam, either for business or for leisure.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,215
    885
    183
    64
    39
See reviews for
324
1030
119
321
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Loved the hotel! We took a train in to Amsterdam. the hotel location was fine and we could reach the city by trolleys just fine. The best was the 20 euro pizza, drink, and movie for our teenage daughter the night we went out for adult time. The room was great!!!! the restaurant was awesome.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel is in a very good location all major places in the city is reachable from the hotel, To reach Schiphol Airport it will take only 20 minutes drive. Central station is only 5 minutes walk only. You can reach dam square by paying 10 Euro to a taxi. A bus stop is also very near to the hotel. Rooms are good and clean, Break fast is ok. but the cook who prepare the egg dishes is not nice. My room was on the 18th floor. Very good view of the city from the room. It is a non smoking hotel. Two times I waited for the lift for more than 10 minutes. One terrace is there at the 2nd floor, the entrance to the terrace is through restaurant, the door is having handle inside so if you want to enter to the hotel from the terrace you have to call some one inside to open the door. Overall it is a very good hotel. I like this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left site of the top floors are having very good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Business Traveler,

Thank you for your overall positive feedback with regard to your stay in our hotel. We are pleased that you appriciate our facilities and location.

Next time you travel to Amsterdam, please visit us again.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband and I visited Amsterdam for the first time in November 2012 and Movenpick Hotel made our stay very memorable. The hotel staff were extremely approachable, and they all spoke English. The rooms were tidy, spacious modern and offered amazing views of the City and Canals. The Hotel offered a shuttle service which dropped you at Amsterdam Centraal every half hour and also a pick up service if required. We had breakfast as part of our package and on offer was a range of foods, from fruit to croissants, cakes, cold meats etc or if you preferred a full English Breakfast. This was available from 06.30 - 10.30. The hotel staff were very good with directions and recommendations especially the shuttle drivers. I would recommend the Movenpick for various reasons but ultimately for the Hotels location which was ideal for us. Although you could walk from the Hotel to the City Center, you could get away from the hustle and bustle of the City Center at the end of your day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Service was impeccable throughout. We had the executive rooms on top floor which allowed us to have cocktail hour and private breakfast. Although it was a business hotel we found it very relaxing. It's about half a mile walk into the centre of Amsterdam which we found easy to do.

Room Tip: Go for executive rooms overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear guests,

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our executive floor with indeed stunning views of the river IJ. Also, we are glad you appreciate our location, just outside the busy city centre but with excellent connections to the heart of Amsterdam.

Please visit us again next time you travel to Holland.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I loved the location of Moevenpick, Amsterdam City Center, very near the central train station and right next to Bimhaus. I stayed twice, once on first arriving in Holland, and once on departing. I have to say that the room I had on the 17th floor was a bit nicer and in better condition, but I also paid full price for it. Not that there was anything wrong with the 8th floor room, and my request for a room with bath/shower combination was ready when I checked in early! The restaurant is good, the ice cream selection fabulous! But my favorite part is the Sauna--perfect in every way, and the bucket of cold water and "snow" ice was just what I needed to get my blood moving on the morning of my departure. Thank you!

Room Tip: book online to save some money and have your room ready when you arrive. I liked the higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here during a post cruise extension to tour Amsterdam for a few days. We found the hotel decor sleek and cool, the rooms spacious. The hotel personnel was helpful and accommodating when we asked for a room change to have my mother in a room near ours. They happily gave her the one next door after taking the time to research and change both of our rooms to locate us together. The breakfast buffet was extensive and delicious. The location is perfect if you are cruising, a little bit of a walk to pick up the tram if it is cold or wet out, but Amsterdam's transport system is excellent and easy to navigate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.