We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place to stay before a river cruise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tot 30% korting
Ranked #39 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“wonderful place to stay before a river cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

we arrived early on overseas flight - no room in our category ready so mgmt upgraded us TKS!! Very service oriented. Rooms were high quality with lots of amenities. Coffee/tea maker, whirlpool, two room suite was very nice. Location was a little out of the way, but right on the dock near the river cruise ships. Short walk to the train station. Very quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,136
    837
    172
    58
    31
See reviews for
331
1045
120
321
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Quiet luxury and friendly competence. There's nothing about this hotel that screams out for recognition - just a lot of things that work quietly and well together.

Service is friendly and capable, rooms are large (generous, even) and the beds wonderful. Views (12th floor, looking east along the Ij) were wonderful - like Hong Kong meets Blade Runner with a dutch/cargo-ship twist.

Restaurant excels - the morning live-cooking of omlettes etc really lifts the experience and makes it more akin to the industrial 5-star hotels you get in Dubai but on a more intimate scale.

I was staying for a conference and while not always a choice of the individual delegate the hotel was a great venue - spacious, well-equipped and with excellent catering (including the Movenpick Ice-cream options!).

The costs are reasonable for the level of quality, if not actually a bargain.

The only downside of the hotel is that it's a 15 minute walk from Central Station. There are taxi options (long queue and they hate the short ride), hotel bus (every half hour, need to book in advance) or the much-more-fun tram (number 26 goes from Centraal to just-ish opposite the hotel). I like walking, but the route into the centre from here is a bit of a schlep so ended up using cabs.

If you habitually take a cab everywhere, aren't arriving by train or are staying in the hotel then you won't care and will love your stay. If you have Amsterdam as your aim then after a day or two the location may frustrate you, however, given that the can't exactly move the hotel (!) the quality of the rooms and your time there may compensate :)

Room Tip: Go for height - from 11th floor up you'll see for miles. Ask to look over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Business Traveler,

We are happy to read that you had such a good time in our hotel and appreciated the room (with a view), our catering facilities and the friendliness of our staff.

Indeed, our hotel is located just outside the busy city centre but with excellent connections by shuttle bus or tram, on the banks of the river IJ with magnificant views over the activity on the water.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel next time you visit Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night in this beautiful building. Superb view on canals and on modern Amsterdam. 10 mins walk to center. But'... Big very cold building. Probably designed for business but certainly not for soul. Breakfast ends at 11 on a sunday! Personnel asked us to go to the bar for a paying sandwich and coffee. Overpriced room and super overpriced parking (48 euros for 24h). Next time I will find a less classy but more souly place to stay in Amsterdam.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear guest,

We are truly sorry to read that your stay in our hotel was a bit disappointing. We aim to provide all our valued guests with the quality service of our 4 star hotel and apologize if we failed to make you feel at home.

We have noted the parking issue you mentioned, indeed we agree it is a lot of money and we have advised the local authority on this, however they like to keep cars away from Amsterdam City and therefore keep the parking fee high. Closer to the city centre the fee is even higher. We offer our guests the possibility to make use of the P+R parking close to the Piet Hein Tunnel, at two stops by tram from the hotel. The fee is around 8 Euro's per day including a ticket for the tram.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a modern hotel and is purposely build for cruise ship passengers(my opinion). The hotel room is clean with modern decorations and the view over the harbour is beautiful. Breakfast is good with a wonderful view,the staffs is well trained and friendly. However I think this hotel is little isolated,it take about 20-30 minutes walk towards the city centre.having said that,there's alway taxi park outside hotel,alternative you can hire a bike to explore Amsterdam, it seems a popular choice. Overall this is a good hotel if you want tranquility and away from the city centre. Price is about right for 4 star hotel,there's last minute offers available. Ask for higher floor with harbour view.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest floor facing the Amsterdam harbour if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear guest,

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and appreciate your kind comments on your room (with a beautiful view, indeed), our facilities and staff.

We hope you had a good time in Amsterdam and will be happy to welcome you back to our hotel next time you visit Holland.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have to say at the begining that I did have a suite on the 17th floor which is very nice indeed ( with internet and breakfast thrown in) and fabulous views over the docks and city.

The blurb also said a free mini bar which sounded too good to be true - and it was. The free minbar consisted of just two small cans of beer for the whole visit.

The hotel is a bit further out than the website would have you belive . It is a good 15 minute walk from the central station (and city centre) but you can arange a shuttle bus pick up.

Room Tip: The executive rooms and suites are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback with regard to your stay in our hotel. We are happy you appreciated your room at one of our Executive floors with stunning views of the river IJ and the activity on it.

The hotel is indeed located just outside the busy city centre and apart from our own shuttle, you can also take the tram that will bring you with one stop to/from the Central Station.

Please visit us again next time you travel to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

I've got a junior suite and it was fabulous! Great large room with outstanding view of Amsterdam.
We got a private coffee maker with free minibar beverages all day.
And got a private room for breakfast! It was all great!!
Thanks

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here once and liked it a lot. There is a free shuttle (takes about 5 minutes) between the hotel and Amsterdam Centraal, you just have to call before to reserve it. The view over the Amsterdam harbor is beautiful. The rooms are spacy and clean. They are modern and stylish but not too much. Good breakfast buffer. However, it is quite a walk towards the city center, so I would not advice the hotel for a short 2 days tourism stay, as you will have to take the tram or a taxi while the walking part is so nice being in Amsterdam. Pricy but last minute offers available. And if you can: ask for the hightest floor possible! I was offered Floor 16 and it was amazing. And oh yes, the staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask a room on the highest floorpossible for the magnificent view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear guest,

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and appreciate your kind comments on your room, our facilities and staff.

We hope you had a great time visiting Amsterdam! Please visit us again next time you travel to Holland.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.