We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, Amsterdam BR 1019, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Tot 30% korting
Ranked #39 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here once and liked it a lot. There is a free shuttle (takes about 5 minutes) between the hotel and Amsterdam Centraal, you just have to call before to reserve it. The view over the Amsterdam harbor is beautiful. The rooms are spacy and clean. They are modern and stylish but not too much. Good breakfast buffer. However, it is quite a walk towards the city center, so I would not advice the hotel for a short 2 days tourism stay, as you will have to take the tram or a taxi while the walking part is so nice being in Amsterdam. Pricy but last minute offers available. And if you can: ask for the hightest floor possible! I was offered Floor 16 and it was amazing. And oh yes, the staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask a room on the highest floorpossible for the magnificent view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear guest,

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and appreciate your kind comments on your room, our facilities and staff.

We hope you had a great time visiting Amsterdam! Please visit us again next time you travel to Holland.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,207
    871
    181
    62
    38
See reviews for
320
1012
119
320
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with modern decorations and very well trained and courteous staff. It has a bar with diverse food options and an extense drink menu. Don't forget to be there for happy hour. The main restaurant located on the second floor is excellent too. The room was spacious with a large window overlooking the river and the train station, very tastefully decorated.

The hotel has a free shuttle to the train station which runs every half an hour. You may want to use it since carrying your luggage to the station can drain your energy. You may want to stay at a hotel located in the city centre if you don't like to walk much, unless you are okay with taking public transportation or taxi. It is a long walk, about 15 minutes to the city centre if you walk fast. Keep in mind that you may be returning to your hotel at night and you do so by foot you would be walking in dark streets crossing under bridges.

Other than the internet not working and the distance to the city centre, the hotel is beautiful, very upscale with excellent service and well appointed rooms.

Room Tip: The upper rooms have a better view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear guest,

We appreciate your positive feedback with regard to your stay in our hotel and are happy you enjoyed your room (with a view!) and our bar and restaurant facilities.

Indeed, the hotel is located just outside the busy city centre, on the banks of the river IJ and we have a tramstop in front of our hotel that - besides our shuttle service - brings you with only one stop to and from the Central Station.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in our hotel next time you travel to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here 27th-29th August 2012. Booked as a lastminute Top Secret hotel so we got our room for about 60 euros, which was absolutely outstanding value!
Emailed the staff the week before our trip as we needed an Interrail pass to be delivered while we were staying there - they couldn't have been more helpful and responded super-quick.

When we arrived reception were fantastic - asking us about our trip, and saw we were tired after a 12 hour coach journey so let us check in FOUR HOURS earlier than planned!

The rooms are spotless and full of pretty much everything you could possibly want, with a lovely view to boot. The only two faults I would say is 1. The bed isn't a double, but two singles pushed together. They did stay together well though. 2. The kettle was incredibly leaky, and also when we reported it the reception said they'd send another one but never did - not a massive issue. Internet was also speedy and reliable the whole time we were there.

Location: not half bad, actually. Enough out of the main centre so the noise was non-existent, but only a ten minute stroll to the main station, which is basically the start of the city centre and you can go where you like from there. There's a tram stop right outside the hotel that takes you there in about 3 minutes - they run every 10-15 mins or so. Unless you're massively lazy/in some way physically disabled (e.g my mother with arthritis etc) then you will not struggle with the walk - it really is no big deal and actually quite pretty.

Room service: WOW. I was really poorly with a cold and when the waiter brought my meal up to my room, he saw this and insisted he went downstairs and got me a chamomile tea to make me feel better - what a sweet gesture. Also - and I've never seen this before - there is NO CHARGE to have food delivered to your room! Unbelievably convenient.

All in all I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. The best hotel of my two month travels, by a country mile.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as possible (there's a lift!) - the view is ace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind remarks with regard to your stay in our hotel, especially with regard to our staff. We will make sure to pass your kind words to those involved.

We are happy you had such a good experience at the beginning of your trip and do hope that the rest of your journey went as smooth as with us.

We hope to welcome you again in Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have booked 4 nights stay at Movenpick hotel via their website ca 153 Euro per night. Reservation process was smooth and response to email was prompt. Expectation was high for Movenpick hotel, as there were many good reviews on TA and on other travel magazines.

Services : Initial response was good prior to the trip. Was informed via email confirmation that there was a shutter service between Central Station and hotel (but did not state the timing), and 20 min prior to arrival to the Central Station, we can call the hotel and arrange for the shutter service. We arrived at 9ish pm, and called the hotel, but was told that the shutter service ends prior to 9pm and have to take a tram to the hotel. Will definitely appreciate if such information was communicated earlier so that we can arrange for our own transportation (esp with our luggage). Concierge service was average, and often lack the passion to serve the guests, answers to questions were simple reply without going one step further and offer more help or assistance. Laundry bags need to be brought down to reception personally, which seems quite unusual too.

Hotel Location: Hotel is located ca 1 tram station away or 10-15 mins walk away from the Central Station. It is not exactly near the City Center, but can be a good walk IF the weather is good. As it is not near the City Center, it is also not as noisy as other parts of the city, thus it can be a plus point. If you want to rent bicycle or escooter, there's a store right beneath Movenpick hotel, thus can be very convenient to return/store the rented vehicle

Hotel Room Facilities: Disappointing as I have higher expectation of Movenpick hotel facilities. Hotel dont provide bottled water and didnt mention that tap water can be consumed. Wifi is free, although need to re-create account every 4 hours to generate a new password and id (this seems weird and troublesome). Room is of a decent size, and has both local and international television channels. Asked for a double room, but what was given was a room with two single bed joined together that comes with two blankets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear guest,

We appreciate your feedback with regard to your stay in our hotel and thank you for your positive remarks.

With regard to our shuttle service not running in the evening, we can inform you that this was due to construction work at the Central Station. These works are now finished and the shuttle will also run in the evening. We apologize for the inconvenience this has caused.

We are also looking into a new service with regard to (free) WIFI to better suit the needs of our guests.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in our hotel next time you visit Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is a perfect place to stay on your visit to Amsterdam. IT is a short walk to town and very close to train station. IT is also terrific for people taking cruises since it is next to cruise port. The staff was wonderful and our stay could not be better.

Room Tip: we upgraded our room and that included free breakfast and snacks and drinks in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is not what I would call city centre though it was easy enough to walk to what appeared to be the hub of Amsterdam. Hotel was decent and we had a lovely view as we were on an upper level. At night when all the lights were on it was beautiful. Rooms where a large size and comfortable. Bathroom was decent as well.

Stayed here as part of a tour and when we arrived they had not orgnaised all the room keys and didn't appear to care. There were 39 peope waiting in the lobby for 20 rooms and they had to code all the keys. They ignored our tour director for sometime and then kept making excused as to why they were not organised. It was a good 15 minutes or so before someone decided they needed to do something and started coding the keys. Otherwise I didn't have much contact with the service staff so can't really comment.

The rooms where comfortable and clean. We only stayed for one night but it was adequate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay in our hotel, indeed located just outside the busy city centre (with excellent connections to the Central Station) in a quiet area on the banks of the river IJ.

We have duly noted your remarks with regard to the check in of your group and have passed this information to the Front Office Manager in order to avoid such experiences in the future.

We hope you have had a great vacation and hope to be able to welcome you again next time you visit Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Remember the theme song from "Cheers", the American sitcom in the 80s-90s "Where Everybody Knows Your Name" . That is what it felt like when my wife and I stayed there last month. Prior to our trip I emailed Mr. Kaan, the hotel manager about things to do in Amsterdam because we were first time visitors. Upon our arrival he personally came down and greeted us which started things off on a positive note. Because we were early he offered us tea/coffee while our room was prepped. They make excellent coffee at the hotel. The hotel is conveniently located near the Central Terminal. It was probably a 5-10 minute walk at most but because you are on the harbour, the walk was very pleasant. Keep your head up for cyclists because Amsterdam being a progressive city has many of them. If you like to see cruise ships the hotel is also part of the Cruise Ship terminal which made viewing the mooring procedure for these large ships quite a spectacle.
The rooms were clean and most important the showers were hot with lots of pressure. We ate at the restaurant and lounge and found the food good and the pricing comparable to other hotels. All of the staff including Mr de Vos, the concierge were friendly and helpful. Mr. de Vos gave us suggestions on the top highlights of the city because we were only there for three days. The hotel does offer a free transport service to and from Central Terminal and that worked well when we arrived and departed. I would recommend taking the train from Schiphol Airport to Central Station and then using the hotel van to pick you up, It is by far the least expensive as opposed to taking a taxi. Phone ahead to reserve your time. All in all, clean, convenient and friendly staff, what more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Contact Mr de Vos, the concierge for places to visit and things to do. He was most helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, Amsterdam BR 1019, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Occupancy Marketing, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.