We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Movenpick - excellent pick near cruise ship terminal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Movenpick - excellent pick near cruise ship terminal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We recently booked anb stayed at the Movenpick approx. 500 meters from the cruise ship terminal as our cruise ship was leaving from this port. Easy walk, even with luggage.
Clean, modern hotel overlooking the port and the city depending where your room is located. We had emailed the hotel to request an early access to our room since our flight to Amsterdam was arriving at 8:30 am. They greeted us with a smile and room ready for us. Much appreciated after a long flight.

Early in the morning our ship was in port and looking out of our window we could see passengers getting ready to leave the ship!

Hotel is approximately 20 to 25 minutes walk to the city centre, and approximately 10 minutes from the train station - walkable if you don't have too much luggage.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,536
    1,098
    245
    82
    40
See reviews for
449
1,390
133
442
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel itself is great, nice views and facilities but the location is not that great as per other reviews. Its a bit of a walk to the city centre/red light district, specially at night the path seems quite empty and creepy. However quality wise, the hotel (itself) is one of the best i have stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for your nice comments with regard to your stay in our hotel, we are happy that you appreciate the quality we aim to provide.

Indeed, our hotel is located just outside the busy city centre, a 15 minute walk or just one tram stop from the Central Station. After midnight, however, we suggest to travel by taxi.

Please do visit us again next time you visit Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Movenpick hotel made my stay in Amsterdam a very enjoyable one. The hotel is well located, close to Central station, there's a tram station across the street, you take tram 26 and in a few minutes you will be at CS, you could walk too.
There's a subway right by the hotel (in case you would like to save some money).
The Gym/spa is great, very clean, tons of space, the sauna is incredible.
Cable gives you tons of choices for TV channels in different languages and also radio stations. Most people at the reception were very nice. There's a little shuttle that picks you at Central Station and brings you to the hotel every 30 minutes. There's also a nice restaurant and bar.
Great place would love to go back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear guest,

We are happy to read that your stay in our hotel was to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed our location and facilities and the kindness of our staff.

Next time you travel to Amsterdam and want to enjoy a great Spa, you know where to go, you're welcome!

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilia Romagna
Level Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed in this hotel to attend a workshop in the conference area. Nice view on the canal, good food, however the conference rooms were quite noisy, we could hear the sound of the voices in the other conference rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear guest,

We are happy to read that you had a pleasant time when staying in our hotel for a conference. With regard to your remark about the noise from other conference rooms, we will certainly look into that to avoid any disturbance.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Our arrival from the airport to the hotel via the shuttle bus was easy. Our walk to the cruise terminal next door was easy. Our walk to the trains, trams, and central Amsterdam took 15 minutes, so easy. Outside and inside, this hotel looks very nice and clean. It is very easy to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: It was fun to wake up and see our cruise ship outside our window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just returned from Amsterdam, we stayed in a very nice hotel Movenpick city center, about 10-15 min walk to the center of Amsterdam. Clean rooms with comfortable beds, fitness center and spa, too bad that the saunas did not properly worked...but otherwise great hotel. Adjacent to the concert hall, and near the Central Train station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Business traveler,

Thank you for your kind words with regard to your stay in our hotel. We are glad you appreciate the location, just outside the city centre in a new and upcoming area with more and more attractions for our guests like Bimhuis (music) and EYE (film), and right on the banks of the river IJ with magnificant views.

Please stay with us again next time you travel to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
109 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Booked this hotel though Priceline and got a really good rate. This hotel is big and sits on the edge of town, next to the cruise passenger terminal and a music hall. The size of the hotel, puts it in a position to offer front desk deals, we was offered, a room upgrade, breakfast and free mini bar, for 60E a night, good offer but we had made plans for breakfast / brunch with friends. The hotel is a typical 4* hotel, probably similar to a Marriott or crowne plaza. We had room service one night and dined in the restaurant another night. The food was again standard 4* hotel restaurant food, nothing special but good enough to enjoy. We had a room on the 12th floor great views of the river and city, room was cleaned to a good standard and bed was a king size and very comfortable, not to firm but just right. We have stayed all over Amsterdam over the years and I wouldn’t put this area as my favourite part of Amsterdam to stay, it sits a bit isolated, in terms of restaurants and bars, even though Central station is only 10 minutes walk, I prefer the canal areas or Leidesplien areas to stay, bit more character. But we got such a great deal we can’t complain and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear guests,

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel that you were able to obtain with a good bargain that proved to be a good deal with regard to the quality we aim to provide to our guests.

Next time you travel to Amsterdam, we hope to welcome you again!

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.