We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the Cruise Port” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 30%
Ranked #40 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great for the Cruise Port”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We booked 2 nights at the Movenpick before joining the Celebrity Constellation bound for the Norwegian Fjords. The ship was berthed right next to the hotel, the cruise port was next door.

The hotel is modern, clean and quiet, the rooms are fairly plain and not particularly large, but absolutely fine for a couple of nights.

The hotel is about 20 minutes walk from the city centre, alternatively the tram to and from Central Station is in front of the hotel, but about 100 yards walk. You can change trams at Central Station for the centre of the city using the same ticket, but it takes only 10 minutes to walk to Dam Square.

The hotel is probably too far from the city centre if you are not joining a cruise.

Room Tip: High rooms facing the water offer great views of the cruise ships, city facing rooms offer stunning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear guests,

We hope you enjoyed your cruise after your stay in our hotel. Indeed, the cruise terminal is conveniently located just next to our hotel at the banks of the river IJ. And thanks to this location, you can enjoy magnificiant views and watch the hustle and bustle on the river.

Next time you will embark a cruise in Amsterdam, please visit us again.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,282
    917
    209
    68
    35
See reviews for
369
1,168
126
366
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Hotel was light airy and clean. Beds and rooms were very comfy and had a nice window seat to take in the city views. About a 15 min walk into the centre but not a bad walk as can take in the sights along the river. We stayed there over new year and had a brilliant view of all the fire works when we went back to the room. Hotel has a lovely bar which we had a few drinks in and a little computer area where we printed our return boarding passes off. A little bit pricey but everywhere was the same on new year. About a 20 min walk from the train station once you set off in the right directing its easy to find :) Hotel is right near tram stops so it is easy to get about but there are no trams on newyears eve/day so you have to be prepared to walk a lot. After spending new year in this brilliant citys squares with all the christmas tree's and lights up i dont think i could spend it in England ever again. Can not wait to return !

Room service was also lovely, we got breakfast delivered a few days and it was very nice, staff were helpful and we used the mini bus into the centre a few times which you can book at reception.

I would recoomend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over River/City
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear guests,

We are glad you enjoyed Amsterdam and your stay in our hotel during the festive period of New Year. We are happy to read that you were pleased with the facilities and staff in our hotel.

New Year 2012 is only a few months away and if you have an opportunity to spend this evening again in Amsterdam, you are more than welcome in our hotel.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed here on a few days break. The hotel is very smart modern and only a few minutes walk to everywhere. It is close to the Central Station, and easy walking distance of the shopping area plus the red light district. The check in counter staff were all friendly, and were given a lovely room with probably the best view in Amsterdam. The rooms are so clean and well presented. The TVs have many english channels. We wake up every morning to find a stunning cruise boats docked on the side of the hotel. We ate out all the time as we were always out and about. We did order room service once and the food did not dissapoint . The staff will do anything you ask without expecting a tip, twice i had to run after a room service server. Unfortunately there is no pool, but they have an air-conditioned gym, sauna and spa rooms. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The hotel has a shuttle from the airport but you have to book in advance as they are usually full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauniainen, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We had an absolutely fantastic stay. A Swiss safe haven in a busy Amsterdam. There is nothing to improve. I recommend to book an Executive room from the 20th floor. The view is unbelivable!

Room Tip: Executive room from the 20th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Herradura, Spain
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Smart, modern luxury hotel situated a two minute walk from the main cruise terminal in Amsterdam. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist who upgraded us to a junior suite even though we were staying for just one night prior to a cruise. The room was smart, clean, ultra-modern and spacious. It is just a fifteen minute walk into the centre of Amsterdam. Breakfast offered a wide choice in a comfortably appointed restaurant with views of the cruise ships. Well recommended as a pre-cruise venue as it could not be more convenient for the cruise terminal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I spent three nights here in the middle of July. This hotel has all the right pieces in place for a comfortable and pleasurable stay. Staff are responsive and efficient. We did not use the restaurant but appreciated the shuttle service to Centraal Station that cut down a little bit on our walking. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Having completed a "round robin" trip of 5 major EU cities, it puts this hotel into perspective.

It was not the most expensive of the five - but by a long way, was the best of our tour.

Extremely comfortable, well situated with excellent views, easy to access with efficient and friendly staff - there can be no negative comments. The superb Amsterdam tram system makes for quick and easy access or a short walk to the centre if the weather permits - either way - its an ideal location.

If you see a "special price" for this hotel - do not hesitate - just reserve and enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.