We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, can be cheaper than much worse hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 30%
Ranked #40 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel, can be cheaper than much worse hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I booked this hotel for my hubby's 30th birthday. I looked around online and found this stunning hotel was actually cheaper than most hotels in Amsterdam even the grottier ones.
I did see some complaints about the distance from the main station, but when looking at the pictures I could see the station from people's shots...so its hardly a jungle expedition?!
We took a tram from the station to the hotel the first night (only a couple of stops) and about 2 minutes walk from the tram stop.
We enjoyed the stunning night views (we had requested a room above 5th floor) and our quiet room was immaculately clean and comfortable.
The next day we arranged for the free bus to the station (5 mins journey roughly every half hour). We then walked back using the impressive building beautifully lit at night to guide us. Maybe 10-15mins stroll.
The breakfast spread was fantastic. The staff helpful and polite (however not too clued up on the best tram pass to get) . Went to the zoo, anne franks house etc etc on the tram and to the hotel over the course of 3/4 days.
We loved the hotel being next to the river and walked towards the 'Buimhaus' (i think that's right) the building next door and sat on the little pier overlooking the river for a few minutes when waiting for our shuttle bus.
A lovely and restful stay. Didn't have time to use the spa/swimming pool though and could have done with more 'english' tea bags in the room each day :)

Room Tip: Ask for over 5th floor to ensure great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for your kind review with regard to your stay in Amsterdam and our hotel. And congratulations on your husband's anniversary. We are glad you found your way easily to the busy city center and enjoyed the peaceful area in which our hotel is located, right on the banks of the river IJ with great views. Indeed also from the rooms on a higher level.

Next time you have a celebration, do visit us again.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,217
    894
    201
    64
    34
See reviews for
363
1,128
123
340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with friends and we had a triple room. The rooms are lovely and modern and well equipped. The only thing that wasn't ideal is the modern design of the bathroom means it has a swing door that doesn't close fully.

The staff were always very helpful and, as is usual in Amsterdam, spoke fluent English.

The rnage of products at breakfast was impressive - many different types of breads and rolls, fresh and dried fruit, yoghurts, cereal, nuts, omlettes made to order, eggs, bacon, sausages, pancakes, full meat & cheese selection and a loads of juices and teas.

The location of the hotel, while not far from the city centre, is a bit difficult to navigate as there are a few canals that need to be crossed. The hotel does run a free shuttle to Centraal Station though but whenever we wanted to get it, it was booked up. It's probably best to call down and book into it before leaving. The tram stop is right outside too and takes you to Centraal Station where you can then change onto a different line though, so not too difficult. We ended up getting taxis most of the time though.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I spent several nights here following a Rhine River cruise and after 7 days in a small-ish cabin I was thrilled with my expansive room. It may have been a Jr. suite but I cannot be sure. Whatever it was, is more than I ordered or expected. The front desk people were friendly and efficient and I cannot say enough about the concierge, especially one named Trevor.

If you stay here and plan to see the city, be sure and buy a several day tram pass as getting off and on is easy and they will take you almost everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear family,

Thank you for your positive feedback with regard to your stay in our hotel as a part of your river cruise package. A nice change of scenery, we read.

We have made sure to pass your friendly compliments to our concierge and we are happy that you appreciated the service provided.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Great location near the town center and where the Cruise liner stop. You can either walk about 8-10 min to get to the central rail station or take the number 26 tram. Get a multi day pass for the tram it's worth it if you stay for more than a day or get a 24 hour tram pass for about 7 Euro. There is no fridge in the rooms and the only snack machine is on the 9rd floor, so you beter buy your snacks from town.

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd floor are larger that other floors but don't have as good view as the higher level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear family,

Thank you for choosing our hotel, indeed located just outside the busy city centre in a new and upcoming area overlooking the river IJ. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I booked a stay here as a surprise for my wife's birthday. It was a comfortable stay, with a clean and well-sized room. I don't think the location particularly good as it was definitely more than a 5 minute walk from the station or town area, but the hotel does provide a free shuttle from the train station in the day time if you like. During my stay, most of the rooms appeared vacant so it was quiet.

Unfortunately, the experiences with some of the staff was not as pleasant, with the service best labelled as inconsistent. A simple example was when we asked if we could take the 2pm shuttle bus instead of the 230pm one we signed up for; the lady promptly told us 'No' even though there was only one other couple on the van; we had to talk to another staff member to be included in the 2pm shuttle.

Overall, a nice hotel with comfortable and clean rooms. Location is average (unless you're coming in from the cruise centre), and the service standards could do with more consistency.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for your feedback with regard to your stay in our hotel. We apologise if the service given by our staff was insufficients. We duly noted your remarks and have passed your comments to the Management.

However, we hope you enjoyed celebrating your wife's birthday in Amsterdam and wish you many happy returns!

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Late check in but no problem

Location is more/less closer Dam square but no prblem

VIEW IS WORTH TO STAY

And the coffee in the morning with the friendly staff is pleasant.

Very close to Central Station

Thanks for great hospitality.....

Ayca&Muzeffer Sahin

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear guests,

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and our hotel. We would love to welcome you back next time you visit Holland.

Best regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Just returned from a 4 night stay (through booking.com) at the Movenpick in Amsterdam including breakfast and use of the private executive room for all meals and complimentary drinks (soft and alcoholic) and snacks between the hours of 5-7pm with a breathtaking view from our bedroom on the 20th floor. (exec rooms).
Most conveniently placed for getting into the city. . We were most impressed with the transport links. We bought a ticket at Amsterdam Airport for 4.20e hopped on a train (plenty of seating as it's a two tier train..up and down) and 17 minutes later we were in the city centre. 10 minutes later the No.26 tram (1 stop) dropped us off outside the Movenpick. (you can buy a 24 hour pass to use on any tram for 7.40 e) then a 2 minute walk and we were checking into the hotel. Unfortunately we arrived very early (11.30 am) and check in was not until 3pm. The friendly lady at the reception desk said there was an outside chance of getting us in before 3pm. Back into the city, had lunch then hopped back on t26 but unfortunately our room as not ready. However they sat us in the Exec room and we waited in comfort until 3.45 (very tired..we had been up since 4am.... and slightly agitated). The room was worth the wait. The staff were all extremely efficient and friendly and the concierge was excellent in his recommendations for good food (quality!!) The hotel food was good (we ate in on one occasion) and competitively priced for what we would consider to be a 4 star plus hotel. The gym and sauna were an excellent addition. All in all a great hotel, clean, great atmosphere, excellent staff, wonderful location, and not forgetting ......brill breakfast. Thank you Movenpick for making our stay so enjoyable. Can't say the same for the weather.........

Room Tip: ask for higher floor overlooking the port
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for your feedback with regard to your stay in our hotel. Unfortunately, that day an earlier check in was not available for the rooms at the executive floor.

However, we are pleased to read that when available, the room (and its view) was to your satisfaction.

Next time you travel to Amsterdam, please visit us again.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.