We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing but good things to say...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 40%
Ranked #47 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing but good things to say...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The Moevenpick Hotel was our (pre-Rhine River cruise with Viking Cruise LIne) Amsterdam excursion hotel. When I first tried to look at the hotel location on the map, it looked a little far from downtown Amsterdam. But I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel's location was actually good, on the water with a great view toward the North Sea. The Moevenpick provides a shuttle to the Centraal Station every half hour (make sure to reserve your seats!) which is very convenient. There is also a tram stop in front. The hotel was very modern, clean with everything we needed. The breakfast buffet was included with our stay -- great service, wonderful selection of tasty food. The staff at the concierge desk was wonderful: ready to help with luggage, reservations, directions, information. The shuttles were so convenient and on time. There are two concierge staff that I want to compliment, Frits and Daniel. They went out of their way to make our first stay in Amsterdam more enjoyable. Also, when we had a problem with our television (brand new Philips HD flatscreens), the security oficer came up on Saturday night and fixed it with a smile. Also a plus, just down the street from a great restaurant, Fifteen owned by Jaime Oliver. We would definitely stay there again. Good choice of hotel, Viking Cruise Line!

Room Tip: View toward the North Sea; we stayed on the 11th floor and had a nice view. Did not really notice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,688
    1,210
    269
    92
    49
See reviews for
541
1,515
140
474
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I loved this hotel.It was so clean and modern- the room I had was great.The breakfast buffet was absolutely wonderful.The location was also perfect -probably about a lovely 10 minute walk away by the water to the hotel with a tram stop close to the hotel entrance.The only negative was that you could sometimes hear the trains if your window was open.But I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located 10 minutes from the central station (by foot). Descent and clean rooms. The breakfast has a wide variety of servings but is a bit overpriced (around 25 euro per person), also very crowdy and LOUD. They do not have private parking but you can park in a public parking just in front of the entrance at a cost of 50 Euro's per 24h (way too expensive). In room digital tv. Limited free (slow) wifi connection. We paid 250 euro's city taxes and breakfast for 2 included. I would say it is 50 Euro's overpriced.

Stayed April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I stayed in this hotel while traveling to watch my national team play football.

The hotel is very clean and modern - it all looks relatively new and trendy. The room was a decent size and had spectacular views over the river.

The hotel is a little out of the way, which some may consider to be a benefit. The hotel car park is a little expensive at €30 a day. I was also charged for mini bar items I didn't drink, but this was promptly sorted out when I reported it to reception.

Overall this is still a great hotel and I would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a triple room (three friends).
The hotel was brilliant, it was one friends birthday during the stay and on check in they gave her chocolates and jam as a gift and on the actual day of her birthday more chocolate appeared in our room.
We used the spa and the only downside was there was no steam room.
The hotel is situated at the port and only a ten minute walk to the centre but there is a tram stop directly outside the hotel and takes you to the central station (tickets for an unlimited day pass is available from the hotel) the areas taxi rank is situated right outside the front door too! We opted to walk to the centre each day which was very safe (and flat) so wasn't an issue.
Lovely hotel and would stay again.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Like other reviewers commented before, this hotel is 10-15 mins walk from the Central Railway station and there are not too many services nearby: Subway sandwich bar and Zouthaven restaurant at the Music Hall.

We had a room at 19th floor with spectacular river view. The room was spotless, the decoration was modern, but pretty average. The water pressure was poor in the bathroom, which tends to be the case in new European hotels. Frustrating, at least for folks from Nordic countries...

There was a convenient internet corner with the printer at ground floor, where I could make the internet check-in and print the boarding pass for my flight.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

This is a very nice, new hotel. I would consider it on par with a Marriott. It is about a 15 minute walk to the downtown area, which makes it cheaper than the Crowne Plaza or anything similar downtown. There is a van shuttle which drops you on the river side of the train station, but it may save only you 5 minutes, and it only runs once every half hour and only holds 8 people. So, unless you catch it right before it leaves, it doesn't make sense to take the shuttle (unless it is raining). It is also right next to a tram stop which could be a good option to get to the center. Other than that, there really isn't anything of note to say.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#36 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,387 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#21 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.