We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, a little out of the way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, Amsterdam BR 1019, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tot 30% korting
Ranked #37 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel, a little out of the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I stayed in this hotel while traveling to watch my national team play football.

The hotel is very clean and modern - it all looks relatively new and trendy. The room was a decent size and had spectacular views over the river.

The hotel is a little out of the way, which some may consider to be a benefit. The hotel car park is a little expensive at €30 a day. I was also charged for mini bar items I didn't drink, but this was promptly sorted out when I reported it to reception.

Overall this is still a great hotel and I would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,126
    793
    167
    62
    38
See reviews for
299
929
112
304
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a triple room (three friends).
The hotel was brilliant, it was one friends birthday during the stay and on check in they gave her chocolates and jam as a gift and on the actual day of her birthday more chocolate appeared in our room.
We used the spa and the only downside was there was no steam room.
The hotel is situated at the port and only a ten minute walk to the centre but there is a tram stop directly outside the hotel and takes you to the central station (tickets for an unlimited day pass is available from the hotel) the areas taxi rank is situated right outside the front door too! We opted to walk to the centre each day which was very safe (and flat) so wasn't an issue.
Lovely hotel and would stay again.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Like other reviewers commented before, this hotel is 10-15 mins walk from the Central Railway station and there are not too many services nearby: Subway sandwich bar and Zouthaven restaurant at the Music Hall.

We had a room at 19th floor with spectacular river view. The room was spotless, the decoration was modern, but pretty average. The water pressure was poor in the bathroom, which tends to be the case in new European hotels. Frustrating, at least for folks from Nordic countries...

There was a convenient internet corner with the printer at ground floor, where I could make the internet check-in and print the boarding pass for my flight.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

This is a very nice, new hotel. I would consider it on par with a Marriott. It is about a 15 minute walk to the downtown area, which makes it cheaper than the Crowne Plaza or anything similar downtown. There is a van shuttle which drops you on the river side of the train station, but it may save only you 5 minutes, and it only runs once every half hour and only holds 8 people. So, unless you catch it right before it leaves, it doesn't make sense to take the shuttle (unless it is raining). It is also right next to a tram stop which could be a good option to get to the center. Other than that, there really isn't anything of note to say.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

The Good:
- Excellent spacious room on 3rd floor with separate dressing area and double bathroom.
- Bedroom windows can be opened and air con/heating deactivated if necessary.
- Very comfortable bed, sofas and chairs.
- Flat screen TV with multitude of UK channels, hi fi, fridge, modern kettle and nice clean crockery.
- Bathroom 100% clean and nice to have separate walk in shower.
- Good range of food and drinks in the Silk Bar (you must try the Moevenpick ice cream).
- Faultless check-in / check-out service and professional, friendly staff.

The not so good:
- It's a good 15 min walk to the city centre. There is a hotel shuttle which departs every 30 minutes but you need to book in advance as it is a small Ford Transit with room for 8 people.
- The more spacious rooms have a view of a neighbouring bulding.
- Bedroom contained a number of stains and marks on upholstery and carpets which took away from the overall clean feeling.
- Not enough staff serving in the bar. We counted one staff member for well over 40 customers. We would have ordered more drinks if we had been approached more regularly.

Overall a nice hotel and would certainly stay here again!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Spotlessly clean spacious modern room with a great view, comy bed and all mod cons, Reception staff friendly and professional. Not too far from the centre, with good tram and free shuttle service. Great value for money. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a bit far from the city centre but getting to town is quite easy, especially with the hotel shuttle bus which departs every half hour and the tram station is in front of the hotel.

The facilities are appropriate for its level. However the service are pretty cool. I can understand why other visitors made similar comments after I stayed there. The staff are polite but lack the passion. One driver in particular was pretty rude and does not really make the passengers feel welcome.

I have a few days my hotel amenities were not refilled, including the fully using shampoo. I put down a note requesting for no coffee but only English breakfast tea everyday but was totally ignored.

If you can get a good rate for this hotel, fine. Otherwise better forget about it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Piet Heinkade 11, Amsterdam BR 1019, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.