We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 40%
Ranked #47 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Horsham, West Sussex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Would definitely recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I went to this hotel last year. I have to say my boyfriend and I would go again. It was luxurious, rooms are clean, modern and spacious. The staff are professional and friendly and helpful. They also have a regular bus service that runs you into the main centre, but otherwise it's really easy to get around by the local trams.

The only very small negative thing, is if you get in and fancy a snack, the room service menu is very limited and expensive. So buy some snacks to keep in your room, if your the type to get peckish after a night out.

They also have free wifi which was helpful booking trips like for anne franks house to avoid the qeues. It's best to book that early.

If you can do a wine and cheese river boat cruise, it was so much fun, eating and drinking and cruising along watching the beautiful lights and scenary. They even take you to a bar for a drink on the house and a short tour of the red light district which was funny.

A romantic city and although we didn't spend alot of time in the hotel, it was out of the way of the loudness but close enough to get around everywhere very easily. We also felt safe and secure and it was always very clean.

We got the deal from secret hotels, so got a very good deal. I'm not sure how expensive it might be to book seperatly.

One other place to eat is Cafe in de wagg, very nice breakfasts/lunch.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the river and high up. Views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,684
    1,208
    269
    92
    49
See reviews for
540
1,512
139
474
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Our short stay was relaxing, helped by the lovely hotel and warm, friendly service from the staff. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and quiet, i thought being near the railway lines and roads we would hear a lot of traffic, nothing could be heard. Amsterdam is easily accessible, either walking, tram, or boat. We would be using this hotel again and hopefully have more time to enjoy amenities the hotel has available.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Moevenpick Amsterdam is located out of the main tourist district of Amsterdam- by tram (no 26), it's about 5 minutes away from the Central station or about a 1km walk.The area around the hotel is quiet- the views of amsterdam is breathtaking.

The hotel advertises itself as a 4 star hotel and it's a good 4 star- the rooms are spacious for european standards and well-insulated to external sounds- the beds comfortable- the room has a nice couch and a very big bathroom with a nice shower powerful shower and good hair-dryer. Coffee-tea amenities provided.

The best thing about this hotel is their strict 'no-smoking' policy hotel-wide and in Amsterdam, it's a good thing as the last hotel i stayed at, the second hand marijuana smoke from the adjoining rooms seeped into my bathroom/room.

Only downside is the check-in and check-out process was a bit slow due to the amount of people coming in and out. The staff however, are friendly and nice.

Will not hesitate to recommend this hotel- despite the distance to the city centre and other tourist attractions, Amsterdam is a small city and easily walkable and the trams system is very efficient and connects well throughout. A great stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Arrived on Wed 15th Feb in the morning at 10.30am. I think because they were quiet, we were able to check-in right away - which was fantastic! We were able to change and get into our winter clothes as it was freezing in Amsterdam........colder than Manchester!

Got checked in by Chris on reception - he was very professional & presentable (you would never guess he had been a mechanic in his former life!!).

During our stay we would take the complementary shuttle to Centraal Station in the morning when embarking on our daily tours, and then walk back in the evening to the hotel. The walk from Centraal to the hotel is about 15mins and from the city (Damrak) again 15 mins.

Breakfast was included in the price and this was exceptional!! The wife loved the variety - hot/cold. Fryed eggs/scrambled/omlets on demand. Service and variety was excellent.

On my next trip I was considering going to the Mint/Hilton hotel which is between Centraal and Movenpick hotel - but I think I would rather go to this hotel again.

Thanks again to Chris on reception (and to the irish chap who drove us daily to the station).

Just remember that you require to leave a daily deposit of 50 euros whilst staying at the hotel. We stayed for 4 nights so we deposited 200 euros which we got back fully on checking out on Sun 19th Feb. You can also pick up a free city map from reception which is very helpfull.

Room Tip: We were on the 16th floor (room 1604) - on the side facing the Bimhuis - excellent views of the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandola, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The hotel has an excellent location, just one stop by tram (No. 26) of Centraal Station. You can also walk to the hotel (about 800m).

For me it was the best hotel I've ever been, because in everything there is a note "touch" of quality.

The rooms are excellent as well as the views of the city.
The breakfast is very good, with plenty of choice and to my surprise, with "kitchen" live, as seen in the resorts of the Caribbean!
The service is personalized. Even the LCD of the room had a welcome message!

The only con is that the area around the hotel, it has little or nothing to enjoy. However, in just 10 minutes we are in the city center.

In short, in Amsterdam to find a hotel like this for only 99 € with breakfast included, was a find!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortsel, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The hotel is near the central train station and a 20 min walk to the city center or 10 min by bike taxi (which is faster then a taxi). The upper floors have an amazing view over the city or the waterside. There is absolutly no noise on any floor.

Room Tip: even room numbers
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We spent in Moevenpick 2 nights. Hotel is well situated -10 minutes walking distance from the Train Station, or one stop by tram (tram stop is just in front of the hotel, trams are going often), in a harbour - with a beautiful view! By check-in we asked if we can change room for one on a higher floor (originally we've got on the 2nd floor) - it was not a problem, we've got one on 16th floor. Receptionist "warned us" thats it's a room next to the lift (implying it might disturb us), but we didnt hear anything and it was worth changing for the view! Anyway, Amsterdam offers so much that we only slept there. Staff was nice and friendly, rooms spacious and clean, bathoorm as well - big and clean, tv with most of the international chanels.
Restaurant and bar deserve also a good word. We had drinks in a bar (nice staff, nice ambient), before that we made a reservation for a dinner in the restaurant and asked for a table by the window. When we came all the tables for 2 were taken, but weve still got one next to the window for 4 - nice gesture:-) Food was amazing!
Overall, happy with a choice. I recommend.

Room Tip: Higher floors rooms have beautiful view. Rooms next to the lift are not really noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#36 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,381 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#21 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.