We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"We really enjoyed our stay, Great Hotel"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tot 30% korting
Ranked #39 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Huntsville, Canada
1 review
“"We really enjoyed our stay, Great Hotel"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Everything went perfectly smooth with this Swiss Hotel..Rooms were well done, very clean and the view of the river was great. It was a short walk to pick up Tram #25 or #26 into the city. Get the all week pass for the trams, you can go anywhere in the city. The Front desk Team were warm and friendly and ask Concierge Paul, he will get you were you want to go.He made navigating the city of Amsterdam easy. It was my wife's birthday Paul reserved a nice special Restaurant for us. Thanks again Paul. Room service was on the mark, and even the room cleaners were nice. I did not have one problem with this Hotel
and would stay here again and I have recommended it to all my family and friends.

Room Tip: The way the Hotel was built every room has a good view the River or the City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear Paul,

Many thanks for the great review. We are looking forward to welcoming your friends and family to our hotel! Our concierge Paul receives many great comments from guests, thank you on his behalf for the one you have made.

Kind regards,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,226
    888
    186
    64
    39
See reviews for
328
1039
119
321
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

On arrival at Central Station, the multi storey Movenpick rises up a short distance away on the waterfront. We were met by the hotel minibus for the five minute drive. There is a bright, open lobby which also contains a bar, gift shop and free use of internet. Bedrooms are spacious and well equipped with a choice of walk-in shower or bath/shower. All room have excellent views, either towards the city centre or the river and suburbs. The only weakness was an ancient small TV, though I gather that they are due to be replaced in the near future. We had an excellent dinner in the restaurant; the quality and choice at breakfast was also very good, though a little chaotic with seating being at long, refectory type benches. Service in all parts of the hotel is outstanding. When we booked, we were a little concerned about the apparent distance from the city centre but it is walkable or within easy reach by the frequent trams which depart from nearby. All in all , an interesting change from the traditional Amsterdam hotels.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear sir,

For such great comments, I would like to express my thanks! You are right, we plan to replace our tv's for HD flat screens by the end of the year and offer a wider selection of international tv channels.
Our guests who complained about the benches in the first section of our restaurant will be happy to learn that they have been replaced by new chairs since the beginning of September, making it easier to manoeuvre!

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Amsterdam!

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is a nice new, modern hotel located at the Passenger Terminal, which is about a 15-20 minute walk from the back of Central Station or a one stop ride on the 25 or 26 Tram. If you are unfamiliar with Amsterdam and/or have lots of luggage, take the tram (or if it more than two people a taxi may be just as cheap).

This hotel is brand new and very clean, but it feels sterile. The rooms are very nice and big, the bedding is very comfortable, free wifi, the toiletries are very nice with an excellent bathroom, but there is nothing compelling about this hotel. It is to far away from even a nice bar or cafe -- you basically have to go back to Central Station and start from there. In some ways, you might as well be out at Schipol.

I liked it but probably wouldn't be my first choice when in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear sir,

Thank you for staying at our hotel, and for good comments in general! Fair to say that we do not have the main Amsterdam attractions right on our door steps! As mentioned before this is a particularity of our location which some travellers find preferable, knowing they are not far either. Hopefully our location is well described on our websites and litterature and you were not under the illusion that we were in the middle of it all. If you were then we are interested in receiving suggestions on how we can communicate better.

Kind regards,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I booked to stay at this hotel after seeing a deal on Expedia. I read the various reviews which seemed extremely positive and was not disappointed. The hotel was visable from Central station and only a 5 minute walk. The hotel also offered a free shuttle to Central Station, which was used when we were leaving on our final day.

We arrived a half an hour after check in and were told our room wasn't quite ready. Having said this, we barely had time to sit down before being given our room key. The hotel was stylish and all the staff were very friendly. We were given a 3 bed room, which consisted of 2 single beds and a sofa bed, all of which were very comfortable. We were placed on the 3rd floor and were very impressed by the size and style of the room. We had Wi-fi and satellite television. After a night out we realised our shower wasn't working properly. The hotel staff were fantastic and moved us to a new room with no fuss.

Our new room was on the 14th floor and we had an amazing view of the harbour and Central Station. During our stay we ordered room service, which we felt was of a resonable price for Amsterdam. Room service was speedy and professional. We also ate at the bar downstairs. The food was good and definitely comparable with prices in the City. As an added bonus the hotel offered a free Sauna and Gym. We used these during our stay and they were both of a very high standard.

This hotel was everything we wanted from a break in Amsterdam. It was quiet and we were able to walk or take the tram to all parts of the city. I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

The Movenpick is modern, stylish and clean. The staff were excellent, very professional and helpful.

The room was large and comfortable with good aircon, TV, fridge, large safe, Hifi and free wifi with good signal strength. The double bed was quite large and there was also a couch/bed in the room. Our room had a very large shower but no bath.

My wife used the gym every morning and said it was good. I'll take her word for it as I had a nice lie in instead.

The hotel is only one stop away from centraal station on the tram. It looked like it was within easy walking distance but we bought passes for the tram so we didn't try. There is also a free shuttle bus to the station as long as you let the hotel know you want to use it.

The only downer for us was the price of the breakfast, which at 24 euros per day each is a bit expensive. This wasn't a problem as there are loads of great cafes in the town centre open for breakfast.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you Mr Looney for this nice review! Our full buffet breakfast is 23 EUR! A more simple yet no less yummy breakfast can also be enjoyed in the cosy Silk Bar for a mere 6,50 EUR. Going to town, you will indeed be spoiled for alternatives. Can we recommend "Drie Graefjes" lunch room? It's a the Spui and they serve fabulous cakes made with Us recipes.

Best regards and thank you for choosing Moevenpick for your stay in Amsterdam!

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We bought and paid for our reservation at Movenpick in March of 2011, 5 months early, for a room prior to our Baltic cruise in August. After flying in 8 hours from the USA to London, then a 3 hour layover at Heathrow, finally arriving in Amsterdam, wrestling our luggage through the rain, we arrived at the Movenpick Hotel desk only to be told there was no room for us. There was a heated discussion, mostly on my side, and they told me that they had a room reserved for us at a superior hotel and a better room at no additional cost to us. But it was clear across town which defeated my purpose of selecting the Movenpick which was to be at the cruise boat docks. Their reason was that their “system” was faulty and it overbooked the hotel. Their staff was courteous but the mistake was inexcusable especially for an upscale hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear sir, dear madam,

Thank you for your comment, we sincerely regret the situation resulting in booking you out to another hotel. In the rare event that guests have to be booked out, we ensure at least the same quality of hotel, take care of the transport and will pay for one phone call. We try to book hotels in the vicinity, however that day we could not secure rooms with the first hotels of our list. Knowing in advance you were catching a cruise could have made a difference only if we had a choice at the time the overbooking was made clear to our staff. Hopefully the rest of your stay in Amsterdam went smoothly and you enjoyed a great cruise. Should you come back to Amsterdam, thank you for letting us know so that we can make it up to you should you change your mind and accept our excuses!

Kind regards,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Good hotel. Expensive, but everything is pretty much always working perfectly. Clean and cozy rooms. I love it. Just too expensive for me to go often :(

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Suites, Free in...
Show More
Binnenstad
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Suites, Best Va...
Show More
Dam Square
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Restaurant, Ind...
Show More
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#42 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Restaurant, Lux...
Show More
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Romantic, Resta...
Show More
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#20 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,041 reviews
Spa, Free inter...
Show More
Binnenstad
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.