We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfront Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, Amsterdam BR 1019, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Tot 30% korting
Ranked #39 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Waterfront Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

The hotel is located very close to the train station but away from the historic city center along the river. I loved the clean and modern design of the hotel along with the famous Swiss efficiency in the staff. The breakfast buffet is fantastic but a bit steep at 24 euros. Located between the new opera house and the passanger ferry terminal it is an interesting place to stay.

Room Tip: Any the higher floor rooms will get a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Dear guests,

Thank you for sharing a most interesting feedback mostly about the location of our hotel. We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to express satisfaction about your stay here. We are looking forward to keeping on providing quality service to all of our valued guests with Swiss efficiency! To add a bit of Swiss precision as well, I would like to add that our breakfast is 23 EUR, not 24. We think it is priced competitively on the Amsterdam market and are glad you enjoyed it!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,207
    871
    181
    62
    38
See reviews for
320
1012
119
320
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We spent the weekend in Amsterdam, the location is graet. there is a tram infront of the hotel that takes you to the center. it's 5 minutes waking to the central station.
The rooms are pleasant, clean, very nice, A great shower and a great view from the room.
The breakfast is reach & tasty.
They helped out with all our requests, and gave us a lot of helpful information.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerAmsterdam, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Dear guests,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your positive experiences in our hotel. We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to express your satisfaction. Comments like these do indeed motivate our associates to continue to strive to provide quality service to all of our valued guests.

We certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Quality rooms, good breakfast. Good service!
Good for families also!
During our stay we had an incident that we left our safety locker open (with valuables and cash!) and the staff locked it without touching any of the valuables inside!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii/Bangalore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Overall, our stay was great. The room was very spacious and clean. We had a corner room on the 3rd floor and it overlooked the canal and we saw 2 cruise ships docking next to the hotel. :) There were 2 single beds (pushed together to make a king), plus a sofa bed for our son. A mini-fridge and complimentary bottle of water, plus tea/coffee and kettle were in the room and restocked daily. The housekeeping staff and in-room dining staff were excellent. The room service food was pretty fabulous. There is a bit of a walk into the city center (Central Station) - about 1.5km, but if you take a tram (which is right outside the hotel), it's less than 5 minutes to the central station.

However, there was a problem with using our traveller's checks (in Euros) to pay our final bill (at check out). The day prior, we specifically asked the front desk staff if we could use our traveller's checks (in the local Euro currency) as payment for our room bill. The staff on hand said "Yes, as long as you use it for your room total and it's in the local Euro. There is no problem or commission charged."

Upon check out, a different staffer told us that we'd be charged a 5% commisson (or 50 Euros) for using our traveller's checks as payment, which was completely different than what we were told the previous day. Since we checked out at 8 AM, there was no chance of going to a bank or foreign exchange place to change our travller's checks. The staffer on duty also told us that "we were misinformed" the day before and he was highly unprofessional while helping us. We were then charged the 50 Euro extra and no other apologies were given to us for being misled the previous day.

Up until this point, we were highly satisfied with Movenpick and would have recommended them. But, after dealing with the very unprofessional staff at check out, our view of this hotel was definitely spoiled and we would think twice before returning or recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stirling
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

This was our first ever trip t oAmsterdam and we were delighted that we stayed in the Movenpick. Upon checking in the staff were very efficient and welcoming. We had booked a standard room which was extremely spacious and it had a seating area by the window that looks over the fabulous views of Amsterdam (room 1828). The cleanliness of the room made it look brand new! It also had a fridge and a safety deposit box in the room which was a great bonus. They also offer free internet if you need to go online and print things out. The room service is also very efficient with a great choice at reasonable prices 24 hours a day.
The city centre is about a 10 - 20 minute walk from the hotel but there is also a tram that departs daily & hourly from outside the Movenpick Hotel (Tram number 25). It is 2.25 Euros per person for an hours pass or you can buy a 24 hour pass for 7 euros per person whick is great value. I would reccomend this if you are going as far down as the museum district. Lastly to save money avoid taxis at all costs! dont get a taxi from outside of the Airport - we got one and it was 60 euros from the airport to the Movenpick hotel. Use the train station that is accesible from inside the airport terminal and you will get to the Central station for 4 euros per person - bargin! It only takes about 5 - 10 minutes to walk from central station to the Movenpick but if you arrive at the central station between 7am & 6pm then the Movenpick will provide you with a complimentary shuttle bus to their hotel.
We will definatley be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice, Poland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Very nicely located in the docklands, just by the ferry terminal and 2 tram stops from the main train station and basically city centre. Clean, spacious rooms, good food (altough with Swiss twist which not everyone may enjoy), nice views from the upper floors. Quite expensive.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Movenpick in Amsterdam is a very good hotel with great views of the river and close to the big railway hub in Amsterdam. The rooms are a little small but quite comfortable. Very small gym and no hotel pool. Staff are friendly and helpful. As a business traveler it is a good place to go stay at. Wifi is free but only at around 500kb a second. If you want faster internet you need to buy it. But I did not have trouble with internet for emails and small stuff on the web. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, Amsterdam BR 1019, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Occupancy Marketing, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.