We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 30%
Ranked #39 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Weybridge
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights booked it through Thomas Cook paid for 3 nights and got the 4th free which was quite a good deal for a 4* hotel in Amsterdam. A child can stay for free in the room as long as they sleep on the sofa bed which my son found really comfy.We had a room on the 6th floor with a great view of the river watching the cruise ships arrive and depart. The room was very clean and it had a nice bathroom, there are tea and coffee facilities which are refilled each day. Breakfast wasn't included in our tarrif but 23 euros is alot for breakfast but you can get some cheaper breakfast options in the bar or just eat breakfast in town.If you have teenagers there are two free playstations outside the restaurant if they want that sort of entertainment.
Don't bother with the expensive transfer bus from the airport that goes around all the hotels just get the train from the airport to central station and exit on the river side, ring the hotel and the free shuttle bus arrives twice and hour and will take you to the hotel it's very easy and much cheaper. You have to book the shuttle bus so if you are using it for your flight back book it in advance as it only carries about 6 to 8 pax on each journey.The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the centre of town but it's a nice walk if you want to be in the centre of Amsterdam you need to stay elsewhere or use the trams No 25 and 26 stop next to the hotel. Tram 25 goes to Dam square in two or 3 stops, you can buy the tram passes from the gift shop in the hotel 7 euros for 24 hours.Remember you have to pay a 5% hotel tax on check out. We really enjoyed staying at this hotel and it was quite nice to return to the peace and quiet at night and watch the boats on the river and then be refreshed to see the sights of Amsterdam the next day. You can rent bikes from near the hotel but we used Mikes bikes and went on a great countryside tour which lasted 4 hours and cost 22 euros, well recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,171
    864
    184
    61
    32
See reviews for
350
1082
121
324
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We stayed with our 3 young children for 3 nights while I attended a conference at the hotel. we stayed in an executive suite with interconnecting rooms. The rooms were very well appointed, clean and modern with comfortable furnishings. Spacious rooms, huge bathrooms and generous wardrobes and storage. We stayed on the 15th floor with incredible views of the city. The buffet breakfast was lovely and both bar and restaurant were great. Sadly the reception desk service was disappointing....despite being booked well in advance, the hotel had the wrong dates for our check-in and departure. When checking in I was told they were expecting us the previous day and so they had given our interconnecting rooms away and could only offer us 2 separate rooms. I explained that we have young children so that would not be suitable, so we were offered to rooms on the same floor, possibly adjacent...still not good enough, but the man at the desk didn't seem to care at all, told me it was all he could offer. (Thankfully the conference team sorted it out for us). 2 days later I wasn't able to access my room - they were expecting me to check out that day, so no access...this time they quickly rectified the problem. Other than that, it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerAmsterdam, Marketing Coordinator at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Dear Ms. Perrella,

Thank you for choosing the Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre as your residence on your recent trip to Amsterdam and for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback.
We sincerely regret the inconsistency of service that you encountered during your recent stay with us. We would like to mention that this error has been made due to the rooming list we received from your company. On this list was stated that you and your family would arrive on the 13th of April and check-out on the 16th of April. Unfortunately this was not the case and we were misinformed. As the hotel was fully booked it was more difficult for our reception staff to provide you with the requested room preference.
We are happy to hear that despite this misunderstanding you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again.

With warm regards,
Albert Rouwendal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

The hotel is excellent. It's new, everything works, the staff is very courteous. It is about 5-10 minutes walk from Centraal Station. The route is pretty safe during the day and night. We rent bicycles and it was perfect.
It's worth paying a little more and staying in executive rooms. The view from the room is incredible (we were on the 21st floor!). And between 17:00 and 19:00 were snacks and drinks free. They were very good.
The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

The Moevenpick is a beautiful hotel with great amenities. The rooms are spacious and very nice with beautiful bathrooms. The hotel is very clean and modern with very helpful staff.

The one issue I had with the Movenpick was the location. While it was beautiful being on the water and having great views from our 11th floor room, the hotel is a bit out of the way. It is about a 10 minute walk to the central train station, but it takes around 30 minutes to walk to any major sights other than the red light district.

I would probably stay here again since the hotel is so comfortable and beautiful, but the location was definitely a bit of a downside for me since I enjoy being in the center of things.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for a week-end got it as a mystery hotel with easy-to-book at a special rate. Had a room on the 9th floor which gives you a spectacular view of amsterdam. The draw back is mainly in getting by foot to central station and city centre is rather like going thro' a building site. I enquired at book in how much was the breakfast and was quoted a very step €23 now i discovered the following morning that the bar was serving breakfast for far less this was never pointed out to me, The other concern i would have is that there were signs of mildew in the shower cubical which would indicate that the hotel is lacking in cleanliness that one would expect from a hotel of this standard.Also the kettle in room was faulty and showed no indication of when it was serviced.

Room Tip: They appear to have deals for more than two night2
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerAmsterdam, Marketing Coordinator at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments. One of the remarks on your stay in the Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam is its location not being perceived as central - city centre. The city centre is quite broad and indeed we are not located on the dam square or Kalverstraat. Our hotel is situated in the Eastern Docklands area, a new and upcoming area in the city centre with great views, location on the water’s edge and designer shops and restaurants. It is an easy reachable location for guests coming by train from the Central Station, by tram (25 or 26) or by car. As an extra service we provide a free shuttle service to the Central Station every half hour (on request). We do apologize for the possible lack of explanation of these services.

Your feedback about the mildew and breakfast in the bar has been forwarded to the management of the related departments. This kind of feedback helps us re-examine some internal processes and procedures so that we can continue to strive to improve the quality of our service and operation.

We look forward having the pleasure of welcoming you back in order to demonstrate it on the occasion of your next visit to Amsterdam.

With warm regards,
Albert Rouwendal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011 via mobile

Good hotel, good shape.Great view from upper floors. Stuff at the reception could be better, concierge desk very good and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

The hotel is about 10 mins walk away from central station but as the walk is along the river, this was actually quite nice. There are trams that stop outside the hotel which can take you to Dam Sq for €3.20 or there is a free shuttle bus from the hotel. The hotel was very clean and quiet and the staff were very. We were offered an upgrade when we arrived for €45 per night which includes a free bar between 5-7 in the evening. After finding out just how expensive Amsterdam is, I would upgrade next time as this also includes breakfast

Room Tip: Upgrade if the offer is still available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.