We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koninginneweg 34-36, 1075 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #191 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quite Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Good location, friendly staff, and OK rooms (a little small though).

The location of just excellent. Close to public transport, and a couple of minutes walk from Vondelpark. I would probably stay there again on my next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    285
    144
    62
    42
See reviews for
70
305
40
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

This was a business trip where I brought my wife along. We paid a healthy price for the room, €170 per night.

When we first arrived and were given a room key I thought there was a mistake. The room was so small you couldn't even walk around the bed. And it was shabby, my god. Silver duct tape around the windows because apparently they didn't seal properly, broken wood exposed where something had been damaged years ago and not repaired and cobwebs in the corners. In a word, horrible.

I complained about the room and was offered another. Without going into details this was just a larger version if the first one. Plastic furniture. And I don't mean stylistic Nordic design, I mean cheap crap that college students would put in their place when the orange crates break.

The staff were pretty nice though. They know they work in a dump and are slightly embarrassed that you are being ripped off and they try to make it up for you a bit.

Also, I liked the location. At first is seems really out of they way but there are stores and restaurants around, they just take a little exploring to find. The tram runs by the hotel so you can be in central Amsterdam in about 15-20 minutes if you wish.

But really, avoid this place unless you are paying youth hostel rates, because that is essentially what it is. Oh, yes, and extra €19 each for breakfast, just in case they haven't ripped you off enough with the room.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Adequate hotel.The hotel is in a very good location, its in a residentual area that is close to the Vondelpark, has a tram stop 100 metres away which is about 2 mins to the city centre. You can also cycle , hire a Bike from the hotel and its a 10 -15 minute cycle to city.

The room I had was a good size and acceptable with a large bed and average sized bathroom.

Id agree it has a more 3 star feel to it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Didn't feel like 4 star hotel quality. Rooms were a good size. We requested a cot for the baby but there wasn't one in the room and it took the staff 2 hours to find one, which was not ideal when the baby needed to sleep. Breakfast is very average and definitely not worth the 20 Euros. Take a 5 minute walk to any one of the cafes around the corner for a much better breakfast

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I was supposed to stay 2 nights here but ended up staying only one night ( change of traveling plans ). I like the hotel, the neighborhood is really nice and quiet and the tram to the city center is just 1 minute walk.
The guys at the reception were really nice and helpful.
I just had to wait loooong for the guy at the bar to show up, I guess he was busy doing something else. Only think I found a little bit uncomfortable is the bathroom with transparent walls inside the bedroom. The room was quite nice itself, light and clean but having no walls around the bathroom felt a bit weird especially if you are sharing the room with someone else.
But for the price I paid I would definitely chose this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Rooms tend to vary in their comfort. Building 1 seems to be more modern than the Reception Building. Even so, be prepared not to be able to keep toilet kit in bathroom - no room. Buffet breakfast food is ample and adequate but often no enough bowls, cups, etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was a pretty underwhelming hotel stay. Even though it was a Monday night, I got the proverbial room at the top in the attic which someone had converted for when all the others would be full. And it was suffused with an unpleasant and permanent smell. This was so noticeable that it pretty much defined the stay. Apart from that, everything was all just about fine, in a sort of lacklustre, nothing-impressive way. If this is your only option for a stay in Amsterdam, don't stay in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Resist the top floor in the 'annex' at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Address: Koninginneweg 34-36, 1075 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza
Park Plaza Vondel Amsterdam
Vondel Park Plaza Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;