We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Park Plaza Vondelpark” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam to your Saves list
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koninginneweg 34-36, 1075 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #170 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Park Plaza Vondelpark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This was my 3rd time staying at this hotel and I would stay there again. The rooms were clean, decent size and fairly quite. The location was in a quite, clean, safe neighborhood; next to a beautiful park and only a few steps from the tram which takes you to the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, city center and Centraal Station (train station).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    370
    189
    88
    54
See reviews for
88
412
54
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Fine for a quick business trip, but would be disappointed if it was pleasure. Very thin walls - could hear the elevator all night, glass walled bathroom in the room is also quite odd. Breakfast adequate.

Room Tip: Make sure you're not next to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I staid 2 times this year on this place, quite close to my business venue with very good pricing. The service at the reception was very, very nice, but never the less, due to many international (apparently mainly Russian or baltic people) clients with weak English knowledge I had to wait my turn ...the fancy design in the foyer and in the room was a nice eye-catcher, but the dirty walls or the riven carpet in the room floors was disgusting. For reaching out the rooms I had always to take the stairs up and down, no convenient access with all my luggage given. For my 2nd stay, there was an ugly smell in the room-entry on the first floor, coming from the toilette: it was clean, of course, but apparently the sewer was not working well .....Nope, I think this was my last time at this place, I will see .....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Location was wonderful. We lived in Amsterdam a couple of blocks away from the hotel. First room we were assigned was just horrible. Smelled and baseboards were rotting. It was on the basement level. We asked to please be moved. We were then given a "business suite #4" in another building. The room was a good size. The room is carpeted and it looked like it had not been cleaned in a while. Everything about this room just was so worn out. My husband needed to get some work done and there was not even an electrical connection close to the desk. We had to call and ask for an extension cord.

One thing we do have to say is that the staff at the front desk was very helpful. They did what they could to accomodate us so that made staying at the hotel better.

We will not be staying here again unless they remodel and upgrade the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

A bit far from the action but tram no. 2 passes right in front of the hotel and would take you to dam square in 15 mins. The rooms are decently big and clean. Breakfast is limited, cold cuts, sausages, eggs, cereals, breads, croissants etc. People are the reception are quite helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were hoping for a good base to see Amsterdam and the room was tiny with twin beds pushed together, shower and no bath and smokey smell in the room. We asked for a room change which was available on line but they wouldn't change us to a better room. I just don't understand why any hotel wouldn't give a better room if available to protect their reputation. On line there is a bigger room with a bath for €60 less than we are paying. very sad!! We won't be back

Room Tip: Check the size before you book unless you want a match box!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Where to start with the Park Plaza? Perhaps with the website? It’s described as ‘One of the Top Amsterdam City Centre Hotels’: I would never describe it as ‘top’ and it’s certainly not city centre. I have no idea which rooms are featured in the photographs but they bear no resemblance to the rooms I saw. The company has obviously redefined ‘basic room’ as ‘superior room’, presumably on the basis that by the time you realise what it’s really like, it’ll be too late.

We arrived late morning and the receptionist who checked us in did a reasonably efficient job but there was nothing in the way of a welcome. She explained that the room wouldn’t be ready until 2pm so we went out for a walk. We got back later in the afternoon and eventually got a room more or less as promised on booking.

My partner had backache after the 2nd night because of the poor state of the mattresses. And then there's the bathroom. What sort of designer thinks it’s a good idea to have a frosted glass door on a bathroom with the lavatory just inside the door? Presumably whoever it was thought it was a way to get daylight into the bathroom. It would have been better to have decent lighting in there so that you could walk past the door when your partner was using the lavatory without embarrassment. The shower was hopeless – one of those rain-type things but the pressure was so low that you couldn’t get close enough to the wall to get under the water properly.

The noise in the bedroom was surprising: sounds of voices from other rooms, traffic noise from the main road outside and the banging of room doors until after midnight and then from 06:45 in the morning. It wasn't because the other people were having a party - merely that the bedroom doors have heavy-duty closers on them so that it's impossible to shut the doors quietly.

Breakfast was a shambles: there were two staff on duty although one was preoccupied with trying to get people to sign their bills. Most of the time used crockery was left on tables except for the one occasion when my partner and I both went to the buffet and got back to the table to find that our coffee, orange juice and plates had all been removed. The buffet would have been good if it had been kept stocked. The yoghourt bowls were usually empty, it was rare to find bowls for fruit etc or spoons, they were often out of plates and coffee cups. On one morning, they had run out of bread rolls, butter, jam, yoghourt, bowls, plates, spoons, coffee cups… On this particular morning there was a man in a suit who appeared to be some sort of supervisor. He obviously realised that things were bad and disappeared.

Against that, most of the reception staff were very cheerful and very helpful. That’s about the best I can say about it. The fact that the management haven't seen fit to comment on any of the reviews here probably tells us all we need to know about their attitude to customers.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the park side of the hotel if you want to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Address: Koninginneweg 34-36, 1075 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza
Park Plaza Vondel Amsterdam
Vondel Park Plaza Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.