We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koninginneweg 34-36, 1075 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #191 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Redcar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved it here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed here for my Birthday in February 2011 and I had a lovely time! I wasn't in the main block but in the one next door. I booked last minute from latebookings so got a bargain and when I arrived I found that I had been upgraded to a room with a balcony and had fresh fruit and water in my room with a note saying Happy Birthday! They also gave me vouchers for a free drink in the bar. All these lovely touches really made my day!
The hotel is easy to get to and is on one of the main tram routes. it is right next door to Vondelpark which is nice for a walk.
Loved it and appreciated it! Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    284
    144
    62
    42
See reviews for
70
305
40
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Our son recently moved to Amsterdam for his career and is loving the way of life there, come over for the weekend and I'll show you some of the sights said he, so off we went.
Rather than stay in his one bedroom apartment in Vondelpark we stayed at the Park Plaza hotel just across the road, the hotel is a clean and tidy place to stay with free WIFI and perfectly acceptable rooms, although the corridors tend to be a little pink, if you stay here you will see what I mean for yourself. The bar is reasonably priced and well tended by the staff and reception is efficient and well presented, our check in and out was painless and quick.
Overall I would recommend this hotel to any traveller looking to stay short term in Amsterdam.
What I would find difficult to recommend is the national airline KLM. We have travelled three times with this airline, an amalgamation of KLM, Air France and Delta Airlines of America and only once without incident. Our first taste of KLM was from Amsterdam to Milan for our friends wedding in Stressa on lake Majori in Northern Italy, on this occasion they managed to lose my suitcase and I therefore attended a society wedding dressed in borrowed casual clothes, the suitcase arrived 24 hours later, without explanation. Next was our latest trip to Amsterdam where we flew there without incident and enjoyed our weekend seeing the amazing sights of Amsterdam to find on checking in at the airport for our return journey we had been put on standby for some reason, why us we don't know, we booked our flights at the beginning of January and checked in online as we were supposed to do but KLM had changed the aircraft from an Airbus A320 type which has 2 sets of 3 across seats to a City Hopper which only has 2 sets of 2 across seats leaving passengers without seats for their return journey and causing much distress to their customers, I have to say at this point that we did get on the aircraft, but other travellers appear to have been left at the gate to get a later plane. Treating your customers in this way is not acceptable KLM you cannot rely on passengers not showing up and reducing places aboard your aircraft.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of this hotel overlook the garden and have no outside noise from trams and traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in January. While all staff I encountered were nice and helpful, I did not have the best stay at this property. It is in dire need of an update. I had trouble sleeping because of the road noise, but switched to a room on the backside of the hotel and slept better on my final night. I only crashed here, so can't comment on food service, gym facilities, etc. I did like the neighborhood, and it is only a short tram ride away from the museum district. The neighborhood is upscale, and I enjoyed walking the neighborhoods and visiting locals restaurants and shops. The price was also good, which probably should have indicated to me this property is older and not in high demand. So, if you want a cheap place to stay within the Carlson group of properties, it is okay for a night or two, but nowhere I'd want to spend a lot of time.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

First time to Amsterdam so it was all trial and error, bought a tram card for 48hrs at tourist info at airport, pre booked shuttle from airport and all went well and got us to hotel in about 15 mins. Booked in very efficiently and off to our room. Room not bad, decor looking a little tired, picture missing from screw above bed and the novelty of having the bathroom and toilet behind a glass cubicle means you have to be on good terms if with someone. The breakfast was good although expensive, 19€ plus taxes but we were fortunate reception gave us a 2 for 1 voucher, good choice and presented in a very clean and organised room. The bar was pleasant and enjoyed a few nice drinks there. As regards location it is on tram route 2 with the stop (Stop called Emmastraat) less than 2 minutes walk from hotel. This tram 2 goes right through the centre of Amsterdam, terminating at the Central station which allows you to change to other trams along the route. All in all a pleasant long weekend stay at a nice hotel. Just one additional point Marchel on reception went out of his way when we were leaving to make sure we could pre print our return air line tickets and he even made sure the shuttle we had booked was going to pick us up - great service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I have been several times in Amsterdam and can compare various hotels. I definítely would come back to this design Hotel. Breakfast was great, our room in the house next to the main building cool, and if you don´t like stylish things, like glass front to the bathroom...then don´t go to a stylish Hotel.
I am coming back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Being a Club Carlson Member we have chosen this hotel because they advertised a good location in the center of Amsterdam - but it cost almost 20 Euro by taxi to get to real center where all the restaurants and entertainment places are. Room decor was VERY strange, really small bathroom
with glass half doors - so You feel like You are taking shower in Your bedroom!
Good thing is - beautiful park is 5 minutes walk from the hotel - so if You come to Amsterdam to have a rest , this is a right place.
DEFINITELY not a 4 star place!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

A great place for a cheap weekend in Amsterdam. 2 minutes walk to a tram stop. Bedroom was a decent size, bathroom was interesting, wouldn't be the place to take someone you don't know that well!! Decent buffet breakfast and fully stocked bar! Will be going back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Address: Koninginneweg 34-36, 1075 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza
Park Plaza Vondel Amsterdam
Vondel Park Plaza Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.