We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay...could use an update” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam to your Saves list
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koninginneweg 34-36, 1075 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #184 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Iowa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Okay...could use an update”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in January. While all staff I encountered were nice and helpful, I did not have the best stay at this property. It is in dire need of an update. I had trouble sleeping because of the road noise, but switched to a room on the backside of the hotel and slept better on my final night. I only crashed here, so can't comment on food service, gym facilities, etc. I did like the neighborhood, and it is only a short tram ride away from the museum district. The neighborhood is upscale, and I enjoyed walking the neighborhoods and visiting locals restaurants and shops. The price was also good, which probably should have indicated to me this property is older and not in high demand. So, if you want a cheap place to stay within the Carlson group of properties, it is okay for a night or two, but nowhere I'd want to spend a lot of time.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    310
    166
    73
    46
See reviews for
74
339
46
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

First time to Amsterdam so it was all trial and error, bought a tram card for 48hrs at tourist info at airport, pre booked shuttle from airport and all went well and got us to hotel in about 15 mins. Booked in very efficiently and off to our room. Room not bad, decor looking a little tired, picture missing from screw above bed and the novelty of having the bathroom and toilet behind a glass cubicle means you have to be on good terms if with someone. The breakfast was good although expensive, 19€ plus taxes but we were fortunate reception gave us a 2 for 1 voucher, good choice and presented in a very clean and organised room. The bar was pleasant and enjoyed a few nice drinks there. As regards location it is on tram route 2 with the stop (Stop called Emmastraat) less than 2 minutes walk from hotel. This tram 2 goes right through the centre of Amsterdam, terminating at the Central station which allows you to change to other trams along the route. All in all a pleasant long weekend stay at a nice hotel. Just one additional point Marchel on reception went out of his way when we were leaving to make sure we could pre print our return air line tickets and he even made sure the shuttle we had booked was going to pick us up - great service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I have been several times in Amsterdam and can compare various hotels. I definítely would come back to this design Hotel. Breakfast was great, our room in the house next to the main building cool, and if you don´t like stylish things, like glass front to the bathroom...then don´t go to a stylish Hotel.
I am coming back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Being a Club Carlson Member we have chosen this hotel because they advertised a good location in the center of Amsterdam - but it cost almost 20 Euro by taxi to get to real center where all the restaurants and entertainment places are. Room decor was VERY strange, really small bathroom
with glass half doors - so You feel like You are taking shower in Your bedroom!
Good thing is - beautiful park is 5 minutes walk from the hotel - so if You come to Amsterdam to have a rest , this is a right place.
DEFINITELY not a 4 star place!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

A great place for a cheap weekend in Amsterdam. 2 minutes walk to a tram stop. Bedroom was a decent size, bathroom was interesting, wouldn't be the place to take someone you don't know that well!! Decent buffet breakfast and fully stocked bar! Will be going back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had room # 431, a small,somewhat run down, shabby room. Scratches all over the place. We had a prepaid room through Priceline for $90 per night, otherwise we would have left on the spot. The second day no housekeeping until 4:30 pm, but it was only after we complaint the job was done. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our impression? Too nice!
Ideally located for all main tourist areas of Amsterdam,
the tram stop is just around the corner and well connected as well during the night.
The area itself is very quiet, just 15 minutes away from the main centre of the city
but around Vondelpark you can easily find out too many things to see and do.

I had a problem with the payment the day before our arrival, and Frank took it under his supervision. He treated us as his personal guests, I'm not getting down on details but let's say that the whole thing has made a marvellous impression on us both!
What to say? Thanks!
And 10+ for mattress and shower!

Consider this hotel for a future stay: OF COURSE!
Nice one!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Address: Koninginneweg 34-36, 1075 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, EasyToBook, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza
Park Plaza Vondel Amsterdam
Vondel Park Plaza Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.