We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes and No...I'm Torn!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam to your Saves list
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koninginneweg 34-36, 1075 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #188 of 353 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yes and No...I'm Torn!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We used this hotel to make a group booking for our wedding guests, most of which, were new to Amsterdam.

The new parts of the hotel are excellent. Very trendy with exciting design features and furniture in all the communal areas and bedrooms. A sweet hand written note and drink and snack on arrival in your room and lots of them offering lovely views. There are however many un-refurbished bedrooms. These are fine; nothing more. This lead to a few issues when dealing with a large group all paying the same price for extremely different qualities of bedroom.

We stayed in the Suite which was great, no complaints.

The main issue with our group was bathrooms. Many had problems with their bathroom sinks - either draining extremely slowly or being totally blocked. Another point to note is that the newer rooms may not be suitable for friends/family but more suited to couples, depending on how shy you are when it comes to showering and bodily functions...!The bathroom wall is thin glass with just a frosted centre line to shield the view and it open top and bottom so almost all that goes on in there can be seen and heard.

The hotel bar is surprising cheap,and a good breakfast is on offer. At the time we stayed, lunch was not available in the hotel. The location is perfect for visitors with museums, Vondelpark, and Leidseplein all in walking distance.

I'm a bit torn on this hotel really...my personal stay was great value and problem free but I heard different stories from members of my party.

Room Tip: I would recommend requesting an upgraded room when making a booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    385
    202
    92
    63
See reviews for
93
430
55
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Having read some mixed reviews I was a little concerned about staying in this hotel, but it was much more affordable than ones I was looking at in the centre. The service was very good. The room would have been lovely if not for the carpet (purple with orange blobs on it) and bathroom (glass door separating the bathroom from the bedroom= no privacy). It was clean and had all the amenities we needed. I had staying by the central station a few years ago and much preferred this location. It was a little walk out of the centre, but through either the park or interesting streets. The tram stop is round the corner - they run every ten minutes or so and it takes about 20 to get into the centre. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, IL
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. The front desk people could not have been more helpful. Also had great service in the bar. However our room was poorly lighted - there was no light by the desk so it was difficult to work there at night. Also the toilet and shower were part of the room - only separated by a partially frosted glass partition. We did like the little refrigerator availability but very little storage space was a problem.
Another positive was the location - a very short walk to the tram stop and walking distance to several good restaurants.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with a separate bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel is located in a very nice area, called Amsterdam Oud-Zuid, near the Vondelpark. A big park in the middle of Amsterdam.
The hotel is easy to reach by public transportation, use the tram line 2, exit Emmastraat. Or it is a 20 minute walk from the Leidsche Plein.
The reception area is nice and tidy and very modern. We booked a superior room and were given a room on the 6th floor on the backside of the hotel. This is very nice as it is quiet and you can only hear the birds sing. The front might be a bit different as the tram is running through the street.
The room is quite nice but it was very warm. Which surprised us as it had been quite cold in the Netherlands the days before. The room has A/C but it makes quite some noice and it was unable to cool the room. it stayed 25 degrees.
The room has coffee and tea making facilities which we like and there was some complementary Arizona Ice tea. A pleasant surprise.
What we did not like was the bathroom. As we like design hotels we are used to glas doors, but the door to the bathroom did not close at all. So no privacy what so ever. It was badly constructed.

The room certainly had a lot of potential but it was just a bit worn down.

The breakfast room is very nice. Very light and the buffet was fine as well. A typical Dutch breakfast buffet. Fresh fruit, different kind of bread, 2 kinds of yoghurt, good coffee and plenty other things to choose from.

The staff was kind and helpful.

I think I would choose a different hotel next time, although I loved the area. If they would do some work on the rooms, renovating the bathroom and A/C I am sure I would come back but for now I think it was an one time only.

Room Tip: a room on the back side of the hotel is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed in this hotel, as my usual choice of hotels in Amsterdam were fully booked. The hotel is in a nice quiet area of the city, a little out of the way, but in a good way!
There are some nice unassuming restaurants nearby (including an excellent Tapas restaurant), and you cannot beat the location for being basically on the edge of Vondel park. One of my key needs for a hotel when on business is a nice area to go running.
The room itself though was absolutely terrible. The door was exactly the width of my shoulders, and I'm not a big guy. The size of the room was fine (all hotels in amsterdam are small, due to space being a premium in the city), but zero effort has been put into its appearance and comfort. Many of the army barracks I used to stay in would rate above this. A few points:
- No decor whatsoever
- Two pillows on a double bed only
- A chair which dated from before the industrial revolution
- The desk was only just deep enough to fit my laptop with the screen open
If you are reading this, ensure you pay for a better room, as the ones on the website are nothing like what I stayed in.
The front desk were nice and friendly, but I suppose they have to be, to prepare you for the room they are going to ask you to stay in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks like the pictures on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
56 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The staff were really helpful and even gave us some free herbal tea in a bottle and wafers! the room was adequate, not really worth the bad reviews on here, a little basic but free wifi + air con / tv , bathrooms were nice, bedrooms could be updated but otherwise fair price and hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Address: Koninginneweg 34-36, 1075 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza
Park Plaza Vondel Amsterdam
Vondel Park Plaza Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.