We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet,idlyllic stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam to your Saves list
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koninginneweg 34-36, 1075 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #190 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Quiet,idlyllic stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is situated beside one of Amsterdam's famous city park,Vondelpark.
It was great,knowing that you can just kick off your heels and dress,change into jogging gear,and get some jogging done,without any fuss.

The tram stop is situated within 2min walk from the hotel,and there wasn't any problem getting to city centre from there.
I managed to sneak in some visits to the various world-renowned museums,though I was in Amsterdam on a tight schedule,much thanks to the great advice from the Reception staff in the hotel.
They helped me plan my visiting time,advised me on prepaid online tickets, and transport time via tram.

Breakfast was good,as the buffet selection boast of a great variety of cheese and bread. Staples like ham,eggs,grains were also provided.
It was a pleasure,sitting in the restaurant in the morning,with a good cup of coffee, and watching the streets waking up with activities.

It was a good and comfortable stay on the whole.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    323
    170
    78
    48
See reviews for
76
351
49
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel was quite a bit out of town when we had been told it was central we don't like to catch public transport too much but prefer the walk, it was a bit far out for that, the hotel rooms were pretty dingy and small, our bed was lumpy and cold, and really Pink Pink Pink walls doors I felt like I was in the red light district

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel, and the experience was mixed.

Location wise, it was on the tram line and about 15 minutes from Centraal Station. There are also loads of nice bars and restaurants around for people who want to get away from the crowds (we recommend Loetje).

Reception staff were efficient and very helpful with any enquiries, and the bar and public areas were great. We had drinks in the bar one night, and the prices were actually reasonable by Amsterdam standards.

The room was a bit eclectic - mismatched furniture, and a grotty orange carpet. The room also smelt of cannabis, so not sure if a previous occupant had been smoking in there. We were also right in front of the elevator, which was quite noisy.

The bed wasn't too comfortable, and was two single beds pushed together, with two single duvets. The room is obviously for a couple, so I don't understand this at all. Also experienced this in Brussels, so it may be a continental thing.

And finally, the bathroom, which was very odd. It was basically a wet room, with a toilet in it, and frosted glass walls that did not go up to the ceiling, and a door with a massive gap. I was there with my long-time boyfriend, and we aren't exactly shy around each other but it was a bit strange basically peeing in the bedroom. The sink is on the outside of the wet room, and was much nicer. The bathroom really pulls down my rating for this hotel. Surely they could have built a wet room with solid walls?!

For the price, this hotel was excellent value, especially by Amsterdam standards, but its really pushing it for four stars.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Hotel staff are very polite and helpful. I upgraded us to an executive room but it was still pretty small (grey curtains, orange (dirty) carpet, chair, small bathroom with bath and toilet and sink outside of bathroom in the main bedroom. It wasn't what I would class an executive room.

The location is great, really near vondelpark and about a 15/20 min bikeride away from the main town area of Amsterdam. Nice and quiet in residential area and away from hussle and bussle. Get the train to Central Station and Tram 2 from there to the hotel, tram stop 2 mins from hotel.

We had a small glass of white wine from the hotel bar and it cost 11 euros! so expensive!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Just returned from a 4 day break in Amsterdam.I have stayed in this hotel a number of times. Had a Living Social deal that made no sense denying a good break in Dammy.

The reception staff had changed this was the first disappointment as the current staff are not very helpful. Wereas the previous staff took the time out to be helpful and very courteous - Even remembering returning customers.

Breakfast was OK with a range on different options to suit customer taste.

The hotel is a distance from the centre of Amsterdam but for me this makes more of a feature of this hotel than a disadvantage. The no. 2 tram takes you door to door with the centre - if that is your wish.

The rooms are clean - there is a noise issue with other customers leaving or returning to their rooms and the cleaners in the morning but I took this in my stride.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We really weren't sure what to expect from this hotel, and when we were being dropped off by the coach it seemed to be a long way from the centre. We needent have worried at all, there was a tram stop a few yards from the hotel and we used them to get everywhere we needed to be.

The hotel was definately a little out of the ordinary and we loved it. The room was lovely, so many little touches to make it special. Very comfortable. Couldnt fault it.

Staff were helpful and friendly, we stayed for breakfast and it was definately worth it. If, or should I say when, we go back to Amsterdam we will definately come back here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

For 2 years now, my partner and I have been a fan of the Park Plaza hotel chain. There 4* hotels are well up to the job and reasonably priced. We stayed here for 3 nights. Like most of the Park Plaza hotels, the furnishings are quite quirky

The Park Plaza Vondelpark is split into 3 buildings. When we walked in the staff at reception were very friendly and helpful and we got upgraded to a business suite for free. The room was very spacious with a king size bed and a 32inch plasma tv. The hotel is styled like many Amsterdam hotels with an adjoining bathroom separated by frosted glass. The bathroom was a large wet room with a good powerful shower and nice furnishings. The only problem some partners would have is with the privacy in the bathroom as you can hear everything.

The best way to get around the city is with bikes and the hotel has some for rental. I would definitely recommend using bikes for the trip if the weather is nice as it is so easy to get around everywhere. It is a 10 minute bike ride to the centre and certainly not too strenuous as the country is flat as a pancake. The first day of hiring a bike is 15 euro and then 12 euro for each consecutive day. I'm not sure how these prices compare to the bike hire in the city however we thought it would be worth getting them from the hotel as at the end of the trip we just dropped the keys into reception rather than having to get a taxi or tram back from the bike hire shop.

We didn't eat or drink at the hotel so i cant comment on that. We chose not to have included breakfast which worked out well as here is a wonderful cafe (Willemspark grand cafe) 200 metres towards town that does lovely breakfasts such as smoked salmon and orange juice for 10 euros.

To get to the hotel from the airport, we took the 197 bus from the airport bus station. It is 4.20 euro to a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Taxis are much more expensive at 40 euros.

Overall a great hotel and definitely worth the visit. A 4* review for a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Address: Koninginneweg 34-36, 1075 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza
Park Plaza Vondel Amsterdam
Vondel Park Plaza Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.