We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tram, vondelpark, Museumplein” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam to your Saves list
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koninginneweg 34-36, 1075 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #190 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tram, vondelpark, Museumplein”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Found this place when seeking out a hotel near Museumplein. Pleasantly surprised on the size and cleanliness of the rooms and hotel in general. The hotel consists of two buildings with reception being in the further south building. Lobby has restrooms and a free computer and printer. Staff was helpful with directions and recommendations on things to do.

There are two teams stops within walking distance (less than 2 blocks). At the team stop to the north there is an entrance to vondelpark and us a nice area to view sunrises it sunsets. There are two pubs within a few blocks to the north where you can grab one last Heineken before bedtime.

We ultimately chose this hotel based on location and were not disappointed. Very easy walks to museums and even Heineken experience. Tip.....buy museum tickets from lobby and you can bypass he long waiting lines and gain immediate acces to museums. Buying tickets online will accomplish the same.

Rooms do not have irons but you can request them at reception and they will deliver iron and board. Televisions have numerous channels in all kinds of languages from English to Dutch to Arabic to French to Italian to German etc.

Overall great stay. The Dutch are great and this hotel is worth a visit. Remember that team tickets are valid for one hour. So when you get into town and catch a team from central station to the hotel....you will have time to unpack and catch the team back to Leidseplein for some beers

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    323
    170
    78
    48
See reviews for
76
351
49
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Comfortable hotel. Very close to tram station. Neat rooms. Would stay again for sure. Air conditioned.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Park Plaza because it was near the delightful 'suburban' (hence quiet) Vondelpark [a gorgeous open space with lakes and walk/cycle/play areas... a flatter version of Hampstead Heath in London] but also very close to all central locations eg Museumplein, Leidesplain etc. We took the airport-hotel shuttle from Schiphol airport direct to the hotel for just Euro20 return (vs Euro100 return by taxi !)...so convenient and cheap. We also bought a 3-day travel pass at the airport which allowed unlimited use of all tram/bus/metros...very useful if your partner has a foot problem and hence can't walk everywhere, as most people do in Amsterdam.

The hotel is well-appointed and comfortable. We were generously upgraded to an executive room when the original allocated room in the loft was too small (and smelly!). But we were surprised to find that the 'en-suite' bathroom was an area sectioned-off from the bedroom/sitting area by only-3/4-height-from-the-floor glass panels which were (again) 3/4-'frosted' from the top; hence occupants of the bathroom were visible from the knee downwards, and could be heard from above the open-top glass panels !! We adjusted to this interesting design feature by putting the TV on full blast and using plenty of room-freshener spray whenever one was in the bathroom !

Other than this bathroom feature, the room was very comfortable with Nespresso-capsule coffee machine and the usual LCD TV, safe, mood lighting etc. The large hotel reception area and adjacent bar were welcoming and equally comfortable. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

We can't comment on the breakfast at the hotel as we routinely got up late and went out to local cafe's for a snack and lunch; there are ample places to do this, both immediately nearby and just a short tram-ride away in the central area.

Overall, then, this is a very convenient and comfortable place to stay in Amsterdam. Lastly, there are deals to be had for this hotel on lastminute.com for stays of 4 days plus.
MUCH RECOMMENDED.

Room Tip: An executive room is 'roomy' BUT take note of the 'open' bathroom design.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanwood, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

The hotel staff is excellent the four days we stayed there they were the best the first day we got there we checked in fast and we to our room in the second building behind the hotel got to our room and there was purple carpet with green circle and orange walls and the bathroom was in the room only separated by frosted glass walls that were open on the top and bottom so you could hear and smell everything that was going on. We ask for another room the next day but there were booked up but got another room the following day which was in the main building and was excellent. I would go back but only if they can get me a room in the main building.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I had originally booked this hotel for 3 nights, but ended up checking out after the first night. I was first checked into a room where someone else's luggage was already present. After going back to the reception I received a new key. I'm not upset about the keys and numbers getting mixed up, however, the situation was handled very weirdly. I returned to the receptionist who originally checked me, but she seemed unequipped to sort out my real room. We were then joined by an older lady who quite rudely asked me for my name in Dutch. Then, without another word, she instructed the younger lady about my real room number.

The lobby of the hotel is quite nice, but the hallways and the rooms seemed more like a hostel to me. When someone moved in the hallway, it felt as if the door was open, you could hear everything through the doors. Furthermore, you could also hear the traffic as if the window is open.

Locationwise, the hotel is quite far from the center. Yes, there is a tram-line going directly to the center, but it does take a while and the trams are not that frequent. It's about a 20-minute-walk in a nice neighborhood, so that's not too bad either.

The breakfast was fine, there was a good selection of everything and one did not leave the hotel hungry.

After not being able to sleep at all, I decided to change hotels and checked out early. The gentlemen in the reception were nice enough to extend my check-out time, so I could pack everything unrushed. When they asked me for a reason to my early departure I wasn't entirely honest with them, as I didn't feel like teaching them about running a hotel. Maybe they'll read this review now..?

I would not return to this hotel unless I really had to and there was no other choice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Park Plaza Vondelpark sits on the edge of the lovely Vondelpark in a quiet, well-to-do neighbourhood of Amsterdam. A short walk brings you to a few local restaurants (on the Amstelveenseweg to the west or toward the Museum quarter to the east); just a few steps steps from the hotel is the stop for Tram 2 and easy access to anywhere in the centre.

We paid about £120 per night, including breakfast and tax. Our room was very small and the bathroom even more so. There are some small repairs needed to the bedside lamp and the shower but everything worked. The spread of too-hot, too-heavy duvets has infected this hotel and, as at nearly all hotels, the request to hang up towels that don't need to be changed is resolutely ignored by staff and they are changed every day.

Breakfast is varied and generous and served in an inviting, light-filled room. Most mornings, you'll be able to see a coach waiting for one of the package tours of well-heeled travellers that the hotel attracts.

Staff are friendly and helpful and the bar convivial. The also have bicycles available to hire -- 15 Euros for 24 hours, about the same as at one of the bike hire places.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Address: Koninginneweg 34-36, 1075 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza
Park Plaza Vondel Amsterdam
Vondel Park Plaza Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.