We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, chic modernistic reception area . . . and more. . .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koninginneweg 34-36, 1075 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #194 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Sunnyvale, Ca
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cool, chic modernistic reception area . . . and more. . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I really loved those fun chairs in the reception area. I was tempted to sleep in them, except the
beds in my room were so comfortable. The rooms were a bit "cozy" but I was spending more time seeing the sights of the city, so it didn't really matter. I enjoyed a really nice glass of red wine at the bar, and loved the little plate of appetizers that came with it.

In keeping with the artsy decor of the lobby, the hotel is only a 15 minute walk from the museum district, or you can take the number 2 tram, and continue all the way through the city center to the Central Station.

We booked through Hotels.com, and unfortunately, they did not show the breakfast plan which was available by booking directly through the hotel. At first the price of the breakfast buffet seemed expensive, but if you drink 3 or 4 cups of coffee at breakfast like I do, and given the 3+ Euros per cup which most restaurants in Amsterdam charge (without refills),
than it probably pays for itself. My only objection to this hotel was the so-called coffee maker
which they advertise in the rooms. It turned out to be nothing more than a hot water heater
with packets of instant coffee. Although the receptionist did make me a cup of espresso
in the front desk espresso machine when I asked if it was ever used.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    268
    141
    58
    39
See reviews for
68
292
35
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This is one cool place! the hotel and rooms have an interesting modern character. As long as you like this, you will not be disappointed by the rooms. Good size, excellent amenities, including down comforters and pillows.
Unfortunately the the property is starting to show signs of wear and tear. If you are not bothered by the slightly old looking carpets, or the occasional scratched surface, you cannot go wrong here.
The location -in a beautiful residential neighborhood in the "old south" quarter- is perfect. Only 10 to 15 mins from all the attractions with the tram that goes by the front door.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed in park plaza with another couple over new years eve, we booked a package deal with Expedia.
On arrival to the hotel we were all impressed, modern,clean reception area and a very helpful receptionist who printed off lists of things for us to do over new year and gave us info on the tubes.
Our rooms were the same - both clean and had everything we needed for a 48hour trip - tea,coffee,info books on Amsterdam and a very clean bathroom - the glass door is not as bad as i expected as it was round the corner from the bed/desk area! The only annoying thing from a girls view was the lighting - not good for applying make up! oh and that it was a non smoking room - we weren't given an option when booking!
On are last evening - after being extremely knackered we ate in the bar - this was great - very stylish and again the staff lovely. The menu was basic - burgers/chips etc but im sure when the main restaurant is open there is more choice!
Amsterdam is a crazy city - it seemed even busier as it was new year - 24 hour fire works - some beautiful and some dangerous - bangers going off next to our feet down every street, as long as you kept an eye out it was ok - funny really ( if in england it would have been classed as a riot) police were cool about the situation.
Personally we all loved our trip - being young enjoying the bars/coffee shops and shopping (although most shops closed new years day which was a shame as us 2 girls had decided that would be our main shopping day)! We walked alot to find our way around but when we did take the tram it was very easy 1,2 or 5 (not 125 that we first thought haha) took us back to the hotel and it was about 12 minutes.
Any questions please ask, hotel,coffee shops,food, red-light district etc

Room Tip: Not sure - it was new years eve and very busy and noisey - but i think this would of been the case w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppvoguest, General Manager at Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Madame,

Thank you so much for expressing your appreciation of Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam. It is a pleasure to know you had such a wonderful stay with us.

I wish it has been a great start for the New Year for you.

It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to welcoming you again to Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Armand van Kemenade
Hotel Manager Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

My partner and I are regular visitors to Amsterdam and booked the hotel on a special offer site.
Not knowing this part of the city and reading varying reviews we did not know what to expect.
The hotel is located about 15mins fom the centre by tram number 2 that runs to Central station.
The best thing to do if you are there for a few days and the weather is not too good is to get a daily or 2 day tram card which is good value and you dont have to worry about always having cash on hand as no journey is less than 2.60 euros no matter how short.yes the trams can get crowded but they are ferquent and as long as you are careful with your belongings, as in any other major city ,it is the ideal way to get about .
We had an executive room with views of the park.The bed was huge and the walk in bathroom is in a glass cubicle so it is quite unique.Shower is good and there are bathrobes and slippers.
In the room there is also a nespresso machine but I prefer a kettle.My only criticism is there is only 1 small mirror in the bathroom but i mentioned this at reception and hopefully this will be sorted in the future.Sometimes the housekeeping was a little strange and no tea and coffee was left and sometimes only 2 towels and 1 bathrobe but this was immediately sorted with a call to reception.
The reception staff were lovely and friendly and offered advice when it was needed.
Our deal included breakfast which was excellent and varied with quality ingredients and lovely bread and pastries as well as a hot section,fruit and yoghurt and even smoked salmon.
The decor of the reception and bar is modern but comfortable and everywhere is spotlessly clean.
I wouldnt recommend the hotel for dsiabled guests as there are 2 seperate buildings and a number of steps.There is no evening restaurant in the hotel but bar snacks are available and there are restaurants within a 5 min walk.
I would recommend the hotel for a nice city break in a safe area with pleasant staff and nice bar and breakfast room.Any one that can find a better hotel for the price at this time of year would be lucky and hopefully the next time we visit the city we will be able to stay at the Park Plaza Vondelpark.

Room Tip: Executive room overlooking park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppvoguest, General Manager at Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Dear Sir,

We appreciate your review regarding your recent stay with us. Thank you for expressing your appreciation of Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam.

I am very pleased that you had such an excellent stay and wonderful time in Amsterdam.

It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to welcoming you again to Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam or to one of our affiliated hotels, in the near future when your travels bring you back to the area!


Best regards,


Armand van Kemenade
Hotel Manager Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Minnesota
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011 via mobile

Near the park and street car line. Nice breakfast. Book a room at the back if you want less street noise. Will return.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppvoguest, General Manager at Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Dear sir/madame

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and appreciation of Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you experienced a good service and that you had a good stay with us and fully enjoyed Amsterdam.

It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to welcoming you again to Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, in the near future when your travels bring you back to the area !

Armand van Kemenade
Hotel Manager Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We were more than happy with this hotel, set away from the hussle and bustle of the centre, which is easily accessible using the nearby tram stop. The room smallish but perfectly adequate with a large bed and the infamous glass frosted bathroom doors. There is a fridge and a safe in the room as well as a coffee machine. The only critism I would say is that there is one mirror in the bathroom and the lighting is not so bright. Our room was located in one of the buildings next to main reception on the third floor, facing the road. A little noisy with the trams going past, however we did not feel this adversly affected our stay. The room was bright and airy. Vondelpark is lovely and well worth a walk around. I would imagine it is stunning in the spring/summer. All in all, ourselves and the other couple who travelled with us were more than happy with the accommodation and the staff who were friendly and approachable. We would definately prefer to come back but i would ask for a room facing away from the road next time. We also loved that being a little out of the way, on travelling towards the centre, we could hop on and off the tram visiting less busy entertainment areas than the main hub which we could well have missed had we opted for a central hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Vondelpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppvoguest, General Manager at Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Dear Sir/Madame,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to hear that you consider staying with us again to enjoy spring or summer in Amsterdam

Please let us know if we can assist you with your next reservation. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Armand van Kemenade
Hotel Manager Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

very bad place to stay small room and they charged me two time on my credit card for one night stay and refused to pay me back very bad hotel and service is awful i hope the hotel is shut down.

Room Tip: get hotel near the airport nh is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Address: Koninginneweg 34-36, 1075 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza
Park Plaza Vondel Amsterdam
Vondel Park Plaza Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.