We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seperate Buildings?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam to your Saves list
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koninginneweg 34-36, 1075 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #170 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Seperate Buildings?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Myself, daughter, sister and friend stayed here for a long weekend. My daughter often works in Amsterdam so used her points to purchase this break, only having to pay for one room. When we arrived she was told she had been given an update but we were put in two seperate buildings, which was strange to say the least. The hotle itself is in a leafy suberb near the park, which we took advantage of to have a picnic . Our rooms were average, but the "updated room " was smaller than the other one., it had a coffee maker but no kettle, and a wet room with glass wall ! We were given one teabag the first night, and none the next, had to ask for some. There wasnt a restuaurant for meals, just a breakfast room..The transport system in Amsterdam is really good, trams run very regular and are cheap, we also took advantage of the canal hop on hop off boat trips, a great way of seeing the city. At the end of our stay we were able to deposit our luggage in the sister hotel near the train station and continue site seeing until our evening flight home.

Room Tip: Dont update to superior room !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    370
    189
    87
    53
See reviews for
88
411
54
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

This hotel was a disappointment. While in a great neighborhood for walking and for taking the tram to the city center and museums, the hotel itself has severe issues. I was in an executive room -(should have been the best) and I went back to the desk to confirm it WAS an executive room. It was dirty - stains on the rugs, the sink is in a stand outside the bathroom and the table was covered in something that I had to scrub off, and if I spilled somthing like hand cream on the rug, it wasn't cleaned up the next day.
The bed was extremely hard (and I like a hard bed). They claim to have room service, but it's acually the bar menu (which is limited to appetizers) and delivered by front desk people "when they have time." Breakfast was excellent - it was included in my roomrate, so I don't know the value - but it was the one thing I could count on at this hotel. Finally, the staff was some of the worst I've ever dealt with. There were two types behind the front desk - several lovely, soft spoken young women wo had apparently just started because every question required their going to the back room behind the desk, getting an answer, and coming back with it. Then there were the experienced people who were argumentative and snooty. The first night I was woken up by a man yelling and banging on doors in my hallway. I called the front desk and no one answered. He finally stopped, but I mentioned it the next day. The woman next to me had come down to ask about the same incident because the man apparently banged so hard on HER door that he got in. The clerk behind the desk said that it was impossible for him to get in without a key and that she must have given him a key. It was her first night there too, and it was clear that she wasn't giving keys to anyone - yet they blamed HER for the security issue. If, despite this, you WANT to stay here, I hope you sleep deeply, because any door that is opened and shut on your hallway causes your walls to shake and the loud bang woke me from sleep regularly. I will NOT go back, despite frequest trips to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Don't bother - the hotel isn't worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

Stayed in this hotel two nights as part of a larger group, shared room with my wife. We got a corner room on the 4th floor. The room was bigger than we first thought and had 3 beds (not sure if we were just lucky, we did not arrange the reservations or pay for it ourselves).

Room was clean, bathroom as well, apart from the bathtub which had a few hairs on the bottom. Otherwise nice tub, shower, toilet, sink in bathroom. Basic toiletries are provided.

Lots of closet space and in-room safe. Nice view to quiet street next to park on backside of hotel. In-room water boiler, although clogged with paper for some reason (we were able to rinse it before using it).

Beds were a bit hard, otherwise OK. Couple of details on the negative side: Tiny trash can and no non-dutch TV channels.

Breakfast was relatively good, with a variety of breads, buns, toaster, juice, coffee, cheese, fruit, ham, etc. Eggs and bacon were available but of below average quality.

Staff was inefficient in checking in larger groups (15-20 people), but managed OK in the end. Could be friendlier when talking to guests. Rented bicycle for EUR 15 per day - a nice thing to do in this quiet neighborhood. The downside of this is that it is the price per calendar day, regardless of hours. If you start renting in the evening you have to return it by 9 am the next day, you cannot use it until checkout (or 24 hours) unless paying EUR 15 more.

Hotel is located right next to Vondelpark, which is great for walks if the weather is good. Tram stop nearby, which is useful for going to the city center. Without using tram be prepared to do a lot of walking.

Hotel was OK and certainly quiet, could stay there again if the price is OK. You might want to look for other places a bit closer to the canals/museums first, depending on your preferences.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

My son, his girlfriend and another friend all stayed at Vondelpark Amsterdam. Unfortunately they were delayed in the US by an unexpected snow storm. They were sceduled to leave on Sunday but were unable to get out until Tuesday. They advised the hotel of their situation so I am sure thast the hotel rentede their 2 rooms for the 2 nights that they weren't there. After calling Expedia repeatedly I was finally told today that the hotel has a" no refund" whatsoever policy. Regardless of your situation! I feel like if they want our business that they could try to help out some students who were stranded by bad weather conditions. Come on...should have thrown them a bone!

Room Tip: Find a different place ! More traveler friendly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

First class 4 star hotel in quiet part of the city only 10 minutes from centre by 2.50 euro tram ride. Walking distance to the Rijsmusem and Van Gogh Museum. Hotel very comfortable and welcoming. Breakfast adequate but not exceptional. Nice bar and balcony, all close to Very pleasant Vondel Park. WiFi available.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham, england
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

This hotel is good but not that good for the money, a long tram ride to the main centre, or a very good walk, if you look around you can find cheaper in the centre, did not eat £14 for breakfast, rooms good but the bathroom as part of your bedroom did make for a laugh, do not share with a person you dont know well.

Room Tip: park at back is nice in day
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppvoguest, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express your comments regarding your recent stay, which have been brought to my attention.
All your comments are of great importance to all of us and will help us in our efforts to continuously maintain and improve the standards to the level you may expect from us. Therefore your suggestions are very much appreciated and always reviewed.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards,

Front Office Manager
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

I just got back from spending 7 nights at this hotel. We had a standard type room which was on the small side but fairly comparable to other European hotels. After checking in, we were welcomed with a tray of fruit, a bottle of water and a letter from the hotel manager. The bathroom was as described by other reviewers but not as bad as I was expecting. The room was clean and well stocked with everything we needed.

The hotel itself is in a great location if you want to be just outside of all the action. We felt safe exploring the neighbourhood at any time of the day. Vondelpark is a block away and is great for a walk. The tram is very accessible from the hotel which connects you to all the big attractions. I suggest buying a ticket valid for 1, 2 or 3 days which is a much better value than buying the 1 hour ticket from the driver. The tram stops running after midnight, but the hotel is only a 10-15 minute walk from the entertainment areas.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppvoguest, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
Dear Marvinsoul 2010,

First of all I would like to thank you for your rating and nice words about our hotel on Tripadvisor.
It is really nice to hear you have enjoyed your stay.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdamwe would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Kind regards,

Front Office Manager
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Address: Koninginneweg 34-36, 1075 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza
Park Plaza Vondel Amsterdam
Vondel Park Plaza Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.